Shiniryuu's page

Organized Play Member. 19 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


KongOfAnything wrote:
The Dragon Disciple FAQ should be treated as one-off errata for the prestige class, not a general principle or guideline to follow.
Cavall wrote:
Agreed. It's core book years before the bloodrager was even a thought, for its own FAQ as an answer that should be considered an exemption (and a generous one at that) to an FAQ that is otherwise clearly spelt out.

So do you believe that the difference between the bloodrager's and sorcerer's iterations of the bloodline class feature goes deeper than the class that grants the bloodline? As I previously stated, the current issue is a continuity error.


FAQ wrote:

Bloodrager Bloodlines: Can a bloodrager use abilities that require sorcerer levels and relate to sorcerer bloodlines like robe of arcane heritage?

No. Some hybrid classes, like the brawler, have a class feature allowing them to use items related to their parent class, but the bloodrager doesn’t.
Does this ruling include the ampoule of false blood? If a bloodrager's bloodline class feature can't benefit from magic items that interact with the bloodline class feature, does that also exempt the bloodrager from penalties from magic items (like the blood-hunting weapon special ability) that interact with the bloodline class feature? Furthermore, if the bloodrager can't utilize magic items that affect the bloodline class feature, why are all iterations of said class feature required to match? How and why can the dragon disciple's blood of dragons class feature interact with the bloodrager's iteration of the bloodline class feature if magic items can't? As things currently stand, the bloodline class feature is suffering from a continuity error. The arguement that the robe of arcane heritage doesn't interact with the bloodrager's bloodline class feature because said magic item references sorcerer level was dismantled before the question of whether they interacted was ruled on with the ruling on dragon disciple and bloodrager:
CRB wrote:
Blood of Dragons: A dragon disciple adds his level to his sorcerer levels when determining the powers gained from his bloodline...
FAQ wrote:

Dragon Disciple and Bloodrager: The dragon disciple’s blood of dragons ability increases draconic sorcerer bloodline powers. What about draconic bloodragers?

Yes, dragon disciple's blood of dragons ability should also increase draconic bloodragers’ bloodline powers.

The ruling on the dragon disciple's blood of dragons class feature suggests that the class from which you gain a class feature not as important as the class feature itself when determining if the class feature improves, but the ruling on bloodline magic items says that class is everything, despite the fact that a bloodrager version of a bloodline magic item would have the exact same cost and the exact same feat and spell requirements.


The arcanist does have an archetype that gives it the arcane school class feature.


And should/would the throwing magus magus arcana allow the mindblade to make ranged attacks with a manifested weapon?


What I would like to know is if the mindblade is refunded the point spent(s) for bane blade, devoted blade, ghost blade, etc.


Quantum Steve wrote:
Shivok wrote:

Stephen's clarification was better than the original feat as written: If you have this feat you can either choose +1 hit point and +1 skill rank, or you can choose the alternate class reward.

He removed: instead of choosing either one or the other benefit
removing any ambiguity. He further clarified by writing:
You do not get your choice of two of the three, but it does not preclude you from taking an alternate class reward if you choose to do that instead.
I don't think there can be any further ambiguity for this feat, which is still a good feat. It's just not as versatile as some folks thought it was.

He didn't just remove ambiguity, he completely changed the meaning of the feat.

Choosing +1 hit point and +1 skill point was specifically instead of choosing one or the other. The alternate class reward was not instead of; like every other feat in the game it was in addition to. You could pick an alternate class reward and still get your normal +1 hit point or +1 skill point.

That's how I interpret the grammar of the feat. I prefer my reading because it unambiguous, doesn't have any confusing or redundant text, and it makes the feat actually worth something.
Not that I don't see the advantages of an ambiguous, confusing, worthless interpretation; it's just not for me.

Stephen actually cleaned up the grammar of the feat. The feat was published as a run-on sentence; the benefit section of Fast Learner was ambiguous as a result.


The source of the confusion about this feat is that the benefit section is a run-on sentence.


LazarX wrote:
Bloodline bonus spells aren't really chosen by the character, they're chosen by the player who dictates how the character's bloodline will evolve. Once that choice has been made, it's set. So even a different robe of Arcane Heritage would have the same effect.

Dekalinder is talking about the New Arcana bloodline power, not the bloodline bonus spells.

CRB wrote:
New Arcana (Ex): At 9th level, you can add any one spell from the sorcerer/wizard spell list to your list of spells known. This spell must be of a level that you are capable of casting. You can also add one additional spell at 13th level and 17th level.


Can someone please explain to me why the naga aspirant's augmented form costs venom immunity, a thousand faces, and timeless body, but the animal shaman archetypes pay for three bonus feats, which are gained at the exact same levels as the augments to the naga form, with only venom immunity?


Murdock Mudeater wrote:
So first, under a strict rules reading of the feat and your class, you do not have the animal companion class feature. You have a "Primal Companion" which does not qualify for this feat. This is just like how the Nature Oracle's "Bonded Mount" does not qualify as having the Mount class feature for Monstrous Mount requirements.

