[PFS] Multiple Splash Weapon Attacks?


Rules Questions


2 Levels of Rogue (Underground Chemist) unlocks Chemical Weapon (EX)...at 2nd level, an underground chemist is able to retrieve an alchemical item as if drawing a weapon.

Question: Since the Far Strike Monk gets Quick Draw at first, would this allow a Far Strike Monk to make a flurry of blows with splash weapons (assuming he has at least a two level dip in Underground Chemist Rogue.)

Would something else be required to make this legal - such as Throw Anything?

While not the most optimized, I am looking at a concept for PFS and would appreciate any help.


I don't see any reason why this would not work.
Except maybe those people arguing that splash weapons are not really weapons, but i never really agreed with those.


Flagged this conversation to get it moved into PFS territory: they can better answer your question there.

This concept probably doesn't work on the grounds that Thrown Weapons are probably considered as specific as Two-Handed weapons. You can wield a longsword in two hands and you can throw a longsword, but it is neither a two-handed weapon or a throwing weapon.


Splash weapons are indisputably ranged *weapons*, and they're almost all thrown, making them thrown weapons.

PF rules have a schizophrenic relationship with splash weapons. Because on one hand "backwards compatibility", on the other hand, Frank Trollman said some mean things during the alpha playtest and therefore flask rogues got nerfed.

Scarab Sages

Casual Viking wrote:
Frank Trollman said some mean things during the alpha playtest and therefore flask rogues got nerfed.

I had no idea Always Sunny in Philadelphia was so influential on game design.

Scarab Sages

This is a rules question, not a PFS question, it's in the right place.

Since the Far Strike Monk can flurry with thrown weapons and not "weapons in the the thrown fighter weapon group", it should work. As Casual Viking said, they are weapons, and they are thrown.


It all depends on whether or not they count as thrown weapons.

Within the rules I believe it's gone back and forth on more than one occasion.

If I had to guess, the intention is probably not to allow you flurry alchemical flasks but what the rules actually is...

Community Manager

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Anonymous Warrior wrote:
Flagged this conversation to get it moved into PFS territory: they can better answer your question there.

Rules Questions will remain in the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game forum, though they will be flagged with "PFS" in the thread title to provide better context for answers.


I don't see any issue with flurrying with splash weapons, but Quick Draw sounds like it specifically excludes splash weapons: "Alchemical items, potions, scrolls, and wands cannot be drawn quickly using this feat."

I'm not aware of any splash weapon that would not also be considered an alchemical item, but I suppose if you can find one, you could quick draw it.


In this case the underground chem 2 dip gives the ability to draw them as weapons and not as alchemical items.
i.e. for the purpose of drawing them they are the generic weapon. not a specific weapon, with the purpose of working with quickdraw.

Though one can argue details on that
"alchemical weapons are weapons, so even if your drawing it as a weapon its an alchemical weapon"
but pretty sure they meant it to allow quickdrawing.


Gwen Smith wrote:


I'm not aware of any splash weapon that would not also be considered an alchemical item, but I suppose if you can find one, you could quick draw it.

Holy Water.


Zwordsman wrote:

In this case the underground chem 2 dip gives the ability to draw them as weapons and not as alchemical items.

i.e. for the purpose of drawing them they are the generic weapon. not a specific weapon, with the purpose of working with quickdraw.

Though one can argue details on that
"alchemical weapons are weapons, so even if your drawing it as a weapon its an alchemical weapon"
but pretty sure they meant it to allow quickdrawing.

Indeed. By the most straightforward reading, the ability does nothing.


Hmm. I wonder how well this would work with 4 levels of underground chemist rogue and 16 levels in far strike monk/monk of the iron mountain? You'd unfortunately just miss out on vow of silence and timeless body, but it'd be a pretty interesting combo. I'm looking at other rogue archetypes that might fit; I kinda like charlatan, survivalist, and makeshift scrapper in combination with underground chemist.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / [PFS] Multiple Splash Weapon Attacks? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.