Offensive defence rogue talent


Rules Questions

Sczarni

(Advanced Player's Guide pg. 1): wrote:
Offensive Defense (Ex)": When a rogue with this talent hits a creature with a melee attack that deals sneak attack damage, the rogue gains a +1 dodge bonus to AC for each sneak attack die rolled for 1 round.

If i'm reading this correctly, every time I deal sneak attack damage, I get a dodge bonus to my ac for 1 round equal to the total amount of sneak attack dice. For example, a 5th level rogue hitting with 3d6 sneak attack dice on three separate attacks would get +9 dodge bonus for 1 round?


RAW: Yes

RAI: I think the goal is that you only get the dodge bonus once against whoever you used the Offensive Defense against

Sczarni

well, even against just one target it seems to be a fairly big bonus to get if you manage to hit with multiple attacks..

Liberty's Edge

They haven't officially made the ruling, but have stated that they're leaning towards the bonuses not stacking, as the bonuses from the same source don't stack rule. So intent from the developers is that it's only a +3 to AC, not a +9. But the FAQ doesn't say that's how it works, just that's how they're leaning with the rules clarification.

Link


I think it was faqued that multiple bonus from multiple hit don't stack.

Sczarni

Thank for the clarification!


I do think that Offensive Defense only gives you a dodge equal to your sneak attack dice, regardless of your number of hits, although I'm pretty sure it's also supposed to be a dodge bonus you get against everything for one round, not just the person you sneak attacked.

It's one of the better rogue talents, in my opinion. Definitely a lifesaver for the squishy guy in a knife-fight.

Liberty's Edge

Actually, they're leaning towards it only working on the creature you attacked, so that you can't attack weaker opponents to gain a bonus on a tougher opponent.

Also I believe there was talk of keeping helpless animals on ones person to sneak attack to gain a dodge bonus to AC. With the ruling they're leaning towards that would no longer work.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Here's the actual FAQ: http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fn#v5748eaic9p1m

FAQ wrote:


Rogue: Does the dodge bonus from the “offensive defensive” rogue talent (page 131) stack with itself? Does it apply to everyone, or just to the target I’m attacking?

There are two issues relating to this rogue talent.

One, in the first printing it provided a +1 circumstance bonus against the attacked target, which was a very weak ability. The second printing update changed it from a circumstance bonus to a dodge bonus, but accidentally omitted the “against that creature” text, which made it a very strong ability.

Two, it doesn’t specify whether the dodge bonus stacks with itself, and because this creates a strange place in the rules where bonuses don’t stack from the same source but dodge bonuses always stack. While we haven’t reached a final decision on what to do about this talent, we are leaning toward this solution: the dodge bonus only applies against the creature you sneak attacked, and the dodge bonus does not stack with itself. This prevents you from getting a dodge bonus to AC against a strong creature by sneak attacking a weak creature, and prevents you from reaching an absurdly high AC by sneak attacking multiple times in the same round.


With that FAQ you can still use iteratives to attack and gain AC bonuses against multiple creatures. It makes cleave and TWF kind of tasty.


That's true. There is the half orc rogue archtype that actually specializes in charging in and cleaving multiple people. I would allow them to have the bonus against all they hit with a sneak attack that round. For them, this talent is actually ideal, as it helps eliminate the ac penalty from charging.


Has there been anything official on this as of yet?

Liberty's Edge

Official FAQ above from 2012 remains unchanged.

Still a great talent. Fun to combine with Emboldening Strike for saves bonus based on sneak attack dice (has to be a separate attack) and/or the Vexing Dodger 'Limb Climber' penalty on enemy attacks.


So if I attack X times that round, with Yd6 sneak attack, i would receive X×Y AC for that one creature?


First, you only roll the Sneack Attack dice if you hit, and second, it's against all enemies. So (hits)x(SA dice per attack) = AC bonus.

But yes, Offensive Defense still officially stacks with itself. Of course, since nobody uses chained Rogue (since the Unchained Rogue) and Ninja (since the Teisatsu Vigilante) anymore, that doesn't have much effect even if one doesn't follow the 'official houserule suggestion' (man, that's a weird thing to type). Taking the cRogue's power level into consideration, the overall power level isn't exactly game breaking, anyway. Sure, a lvl9 Zap Master who hits every attack can get a +50 AC against every enemy, but his Fort and Will saves still suck, and he can be lucky if he hits half the attacks.


xDemoquinx wrote:
So if I attack X times that round, with Yd6 sneak attack, i would receive X×Y AC for that one creature?

No.

You can have Y dodge bonus against any one creature. If you successfully sneak attack multiple different creatures (X number of creatures) you could get Y bonus against them.


Derklord wrote:

First, you only roll the Sneack Attack dice if you hit, and second, it's against all enemies. So (hits)x(SA dice per attack) = AC bonus.

But yes, Offensive Defense still officially stacks with itself. Of course, since nobody uses chained Rogue (since the Unchained Rogue) and Ninja (since the Teisatsu Vigilante) anymore, that doesn't have much effect even if one doesn't follow the 'official houserule suggestion' (man, that's a weird thing to type). Taking the cRogue's power level into consideration, the overall power level isn't exactly game breaking, anyway. Sure, a lvl9 Zap Master who hits every attack can get a +50 AC against every enemy, but his Fort and Will saves still suck, and he can be lucky if he hits half the attacks.

