Over 20 level spells


Rules Questions


I was wondering if I could go over 20 when a spell asks for my oracle level and I have a skill that says I add 5 to my level when it asks for it.

The Exchange

You can. 20th level is a hard limit for your class, but not for your spellcasting ability.


It would be helpful if you could give more specific for the example, but yes your caster level can exceed 20 if that is your question.

So, if a spell is referencing your level it's probably referencing your caster level, not just your oracle level. Now general they're the same, but there are ways to increase it using feats or items or other avenues.


It's definitely ok, otherwise language in already existent spells would be rather curious.

E.g.,

Polar Ray wrote:
A blue-white ray of freezing air and ice springs from your hand. You must succeed on a ranged touch attack with the ray to deal damage to a target. The ray deals 1d6 points of cold damage per caster level (maximum 25d6) and 1d4 points of Dexterity drain.


An example is that I am making a Shigengo Oracle and they can use a ki point to add 5 levels to their curse level. Can I theoretically get to level 25 by using that?

The Exchange

Oh, effective level for the effects of your curse? Gee, that's not as cut-and-dried as spellcasting level going past 20. Far as I know there's no such thing as an Oracle 21. (Then again, there really aren't any benefits to going past 20 for purposes of a curse's benefits... are there?)


For the Haunted Curse you get spells that vary on Oracle level. I was planning on using a ki point and increase my level for the spell but I don't know if that is allowed.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Over 20 level spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.