frostbite and unarmed strikes


Rules Questions


let's say i cast a frost bite and i an flurry of blows (2 attacks) with my hand.
will my attack do full unarmed strike + frostbite damage each attack?


Correct. Frostbite (and Chill Touch) are exceptional among touch spells in that they aren't completely expended after a single successful discharge. So, for instance, if your CL for Frostbite were 4, you'd get 4 touches. That means that you could Flurry for 2 hits (presuming both land) and each of those two hits will deliver Frostbite damage and you'd still have 2 uses remaining for subsequent rounds. Those uses could be applied on AoOs as well.


wow, nice.
my speaker of the past shaman X \ monk 1 will thank you

Grand Lodge

I think calcific touch is a higher level spell that works this way too. If anyone knows any other spells like this I would love to start collecting a list.

Sovereign Court

Calcific touch is definitely not like multiple charged spells. Calcific touch specifically calls out that it can only by used once per round, it does not have charges, but has a duration.
Think of it like a buff spell that lets you touch something once per round.


666bender wrote:

let's say i cast a frost bite and i an flurry of blows (2 attacks) with my hand.

will my attack do full unarmed strike + frostbite damage each attack?

This combination also works really well with a lot of debuffs like Enforcer or Rime Spell. Here's a similar build using an Esoteric Magus.


Firebug wrote:

Calcific touch is definitely not like multiple charged spells. Calcific touch specifically calls out that it can only by used once per round, it does not have charges, but has a duration.

Think of it like a buff spell that lets you touch something once per round.

Clacific Touch is "kinda" like Frostbite. It's a touch spell so, by definition, it does have a charge. But, whereas with Frostbite/Chill Touch, your charge is re-usable a number of times based on your caster level, for Calcific Touch, the charge is re-usable based on the duration. But still, as the spell directs, you can only use that charge once per round.

What you're thinking of regarding a buff spell that lets you touch something is Elemental Touch. That one is not a Touch spell; its range is "personal" so rules regarding touch spells don't apply.


Kazaan wrote:
What you're thinking of regarding a buff spell that lets you touch something is Elemental Touch. That one is not a Touch spell; its range is "personal" so rules regarding touch spells don't apply.

I don't follow why touch spell rules don't apply. Elemental Touch itself calls it's attack out as a melee touch attack that works w/ unarmed/claw/slam attacks.

As far as other multiple round touch spells go, a quick search gave a short list that is w/ less function that Frostbite....

Chill Touch (cold + 1 str dmg vs living; 0 dmg but panics undead)
Produce Flame (ranged option)
Rusting Grasp (Whee you're a rust monster)

Grand Lodge

Grandlounge wrote:
I think calcific touch is a higher level spell that works this way too. If anyone knows any other spells like this I would love to start collecting a list.

Had not read it in a while. Forgot about that part of the text. Thanks for the correction.


Zabraxis wrote:
Kazaan wrote:
What you're thinking of regarding a buff spell that lets you touch something is Elemental Touch. That one is not a Touch spell; its range is "personal" so rules regarding touch spells don't apply.

I don't follow why touch spell rules don't apply. Elemental Touch itself calls it's attack out as a melee touch attack that works w/ unarmed/claw/slam attacks.

Because it is not a touch spell, which is defined by the "Range" line in the spell description. The ability to make touch attacks with a spell does not make a it a "Touch" spell as far as rules defining the limitations of touch spells. e.g, held charges are lost if you if you cast another spell, touch spells grant a free touch attack in the round you cast them, etc.

Further, the spell explicitly calls out it being something you do with your hands. Touch spells do not have that limitation. They are usually delivered by hand, but can also be delivered by foot, tail, wing, bite, etc - Elemental touch must specifically be your hand, or claw, or a slam attack.

IMO that spell should have been a touch spell, and not a personal spell, but it isn't.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / frostbite and unarmed strikes All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions