| Theolodin |
Hello All,
So I have a question regarding delivering a Coup de Grace to an opponent who has been effected by Ice Tomb.
Per Ice Tomb's description: "If the target fails its save, it is paralyzed and unconscious but does not need to eat or breathe while the ice lasts."
The Paralyzed description states: "A paralyzed character has effective Dexterity and Strength scores of 0 and is helpless.."
The Unconscious description states: "Unconscious creatures are knocked out and helpless"
So, if an opponent fails it's save against the Ice Tomb Hex it becomes helpless.
Now the rule for Coup de Gras states: "As a full-round action, you can use a melee weapon to deliver a coup de grace to a helpless opponent..."
With all that, could a PC deliver a Coup de Grace to an opponent who has been effected by Ice Tomb? Also, how does the 20 hit points play a role, could I just subtract the 20 from what I role on my Coup de Grace?
Thank you in advance!
Diego Rossi
|
The ice envelope the creature, giving it total cover. As you can't hit the creature you can't make a coup de grace.
Total Cover: If you don't have line of effect to your target (that is, you cannot draw any line from your square to your target's square without crossing a solid barrier), he is considered to have total cover from you. You can't make an attack against a target that has total cover.
| Theolodin |
The ice envelope the creature, giving it total cover. As you can't hit the creature you can't make a coup de grace.
PRD wrote:Total Cover: If you don't have line of effect to your target (that is, you cannot draw any line from your square to your target's square without crossing a solid barrier), he is considered to have total cover from you. You can't make an attack against a target that has total cover.
Ok. So, I do not see where the Ice Tomb description/rules states that it gives the target total cover. I know that the description says that it "envelopes" the target, but that is it.
I am not being argumentative, I am just curious.
| Rynjin |
The ice envelope the creature, giving it total cover. As you can't hit the creature you can't make a coup de grace.
PRD wrote:Total Cover: If you don't have line of effect to your target (that is, you cannot draw any line from your square to your target's square without crossing a solid barrier), he is considered to have total cover from you. You can't make an attack against a target that has total cover.
I wouldn't be so sure.
For example, the Icy Prison spell specifically says that you have no Line of Effect to the person inside. Ice Tomb does not.
Then again, Ice Tomb is ATROCIOUSLY worded, even after the FAQ, so who KNOWS how it's supposed to work?
| Theolodin |
The ice is in the way,it has to be destroyed before you can attack the creature inside.
Now...with a brilliant energy weapon...you may be able to do it.
I would look at it that way. So I would attempt the Coup de Gras, and lets say my total damage is 60, then I would subtract the 20 and then the target would have to rule a fort save against 40. So you can say you hit so hard that it broke the ice and hit the target. This would all happen with one swing.
Diego Rossi
|
Diego Rossi wrote:The ice envelope the creature, giving it total cover. As you can't hit the creature you can't make a coup de grace.
PRD wrote:Total Cover: If you don't have line of effect to your target (that is, you cannot draw any line from your square to your target's square without crossing a solid barrier), he is considered to have total cover from you. You can't make an attack against a target that has total cover.Ok. So, I do not see where the Ice Tomb description/rules states that it gives the target total cover. I know that the description says that it "envelopes" the target, but that is it.
I am not being argumentative, I am just curious.
If the ice isn't encasing it, it is hard to see why destroying it will "free the creature" that is the target of the hex.
As Rynjin "Ice Tomb is ATROCIOUSLY worded".
Larkspire wrote:I would look at it that way. So I would attempt the Coup de Gras, and lets say my total damage is 60, then I would subtract the 20 and then the target would have to rule a fort save against 40. So you can say you hit so hard that it broke the ice and hit the target. This would all happen with one swing.The ice is in the way,it has to be destroyed before you can attack the creature inside.
Now...with a brilliant energy weapon...you may be able to do it.
The ice is an object, so it is not subject to critical hits or a Coup de grace. From that it follow that you can't taget the ice and make a coup de grace, nor the creature enveloped by the ice. "Enveloping" something mean wrapping it completely, not only part of it. So you have a ice envelope around the target and you need to break it to attack the target.
Unless you have specific feats the damage dealt to an object don't carries over to other objects of creatures. And even if you have the feat you aren't targeting the creature, you are targeting the ice.
Diego Rossi
|
@Diego Rossi - What's your take on using a brilliant energy weapon to CDG them in the ice tomb RAW?
How transparent is the ice? I think I would be like packed snow, so very little.
So:1) You don't have line of effect, but you have a way to struck trough the obstacle.
2) You don't have line of sight.
3) Ice has 3 hp for every inch of thickness. The ice from ice tomb has 20 hp. That mean that it is almost 7" thick.
I wouldn't allow a coup de grace with a brilliant energy weapon against someone encased in the ice from Ice tomb as you would have a hard time aiming for the right spot.
| Bloodrealm |
Ice has 3 hp for every inch of thickness. The ice from ice tomb has 20 hp. That mean that it is almost 7" thick.
I think this is probably the best answer we can hope for. I was thinking that perhaps you could attack through the ice (maybe with a piercing weapon) and take some sort of penalty for going through the ice, but at ~7 inches thick, I don't think anything is going through and making a coup de grace (perhaps the hit will connect and deal damage, but not a proper killing blow) before the ice totally shatters and the target staggers or falls away from the hit, even if it would make it through in one shot.
Also, given the properties of the Hex, I think it's safe to assume that you couldn't bore a small hole in it for the purpose of a CDG or line of sight without the effect breaking (Although what WOULD be an interesting, if cruel and a little broken, interpretation: what if the Hex is broken, so the paralyzing magic wears off, but so does the "does not need to eat or breathe" effect, and the ice remains, so they're suffocating and would need a Strength check to break out? However, I would assume that the Ice Tomb shatters or melts automatically when the effect of the Hex is broken via means other than shattering it).If one wants to take advantage of the indefinite paralysis without carrying the encased creature to a volcano or something (as The Fiend Fantastic suggested), you could create a Symbol of Death or other trap or trap-like spell/ability under or adjacent to your victim, or ready an action for one or two massive damage or save-or-die spells/abilities and have another person break the ice (hell, you could just dig a big hole, push the whole thing in, and fill it over; when the ice melts, they either suffocate or are crushed). Or a Sphere of Annihilation!
| The Fiend Fantastic |
you could create a Symbol of Death or other trap or trap-like spell/ability under or adjacent to your victim
Have your caster buddy use his unused spellslots on writing Explosive Runes on lots of papers that are attached all around the formerly encased.
Opening your eyes to freedom has never been worse.