Empower Fireball + Metamagic Rod of Maximize, Lesser, does it work?


Rules Questions


According to my own interpretation of the rules, yes, it does.
Is this broken or is it permitted even on PFS?

Empower doesn't change the Spell Level, only the slot required to cast such spell, and Metamagic Rods works according to Spell Level and not Spell Slot.

So I could use a 5th Level Slot to cast Empowered Fireball and a Rod of Maximized Lesser to get an Maximize Empowered Fireball


No, FAQ says when determining spell level use either the spells original level or the spell slot level, whichever is worse.
So your empowered fireball would count as a 5th level spell for interactions with rods since that is the worse result for the caster.


Chess Pwn wrote:

No, FAQ says when determining spell level use either the spells original level or the spell slot level, whichever is worse.

So your empowered fireball would count as a 5th level spell for interactions with rods since that is the worse result for the caster.

You made a Panda really sad! Shame on you!!!

And thanks.

Working on my Arcanist Blaster


Yep, Chess Pwn is right.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Empower Fireball + Metamagic Rod of Maximize, Lesser, does it work? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions