Selling and Purchasing items before leveling up (inorder to qualify for a Prestige Class)


Pathfinder Society

Shadow Lodge

So I have a character who may be about to take a level into a prestige class, however she doesn't have the skill points required to take a level in that class without first selling her Scarlet and Blue Sphere Ioun Stone and purchasing another with the correct skill.

Her Ioun Stone is currently associated with Ride, but it she needs ranks in Knowledge Arcana, is it fair for me to sell my Ioun Stone and then purchase a new Ioun Stone with the correct skill before I level the character up assuming she already has the XP to level up?

As to why the character is using an Ioun Stone rather then a Headband of Vast Intelligence, the character is a Sorcerer and has a Headband of Alluring Charisma.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Do you mean, like, doing the transaction on a Chronicle where you earn your 3rd/6th/9th/etc XP, when your character would level?

I'd think that'd be fine. But if you were GM crediting and the transaction happened after that point, then no.

Shadow Lodge

Yes, but making the purchase after the scenario was completed rather then during the scenario.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

There's no meaningful difference as far as I understand it.

It's a purchase that's being labeled the same on your ITS regardless.

5/5 5/55/55/5

Sounds legit to me

1/5

So I can play and get my 9th exp and use that gold to pay for a retraining that happens before I apply the level up? Thus retraining for a cheaper price because of when I said I did it? Or do I need to only use gold from before the chronicle, but otherwise it's still fine to do?

I just want to make sure, because I've wanted to do this, but been told no, that you leveled up as soon as you got the exp. So I'd love to be told I can delay the level up until after purchases.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Good point.

I suppose that could muddy the waters a bit.

2/5

I think one would be at the new level, but until the character is actually played, the updated build of the character isn't locked in yet and selling/purchases could be made in order to get whatever qualifications for a class/feat; like a paladin who had violated his edicts paying for atonement at 6 XP in order to still progress as a paladin.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

So long as it's recorded on the same chronicle you earn the ninth XP, you should be fine. You technically have to level up between sessions, so the level up happens after you get the chronicle and leave the table.

1/5

If you have to level up then you must pick your level up before you could pay for the atonement to be a paladin. And thus would need to level up as something other than paladin, because the resolution would be after the choice to level. Meaning you'd need to pay for a retrain to get to paladin.

Here's a scenario.

Lets say I get power attack or toughness for free at lv4. But I took power attack at lv1. If I level up immediately on getting EXP then I level up to lv4 and must choose toughness as I already have power attack and thus would need to retrain twice to get power attack for that lv4 ability.

If I delay the level up then I can retrain once and then level to get power attack for free.

And when is the gold of the scenario available? Say I needed it to pay for the retraining, is the gold associated with the level up or can I access it before the level?

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Thomas Hutchins wrote:
And when is the gold of the scenario available? Say I needed it to pay for the retraining, is the gold associated with the level up or can I access it before the level?

To that, everything is earned at the same time. Gold, Prestige, and Experience.

Perhaps that helps answer the OP's question.

5/5

What happens if you use the item to qualify for the prestige class and then in a few levels the item is dispelled/sundered/disjoined? Do you lose all of the levels you no longer qualify for?

Grand Lodge 4/5 **** Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento

Friendly Neighborhood Glabrezu wrote:
What happens if you use the item to qualify for the prestige class and then in a few levels the item is dispelled/sundered/disjoined? Do you lose all of the levels you no longer qualify for?

You lose access to them till you get the item replaced.

That is the down side to using item based feats / skills to qual for things.

Grand Lodge 2/5 **

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I'm probably a little off here, but aren't pre-requisites for prestige classes usually expressed in ranks, whilst ioun stones grant bonuses?

1/5

Darrell Impey UK wrote:
I'm probably a little off here, but aren't pre-requisites for prestige classes usually expressed in ranks, whilst ioun stones grant bonuses?

That is very true and the OP can't meet the qualifications for the prestige class by getting an enhancement bonus.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Int bonus items give you max ranks in preset skills. So a +2 Int ioun stone had one skill associated with it that it grants max ranks for. You get this rather than the actual skill ranks from increased Int.

Grand Lodge 4/5 **** Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento

In fact it even over writes any existing ranks in the skill.

Which interacts very weirdly with Int+ items that have the linguistics skill, since ranks in linguistics then also grant bonus languages...

1/5

Unless the enhancement bonus is to her Intelligence score, at which point they are actual ranks.

As to the ioun stone becoming sundered, its actually pretty tricky. You have the necessary skill points to qualify for the prestige class because of the ioun stone, but do those count as being a magical effect of the stone? Do you lose them in an antimagic field, or when dispel magic is cast on the stone?

It's problematic because as the stone grants you skill ranks equal to your hit dice, you can't put any skill ranks of your own into the skill. If you lose the stone, would you lose all the skill ranks?

This is a much bigger question than I first realized.

Grand Lodge 4/5 **** Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento

bigrig107 wrote:

Unless the enhancement bonus is to her Intelligence score, at which point they are actual ranks.

As to the ioun stone becoming sundered, its actually pretty tricky. You have the necessary skill points to qualify for the prestige class because of the ioun stone, but do those count as being a magical effect of the stone? Do you lose them in an antimagic field, or when dispel magic is cast on the stone?

It's problematic because as the stone grants you skill ranks equal to your hit dice, you can't put any skill ranks of your own into the skill. If you lose the stone, would you lose all the skill ranks?

This is a much bigger question than I first realized.

Actually you can put ranks into the skill. The Ioun stone overwrites your ranks. (If you really need to be pendantic, take the stone off, level up, add ranks, put stone back on and wait a day.)

1/5

At which point you no longer qualify for the prestige class, and therefore can't take a level in it, and can't get the skills from the class. You'll have to take a level in something else, which defeats the purpose of using the ioun stone.

Shadow Lodge

To be fair, I believe I had enough gold to do the transaction before the most recent scenario, but it was not my plan at first, I just realized I gain more by taking the prestige class than continuing as a Sorcerer at this point. Also the boon I got from the most recent scenario is what convinced me to Multiclass.

I could even retain my skills, but that's expensive, prestige wise.

Grand Lodge 3/5

Quote:

Here's a scenario.

Lets say I get power attack or toughness for free at lv4. But I took power attack at lv1. If I level up immediately on getting EXP then I level up to lv4 and must choose toughness as I already have power attack and thus would need to retrain twice to get power attack for that lv4 ability.

FYI, as far as I can tell, there's no rule against taking the same feat twice. You just don't get any additional benefit.

Quote:
If a character has the same feat more than once, its benefits do not stack unless indicated otherwise in the description.

So I think it's kosher to take a feat a second time so that you can retrain out the previous copy.

Scarab Sages

Wow, didn't realize that magic items could allow me to qualify for prestige classes. Kinda thought you had to actually have the prerequisites. Thanks, something new to ponder.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.

"Actually have"?

If I'm wearing a belt that raises my Strength to 13, I qualify for Power Attack.

If that belt is removed, then I lose access to that feat until my Strength raises again.


I think it is fairly obvious that Murdock meant "the character actually has, excluding gear."

That said, yes, prerequisites don't care WHERE you got the qualifying stats from.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Selling and Purchasing items before leveling up (inorder to qualify for a Prestige Class) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society