Studied Target and Sneak Attacking


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If my slayer sneak attacks an enemy and spends an immediate action to make him a studied target, which bonuses if any, do I get on that initial attack?

Do I get to apply the studied target attack roll bonus to the attack, or do I have to deal sneak attack damage first (meaning I don't benefit from the attack bonus until my next attack)? The wording appears unclear to me.


ACG wrote:
If a slayer deals sneak attack damage to a target, he can study that target as an immediate action, allowing him to apply his studied target bonuses against that target (including to the normal weapon damage roll).

You can only study after the damage is dealt, so it doesn't apply to that initial attack.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

None of it? Or just the attack bonus?


PRD wrote:
If a slayer deals sneak attack damage to a target, he can study that target as an immediate action, allowing him to apply his studied target bonuses against that target (including to the normal weapon damage roll).

It seems contingent on the fact you both hit the target and manage to do the sneak attack precision damage, beforehand. You do get the bonus damage for that attack, though, it seems. What scenario are you hoping for, in which the bonus to attack rolls makes any significant difference for that particular attack?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm not hoping for a scenario. I'm hoping for a clear answer.


I beleive it was explained that the bonus applied to the damage but not the attack...but I'm not positive.

Actually scratch that even if they didn't come out and say it. Its pretty simple, it doesn't matter if its also applied to the attack since you have to deal sneak attack damage first so you'd have to have hit without the studdied target bonus first and it adds the bonus to the damage roll.

So it would just apply to the damage for that attack.


i believe that the (including the normal damage of the attack) was put only so as to get the damage bonus on the successful senak attack.

i see absolutly no reason for that passage to exist if it wasn't to indicate that the damage does indeed apply to the sneak attack.


Seems that RAI is to add to the damage of the initiating attack, but it's really wonky, because for that to work the studied strike damage would have to be applied retroactively, after SA damage had been dealt and after you've taken an immediate action


dragonhunterq wrote:
Seems that RAI is to add to the damage of the initiating attack, but it's really wonky, because for that to work the studied strike damage would have to be applied retroactively, after SA damage had been dealt and after you've taken an immediate action

That's not just RAI, that seems to be exactly what's written. It would seem there was some ambiguity as to whether or not that was the case, which was cleared up by adding the "(including to the normal weapon damage roll)" at the end.

Honestly, I can't really see any scenario where the attack roll bonus would matter unless a GM decided that it helped you out in retroactively confirming a crit.


This is unclear to me.

Does the studied targed apply to the original attack or just to attacks after it.

Dark Archive

Nicos wrote:

This is unclear to me.

Does the studied targed apply to the original attack or just to attacks after it.

Damage bonus = applies to all hits, including the first one.

To-hit bonus = you have to hit before you can use this, so obviously it won't apply to the first hit. You can't damage before you hit and therefore this won't trigger at all if you miss.


Sorry to cast 'raise thread' here, but I want to make certain I have this right. I have a ranged focused slayer, so assume I qualify for the sneak (flat-footed, within 30 ft, etc) and I have used rapid shot to fire multiple times. My understanding is that I can apply studied target bonus to damage if my first shot hits and does sneak attack damage. Can I apply the studied target bonus to attacks with my subsequent attacks in that round or just damage?


Your subsequent attacks would get everything.

The triggering attack is the only one that's a little wonky. Because you can't get the ST from a sneak attack, if the sneak attack didn't hit in the first place.


My opinion: the immediate action interdicts the attack action - full bonuses to all attacks including the first. That's how I've always understood how an immediate action works - inserting itself before the action you used it for.

sidebar: Love the class and I'm wondering what build are you using with this Slayer of yours?


Havoq wrote:

My opinion: the immediate action interdicts the attack action - full bonuses to all attacks including the first. That's how I've always understood how an immediate action works - inserting itself before the action you used it for.

sidebar: Love the class and I'm wondering what build are you using with this Slayer of yours?

She's building toward arcane archer prestige class. The one level of Diviner Wizard gets me wand usage (gravity bow, ftw!) and always acting in the surprise round. I took the human favored class bonus for the extra slayer talent. At slayer 6, in addition to the 2 ranger feats, I have the rogue snap shot talent and Deadly Range.

So, I always act in the surprise round as if I had rolled a 20 initiative and get to shoot. If they're within 40 ft I also add sneak attack, and if I hit they're my studied target. Oh, and I also ignore everything but total cover/concealment through Improved Precise Shot. Needless to say, she's been fun.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Studied Target and Sneak Attacking All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions