Can furry of blows hit more than one target?


Rules Questions


that pretty much sums up my question


Yes. Why wouldn't it be able to?


people in my group are saying it cant, cause thats how they remember the old 3.5 rules and there is nothing in the PF book that specifically says it can


There's nothing I can find imposing such a restriction on Flurry of Blows in the d20 SRD, or in Pathfinder, and the game is quite clear that in general you can not only change targets between attacks, but can wait until you know the results of each attack before deciding on the target of the next.


another question, if i use furry of blows to hit multiple targets, do they have to be adjecent to eachother? or can i attack anyone at all as long as i can reach them


Step one: Ignore Flurry, it's a red herring. All that matters is that you're taking a full attack. There are no different targeting rules for flurry, or two-weapon fighting, or any of those things. It's just full attack.

Step two: I believe that, if you do not otherwise move, you're allowed to take a five foot step at any point during the attack, but I am not 100% sure.

Step three: There are no other requirements on targets, although obviously you have to be able to reach them.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Serbs is right, but just to clarify his second point, you may take one 5-foot step throughout your turn, and can put it anywhere in the round - before any attacks, between any two attacks, or after your attacks.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Seebs*

Damn autocorrect. And edit timeframe.


That's just what Bruce Lee always did in his movies. He is surrounded by bad guys, kicks one, hits the next with his hand and the third with his elbow.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

Only if they're catgirls...

(Sorry, couldn't resist the typo. Excuse the hypocracy) :-)

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

lance greene wrote:
people in my group are saying it cant, cause thats how they remember the old 3.5 rules and there is nothing in the PF book that specifically says it can

The old 3.5 rules are the same as current pathfinder rules.

You can flurry multiple targets and 5 ft in between strikes.

Sczarni

lance greene wrote:
that pretty much sums up my question

FoB can be used against whatever target you choose.


And remember, flurrying isn't only for melee, but any combination of monk weapons you may have. If your full round flurry gives you 3 attacks per round, you can flurry to hit and drop an adjacent enemy, 5 foot step and flurry to drop another enemy, then quickly pull out a shuriken and throw it at some distant enemy for the third attack, all in an epic 6 second action movie time frame. Monks be cray cray like that.

Dark Archive

What a strange question.

You should be counting yourself lucky if you manage to hit one target with a flurry, not worrying about that second hit which will never happen.


amethal wrote:

What a strange question.

You should be counting yourself lucky if you manage to hit one target with a flurry, not worrying about that second hit which will never happen.

Now now, flurry of blows is still a very powerful full round action. It only implies a -2 penalty on your attacks and gives you an additional attack. In fact, a monk's flurry of blows begins to deal more "DPS" at level 5 and higher.


Eyup.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can furry of blows hit more than one target? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.