The nature oracle's bonded mount and lunar oracle's primal companion revalations both iterate that they function as the druid's animal companion class feature

Lunar mystery wrote:
Primal Companion (Ex): You gain the service of a faithful animal of the night. You can select from a bear, boar, crocodile, shark, tiger, or wolf. This animal functions as a druid's animal companion, using your oracle level as your effective druid level.
Nature mystery wrote:
Bonded Mount (Su): You gain the service of an unusually intelligent, strong, and loyal mount. The creature must be one that you are capable of riding and is suitable as a mount. A Medium oracle can select a camel or a horse. A Small oracle can select a pony or wolf, but can also select a boar or a dog if she is at least 4th level. This mount functions as a druid’s animal companion, using your oracle level as your effective druid level. Bonded mounts have an Intelligence score of at least 6.

I don't remember who it was or which thread they had posted it on, but one of the developers said that it's not so much about the name so much as the function of a feature. That said, the cavalier's mount class feature differentiates itself from the animal companion class feature like so:

APG - cavalier wrote:
A cavalier does not take an armor check penalty on Ride checks while riding his mount. The mount is always considered combat trained and begins play with Light Armor Proficiency as a bonus feat. A cavalier's mount does not gain the share spells special ability.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
James Risner wrote:
Actually Shaman are prepared casters, so they need to spend 1 hr memorizing spells. Which means that by the time they are done memorizing, they have lost those spells they memorized.

Prepared spellcasters also have the option of preparing a fraction of their spells for the day by spending the same fraction of time or 15 minutes, whichever is longer.


Chris P wrote:
He has Average manuverability which means he can not Hover.

I know very little about D&D, but if it helps, Pathfinder has a DC 15 fly check to hover, with the Hover feat rendering the fly check unnecessary.


I believe that they would overlap. You would get the better fly speed as well as the better maneuverability.


Just to point something out:

cavernshark wrote:
What I end up with is that the only real synergy that might exist is between the Champion, Marshall, and Hierophant is focusing on Str, Cha, and Con. You'll need to invest in non-metal armor, probably wield a simple weapon like a longspear. You may or may not augment with an exotic weapon when you go Champion, but you won't invest any feats in it since you won't have access to it all the time. In most of those forms you'll end up with 1 or 2 taboos, giving you between 4-6 Spirit Surges a day, leaving a small buffer for when the party forces you to do something your spirit hates. If your team seems cooperative, you'll go Marshall and rock extra taboos for more spirit surges to dole out, using the Champions bonus to keep your melee up a bit. Otherwise you're going to go full beat stick in the Champion, or Hierophant if they need support.

At most, a medium will have one taboo.

Occult Adventures wrote:
Taboo (Ex): At 2nd level, during his daily seance, a medium can accept a taboo in order to appease his spirit. Each spirit lists example taboos, and the GM may allow additional taboos as well. Accepting a taboo allows the medium to use his spirit surge ability twice without incurring influence. The medium can select only a single taboo. The medium is not magically prevented from breaking his taboo...


Horselord wrote:
I'm curious to see if a character could put this all together for a potential 5 or 6 off-hand attacks.

Multihanded eidolons for the win!


Derek Dalton wrote:
Our group has allowed a House Rule that a Life Oracle can take Versatile Channel. The Oracle normally doesn't get channel energy something I think editing took into account when they came up with the feat. Three mysteries allow channel two with restrictions. Life Oracle has the revelation channel which says. "You can channel positive energy like a cleric using your oracle level as your effective cleric level." The only difference between a cleric and an oracles is Oracles use channel 1+Chr per day. Nothing in the description says you couldn't modify or change the channel. So if you are a neutral aligned Oracle you could qualify for the feat.

House rules are one thing, but the reason the oracle doesn't qualify for the Versatile Channeler feat is because each revelation that grants channel energy already makes that decision for them. The note for the Versatile Channeler feat states that the character had be able to make the choice himself on whether they channel positive or negative energy. My question is based on the fact that the warpriest's channel energy works just like a cleric, as far as if and how the decision is made for you, while the hex channeler replaces her 2nd level hex for channel energy (though from then on can take a hex or increase channel energy by 1d6). In both cases, members of the class/archetype that are neither good nor evil (and in the case of the warpriest, their god as well) meet the requirement of having had to have made a choice on their own on whether to channel positive or negative energy, but the Versatile Channeler feat was released in UM, published in 2011, while the ACG was pulished in 2014.


What I would like to know is if warpriests and hex channeler witches qualify for the versatile channeler feat, and before someone tries to direct me to the prerequisites, the warpriest and hex channeler witch are post-UM, specifically Advanced Class Guide.


Actually, Infernal Mortification doesn't alter the arcane pool.

ARG wrote:
Infernal Mortification (Su): At 1st level, a fiend flayer can sacrifice some of his own infernal blood to add to his arcane pool. Sacrificing blood in this way is a standard action. For every 2 points of Constitution damage the fiend flayer takes in this way, his arcane pool increases by 1 point. Any arcane pool points gained in this way and not spent disappear the next time the magus prepares his spells. Unlike normal ability score damage, this damage cannot be healed by way of lesser restoration. Only time can heal the Constitution damage taken by way of infernal mortification. This ability cannot be used if the fiend flayer’s Constitution damage is equal to or greater than 1/2 his Constitution score.

Note that there isn't anything saying that it alters the arcane pool class feature.


To my knowledge, Good is currently the only alignment that doesn't have a summoner archetype.