Giant Maggot Swarm


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


I'm writing this from memory, if I get it wrong please speak up.

Before you act, every character at this location must summon and encounter Giant Maggot Swarm.

I assume this includes the current player.

Before you act, you take one combat damage

I'm hazy on this one. Is 'you' the current player only OR the player encountering Giant Maggot Swarm, which would mean the current player twice takes this damage, and others present would take it once.


Each encountering character would apply the 1 bya combat damage during their own encounter. So, as written, the "original" character, would have to encounter the card twice, once during before you act and once again when they resume their regular encounter. That would mean they'd take two combat damage.

Having said that, you might want to review this thread to see the current thought process on this kind of card.


I believe it is Acid damage.


Vic Wertz wrote:
*all of the words apply to everyone encountering it*

Right, got it! Of course with the exception a summoned card may not summon further copies of itself.


Vic knows about the Giant Maggot Swarm already, we ran into that this weekend of course. There is errata pending and you're not meant to fight the Swarm twice.


That would break his own rule surely, unless the card was edited to say every _other_character?


That's why there's errata pending. As in, there's going to be an FAQ that edits it to every other character.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Added to FAQ.


This one (and me doing poor life choices + rolling badly) killed Imrijka for me yesterday. Glad to se it corrected :D


Follow-up Maggot Swarm question: I have three characters at the Canyon location and one of them explores and encounters a Maggot Swarm. How many Maggots do the characters have to fight? I think the answer is "three each" but I want to be sure.

Follow-up question: do I have to beat every Maggot Swarm by 4 (to avoid having to shuffle it back into the deck), or just the first one, or the first one each character fights?


John, each character encounters the swarm once.

The exploring character is the one whose roll will count good sir!

Edit. Just saw it was in the canyon!

Yes 2 per character. ( it doesn't keep adding as a summoned card typically cannot summon another)

Editor

1 person marked this as a favorite.

1. I believe that the character first encountering the Maggot Swarm fights only the copy she encounters. The other two characters at the Canyon must each fight TWO Maggot Swarms, once from the original Maggot Swarm's power and once from the Canyon's power. The summoned Maggot Swarms can't cause more to be summoned.

2. To avoid shuffling a Maggot Swarm into the location deck, you need to beat by 4 only the card that came from the location deck. The other cards came from the box, and to the box they shall return.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

As I mentioned here, we're pretty sure that Canyon should summon those other encounters. If so, here's the deal:

Canyon: "When you encounter a non-henchman, non-villain monster, each other character at this location summons and encounters that monster."

Giant Maggot Swarm: "Before you act, each other character at your location summons and encounters a Giant Maggot Swarm."

So Character A encounters the Swarm. Characters B and C have to summon and encounter their own swarms, but finishing what you started, we deal with A first.

The first thing that happens there is before A acts, B & C each summon and encounter the swarm. These summoned swarms don't cause more swarms to be summoned, and defeated or not, they go back in the box.

Now A finishes his encounter with the Swarm, and he has to beat it by at least 4 to avoid shuffling it.

Now B & C each have to deal with the ones summoned by the location. Again, they're summoned, so they can't summon more, and they go into the box after.

So Joe has it right—A deals with 1, and has to worry about whether or not it gets shuffled; B & C deal with 2 each, but are really only concerned with not taking damage.


And that's a lot of maggot acid....


Thanks Vic. I hadn't seen the thread on the Canyon. For now I'll play it as a Summon - if this isn't the case, this gets nasty...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Giant Maggot Swarm All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion