(Errataed) Spirit Talker and Arcane Enlightenment


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Arcane Enlightenment wrote:
Arcane Enlightenment (Su): The shaman's native intelligence grants her the ability to tap into arcane lore. The shaman can add a number of spells from the sorcerer/wizard spell list equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 1) to the list of shaman spells she can prepare. To cast these spells she must have an Intelligence score equal to at least 10 + the spell's level, but the saving throw DCs of these spells are based on her Wisdom rather than Intelligence. When she casts these spells, they are treated as divine rather than arcane. Each time the shaman gains a level after taking this hex, she can choose to replace one of these spells for a new spell on the wizard/sorcerer spell list.
Spirit Talker wrote:
Benefit: Once per day, you can spend 10 minutes communing with a shaman spirit of your choice. When you do, you gain the temporary use of one hex from its list of hexes. This hex is added to your list of available hexes for the next hour, after which you immediately lose all benefits of that hex.

This came up in an advice thread. Can a shaman use the "new" Spirit Talker to pick up Arcane Enlightenment for the hour that they're preparing spells, and then cast those spells throughout the day?

If the concern is about timing, assume that the Shaman leaves a bunch (less than half) of their spell slots open, and then fills the empty ones in a half hour.

The basic question is: if you prepare spells with Arcane Enlightenment and then lose Arcane Enlightenment, can you still cast the spells you had prepared?


you lose the benefits, you can't cast a spell that's not on your list.


Chess Pwn wrote:
you lose the benefits, you can't cast a spell that's not on your list.

Citation please.


Arcane Enlightenment wrote:
Arcane Enlightenment (Su): The shaman's native intelligence grants her the ability to tap into arcane lore. The shaman can add a number of spells from the sorcerer/wizard spell list equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 1) to the list of shaman spells she can prepare. To cast these spells she must have an Intelligence score equal to at least 10 + the spell's level, but the saving throw DCs of these spells are based on her Wisdom rather than Intelligence. When she casts these spells, they are treated as divine rather than arcane. Each time the shaman gains a level after taking this hex, she can choose to replace one of these spells for a new spell on the wizard/sorcerer spell list.
Spirit Talker wrote:
Benefit: Once per day, you can spend 10 minutes communing with a shaman spirit of your choice. When you do, you gain the temporary use of one hex from its list of hexes. This hex is added to your list of available hexes for the next hour, after which you immediately lose all benefits of that hex.

New Spells Known: If I gain the ability to add a spell that is not on my spell list to my list of spells known, without adding it to my spell list, can I cast it?

No. Adding a spell to your list of spells known does not add it to the spell list of that class unless they are added by a class feature of that same class. For example, sorcerers add their bloodline spells to their sorcerer spell list and oracles add their mystery spells to their oracle spell list. The spell slots of a class can only be used to cast spells that appear on the spell list of that class.


Wrong citation. I'm talking about the citation about being unable to cast spells that are not on your class spell list.

As I understand it, that is not true.

Once you memorize a spell, that spell remains memorized even if you lose access to the ability to memorize more spells.

That's why clerics and paladins who are separated from their divine power source still retain the spells they have currently memorized.

Once you have a spell memorized, it is yours until you cast it (or lose it because of some strange, specific effect).


New Spells Known: If I gain the ability to add a spell that is not on my spell list to my list of spells known, without adding it to my spell list, can I cast it?
No. Adding a spell to your list of spells known does not add it to the spell list of that class unless they are added by a class feature of that same class. For example, sorcerers add their bloodline spells to their sorcerer spell list and oracles add their mystery spells to their oracle spell list. The spell slots of a class can only be used to cast spells that appear on the spell list of that class.

doesn't matter if their already prepared, you can't use your slots to cast them once they are off your list.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Chess Pwn wrote:


doesn't matter if their already prepared, you can't use your slots to cast them once they are off your list.

+1

Anything else leads to a very pedantic way to read the rules, which is known to be foreign to the way they are written.


Chess Pwn wrote:

New Spells Known: If I gain the ability to add a spell that is not on my spell list to my list of spells known, without adding it to my spell list, can I cast it?

No. Adding a spell to your list of spells known does not add it to the spell list of that class unless they are added by a class feature of that same class. For example, sorcerers add their bloodline spells to their sorcerer spell list and oracles add their mystery spells to their oracle spell list. The spell slots of a class can only be used to cast spells that appear on the spell list of that class.
doesn't matter if their already prepared, you can't use your slots to cast them once they are off your list.

Here is a link to the cited FAQ.


Thank you for the citation.


It sounds like the Spirit Talker/Arcane Enlightenment combo is only really useful for casting spells that can take effect within the hour that the character has access to them. Usually that means spells with permanent effects or immediate effects that don't go away once the spell is cast.

Some spells that qualify-

Scry
Animate Dead
Polymorph Any Object
Permanency
Teleport
Plane Shift

I'm sure there are others. Those are just the ones off the top of my head.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Doomed Hero wrote:
It sounds like the Spirit Talker/Arcane Enlightenment combo is only really useful for casting spells that can take effect within the hour that the character has access to them.

Actually Shaman are prepared casters, so they need to spend 1 hr memorizing spells. Which means that by the time they are done memorizing, they have lost those spells they memorized.

I supposed you could memorize spells on Monday at 8 am, then leave 4 slots open. Then on Tuesday when you get Arcane Enlightenment, you could spend 15 minutes to memorize one into an unused and intentionally left open spell slot at 8:10 am. Then at 8:35 am cast that one spell.


^ that's essentially how I would do it.


You could also take the Quick Preparation feat to prepare all your spells in 30 minutes. :)

Grand Lodge

No reason to spread it over two days, right?
You just memorize at 8am, leave (Cha) slots open, then Spirit Talker at 9, fill your empty slots at 9:10, and cast them at 9:25.

You still can only really use instant or all-day duration buffs, or fill up spell storing items. Unfortunately, the good ones still involved a pretyt hefty investment in Int.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
James Risner wrote:
Actually Shaman are prepared casters, so they need to spend 1 hr memorizing spells. Which means that by the time they are done memorizing, they have lost those spells they memorized.

Prepared spellcasters also have the option of preparing a fraction of their spells for the day by spending the same fraction of time or 15 minutes, whichever is longer.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / (Errataed) Spirit Talker and Arcane Enlightenment All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.