Does necroccultist get access only to necromancy school?


Rules Questions


Necroccultist archetype for Occultist class:

Quote:

Necromantic Bond (Su):

At 1st level, a necroccultist gains access to only the necromancy school of implements. He must select necromancy for his implement mastery. Each time he gains an occultist level, a necroccultist can add one necromancy spell from the wizard spell list to his occultist spell list and his list of spells known. The necroccultist can't choose a spell of a higher level than he is able to cast, and he adds the spell at the same spell level it appears on the wizard spell list. At 14th level, he doesn't gain an additional school of implements. Instead, at 14th level, the DCs of saving throws to resist a necroccultist's necromancy spells and necromancy focus powers increase by 2.

This ability alters implements and implement mastery.

So a 1st level necroccultist would have two schools (like any other occultist), both necromancy. The question is, can they take other schools (conjuration, divination, etc.) at later levels?

A) No they cannot. Necroccultist gains access to only necromancy school of implements.

B) Yes they can. At 1st level necroccultist gains access to only necromancy school; nothing states they couldn't take other schools at levels beyond 1st.


I'm bumping this just once...


B, because A means that you run out of spell selections around level 6 for some spell levels and level 10 for most others.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does necroccultist get access only to necromancy school? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.