Dragon Deciple Qualification


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

I know this subject has been beating to death. I apologize for this; I was hoping some of you could help be determine if a Wizard can qualify for the Dragon Disciple Prestige Class with a 2nd level Wizard that has the archetype Spell Sage from the advanced class guide.

I am hoping for FAQ or RAW ruling for pathfinder society play.

Thank you to everyone for reading and or helping with this question.

Sincerely,
Ozie


Spell Study wrote:
At 2nd level, the sage's understanding of the spells of bards, clerics, and druids is so great that he can use his own magic in an inefficient, roundabout way to duplicate those classes' spells. Once per day, a spell sage can spontaneously cast any spell on the bard, cleric, or druid spell list as if it were a wizard spell he knew and had prepared. Casting the spell requires the spell sage to spend 1 full round per spell level of the desired spell (if the spell is on multiple spell lists indicated above, using the lowest level from among those lists) and requires expending two prepared spells of that spell level or higher; if the spell's casting time is normally 1 full round or longer, this is added to the spell sage's casting time. For example, if a spell sage wants to use spell study to cast cure light wounds (cleric spell level 1st), he must spend 2 full rounds casting and expend two prepared wizard spells of 1st level or higher.
Dragon Disciple wrote:
Spellcasting: Ability to cast 1st-level arcane spells without preparation. If the character has sorcerer levels, he must have the draconic bloodline. If the character gains levels of sorcerer after taking this class, he must take the draconic bloodline.

Well...from pure RAW it seems that a Spell Sage qualifies to become a Dragon Disciple since it technically can cast bardic spells without preparation and doesn't call for you to specifically be a spontaneous arcane caster. I'm unaware if this has been subject to an FAQ though.


Spell Study wrote:
At 2nd level, the sage's understanding of the spells of bards, clerics, and druids is so great that he can use his own magic in an inefficient, roundabout way to duplicate those classes' spells. Once per day, a spell sage can spontaneously cast any spell on the bard, cleric, or druid spell list as if it were a wizard spell he knew and had prepared. Casting the spell requires the spell sage to spend 1 full round per spell level of the desired spell (if the spell is on multiple spell lists indicated above, using the lowest level from among those lists) and requires expending two prepared spells of that spell level or higher; if the spell's casting time is normally 1 full round or longer, this is added to the spell sage's casting time. For example, if a spell sage wants to use spell study to cast cure light wounds (cleric spell level 1st), he must spend 2 full rounds casting and expend two prepared wizard spells of 1st level or higher.

I would say no.

You must still expend prepared spell slots to use the ability. Yes, you used those slots to cast a different spell than you had prepared in them. But you couldn't have used the ability at all if you hadn't prepared the slots.

So you didn't "cast 1st-level arcane spells without preparation."

Scarab Sages

Oznof wrote:

I know this subject has been beating to death. I apologize for this; I was hoping some of you could help be determine if a Wizard can qualify for the Dragon Disciple Prestige Class with a 2nd level Wizard that has the archetype Spell Sage from the advanced class guide.

I am hoping for FAQ or RAW ruling for pathfinder society play.

Thank you to everyone for reading and or helping with this question.

Sincerely,
Ozie

You'd still need knowledge arcana 5 ranks, so at least 5 levels in other classes to qualify for this prestige class.

But regarding the spell sage, I don't really think it is intended to qualify.

If looking for RAW, the closest is that it requires the ability to spontaneously cast "spells" per day, not just one spell per day. So strict RAW, at 6th level as a spell sage, you'd have the ability to spontaneously cast more than one arcane first level spell, and that would qualify you. You definitely don't qualify at 2nd level, as you can only spontaneously cast a single spell.

I still think the RAI is against you.

Scarab Sages

Oznof wrote:

I know this subject has been beating to death. I apologize for this; I was hoping some of you could help be determine if a Wizard can qualify for the Dragon Disciple Prestige Class with a 2nd level Wizard that has the archetype Spell Sage from the advanced class guide.

I am hoping for FAQ or RAW ruling for pathfinder society play.

Thank you to everyone for reading and or helping with this question.

Sincerely,
Ozie

Though the best way to qualify as a second level wizard is to have another 3 levels in Sorcerer....


"Spells" doesn't require more than one.

Dark Archive

Spellcasting: Ability to cast 1st-level arcane spells without preparation. If the character has sorcerer levels, he must have the draconic bloodline. If the character gains levels of sorcerer after taking this class, he must take the draconic bloodline.

If spells does not require more than one spell; then for raw (Once per day, a spell sage can spontaneously cast any spell on the bard, cleric, or druid spell list as if it were a wizard spell he knew and had prepared.)

This would qualify because it says spontaneously which is specifically described as without preparation.

Core Book pg 206 (Most spellcasters prepare spells in advance—whether from a spellbook or through prayers—while some cast spells spontaneously without preparation.)


The SLA qualification reversal tightened qualification in general to requiring the appropriate spell slots. That means this trick is out.

Dark Archive

What is SLA qualification.


Spell-Like Ability = SLA. There was a time where you could use SLA to qualify for feats and Prestige classes. This allowed for early entry into certain prestige classes or classes that normally couldn't get into that class the ability to do so.

Dark Archive

I am not certin what revision you are referring to however when I checked here http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fm#v5748eaic9qow

I found only one rule that applied and it would not restrict or stop the Spell Sage from qualifying.

The Rule

Spontaneous Casting and Multiple Classes: Can I spontaneously cast spells from one of my classes using a different class’s spell slots?

No. This is only possible if you have a class feature that explicitly allows it, such as Combined Spells. This applies even if the two classes share a spell list or if one of the classes allows you to spontaneously convert that class’s spell slots into certain spells on that class’s spell list, such as cleric and druid.

As for Spell like Ability rule changes, this ability is not from a creature and is not affected by several of the rule changes nor is this a spell like ability unless I am missing something.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dragon Deciple Qualification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.