Look at the above quoted FAQ. You are incorrect.


Claxon wrote:


Look at the above quoted FAQ. You are incorrect.

The one that says PDT hasn't decided yet?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
swoosh wrote:
Claxon wrote:


Look at the above quoted FAQ. You are incorrect.
The one that says PDT hasn't decided yet?

A provisional decision is still the decision. It merely has a caveat.

Shadow Lodge

swoosh wrote:
Claxon wrote:


Look at the above quoted FAQ. You are incorrect.
The one that says PDT hasn't decided yet?

Good luck getting that to fly at table.


Is this talent not available for unchained rogue?


correct, it's was kinda turned into their debilitating strike


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Claxon wrote:
Look at the above quoted FAQ. You are incorrect.

"we haven’t reached a final decision", by the very definitions of the words, can not possibly be a decision. Changing (or keeping) the rules* would require such a decision. Therefore, the FAQ answer (that does't answer the question) can not possible be a ruling. Q.E.D.

*) The RAW are pretty clear in this case - Offensive Defense does stack with itself because dodge bonuses stack with other dodge bonuses, and the "no stacking from same source" only applies to untyped bonuses. The answer they are leaning towards is completly reasonable, but would require a change to the existing text, i.e. an errata. Because right now, the solution they were leaning toward contradicts the RAW and if anyone wants to play it that way, it's a houserule.

If anyone wants to vocalize his/her disagreement, please quote some rules (because like it or not, an FAQ that says "we don't do anything yet" doesn't do anything yet).

Also, the official FAQ gets the rules wrong, which shows how much they actually worked on that "answer"...

xDemoquinx wrote:
Is this talent not available for unchained rogue?

To be precise, it got reworked into the Disoriented Debilitating Injury. But reading the vigilante talent again, a Vigilante seems to be able to use OD as normal (and not just vs unaware opponents like his own talents do).

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
Derklord wrote:
Claxon wrote:
Look at the above quoted FAQ. You are incorrect.

"we haven’t reached a final decision", by the very definitions of the words, can not possibly be a decision. Changing (or keeping) the rules* would require such a decision. Therefore, the FAQ answer (that does't answer the question) can not possible be a ruling. Q.E.D.

*) The RAW are pretty clear in this case - Offensive Defense does stack with itself because dodge bonuses stack with other dodge bonuses, and the "no stacking from same source" only applies to untyped bonuses. The answer they are leaning towards is completly reasonable, but would require a change to the existing text, i.e. an errata. Because right now, the solution they were leaning toward contradicts the RAW and if anyone wants to play it that way, it's a houserule.

If anyone wants to vocalize his/her disagreement, please quote some rules (because like it or not, an FAQ that says "we don't do anything yet" doesn't do anything yet).

The FAQ does not say "We don't do anything yet," it says "This decision is not final," and thus liable to change. The PDT reserved the right to reverse the spell-like ability counting for prerequisites FAQ, but that doesn't mean is wasn't in effect before it was reversed. Ignoring a FAQ for being provisional is just silly.

FAQs change rules when they lead to weird interactions. It happens.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
"KingOfAnything wrote:
The FAQ does not say "We don't do anything yet, (...)

No, but they did say 'we haven't decided what to do yet', and I fail to see the difference (so I paraphrased it). Also, leaning towards something is (again) per definition not a decision.

They always have the right to change an FAQ later (and did that multiple times in the past), so 'reserving that right' doesn't make the slightest sense.

And just to make it clear, we aren't talking about some gray area that isn't covered by the rules, or some obscure rule from some splashbook most didn't even know existed. We are talking about very important and clear cut rules in the CRB.

Grand Lodge

And they have said that it is a problem, and what their preferred solution to it is. Rule as you see fit.


Derklord, you and I have different opinions on it clearly.

While they say "we haven't reached a final decision" even though the FAQ wasn't 4 years ago, I take it as they have forgotten to revisit the topic and are standing by their statement that they made which is "no it doesn't stack and it's only good against the target".

You can rule differently for your home games, but I think most people would read that FAQ and decide to go with it.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Funny how Dodge bonus always stack except when FAQratta comes around.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Claxon wrote:

Derklord, you and I have different opinions on it clearly.

While they say "we haven't reached a final decision" even though the FAQ wasn't 4 years ago, I take it as they have forgotten to revisit the topic and are standing by their statement that they made which is "no it doesn't stack and it's only good against the target".

You can rule differently for your home games, but I think most people would read that FAQ and decide to go with it.

Too bad they did not tell us their non-final decision. If they had, we might know what it is.

Leaning in a direction is not a decision, final or otherwise.

... I would like a second piece of pie, but I haven't finally decided.

/cevah


But 4 years later after not revisiting the topic I think most people would assume your decision was final, and whatever it was has happened.


or that they became more unsure and thus never had an agreement to put forth as the rule.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Offensive defence rogue talent All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions