
Kevincondor |
i have already read that arcane strike may work with tiefling,but i ask for a discussion with a friend,he is not totally sure about it,and i link him this post XD
Does Arcane Strike prerequisite work wih Tiefling,or any other race that have only a spell-like ability ,and a character level 20 (like a 20 levels of Fighter) count as full caster level for the +5 damage?

chaoseffect |

If you have an SLA then you have a caster level equal to your level for feats and even prerequisites for prestige classes. Tiefling's SLA Darkness counts as arcane, so you may take Arcane Strike and it will scale.

![]() |

Sorry in advance for a little light thread necromancy, but I've got a similar question (more or less) on the prerequisite for Arcane Strike. I'm fairly sure I know the answer, but while I can't find a concrete ruling anywhere - common sense seems pretty cut and dry. (But if someone could point me a concrete ruling, just as a CYA, that would be great.)
If you are a divine caster that gains a normally arcane only spell on their spell list - the spell is still considered divine, right? After all, the source of the magic is now your worshiped deity/entity/concept. Thus the spell would NOT count as meeting the prerequisite of casting arcane magic, if I'm interpreting correctly? (Though apparently getting access to a SLA, on the other hand...)

Flawed |
Yes, still divine. Your god is providing you powers. The spell doesn't come with arcane spell failure. Does not qualify as an arcane spell so no arcane strike.
The alluring trait grants daze as an SLA giving you a caster level equal to character level. Qualifies you for arcane strike and craft feats.
chaoseffect wrote:For me it is, and it's not that Paizo hasn't taken back FAQs before or used FAQs that are in opposition of the rules.I doubt they will as it's really not that big of a deal.
What is it that irks you about this?

lemeres |

wintermutt, take The Lantern Bearer trait. It gives you the ability to use light 3/day at your character level casting level.
Or just about any other trait that gives an arcane SLA.
Lantern Bearer is good for martial characters, since it allows them to get a caster level equal to their character level. But as a divine caster, you shouldn't have that trouble.
This is because, for the vast majority of SLA giving traits, they say 'highest caster level gained, or CL 1'. That means that, as a divine caster, you could just grab one of those, and then just rely on your class' CL to power arcane strike. The trait doesn't seem to care that your CL comes a divine class, all that matters is that the SLA isn't something you gain from the divine class itself. And unless we are talking about a ranger or paladin (or something multiclassed), then CL should equal your character level.
So, since this is just something to get you 'arcane' power, grab something fun. I personally like the trifler trait, since it gives you prestidigitation 3/day (which means it runs for 3 hours per day). The length and the vague utility of that spell is great. It is like duct tape or WD-40.

Cevah |

Sorry in advance for a little light thread necromancy, but I've got a similar question (more or less) on the prerequisite for Arcane Strike. I'm fairly sure I know the answer, but while I can't find a concrete ruling anywhere - common sense seems pretty cut and dry. (But if someone could point me a concrete ruling, just as a CYA, that would be great.)
If you are a divine caster that gains a normally arcane only spell on their spell list - the spell is still considered divine, right? After all, the source of the magic is now your worshiped deity/entity/concept. Thus the spell would NOT count as meeting the prerequisite of casting arcane magic, if I'm interpreting correctly? (Though apparently getting access to a SLA, on the other hand...)
I believe it goes like this:
If the source is a class feature, then it is arcane/divine as the class is arcane/divine.This means that the arcane only spell gained by the divine class as a class feature counts as a divine SLA.
/cevah