| garvdart |
magus...or witch question.
Prehensile Hair (Su): The witch can instantly cause her hair (or even her eyebrows) to grow up to 10 feet long or to shrink to its normal length, and can manipulate her hair as if it were a limb with a Strength score equal to her Intelligence score. Her hair has reach 10 feet, and she can use it as a secondary natural attack that deals 1d3 points of damage (1d2 for a Small witch). Her hair can manipulate objects (but not weapons) as dexterously as a human hand. (last bits not needed for rules questions...
I know it can hold a rod. Awesome....
what about using a wand...say ill omen...or any buffing one...if it can wield as dexterously as a human hand...?
Using it too hurl say alchemist fire...so I can cast pyrotechnics....I know it says it can't manipulate weapons...but its a object that becomes a weapon...
using it too retrieve something from a handy haversack. during combat...
Using it too reload a weapon...say a firearm...or a crossbow...or another idea...composite longbow..with a str modifier higher than mine own..using the hair too draw the arrow...
thoughts let me know
| Stome |
You can use it for anything you could use a hand. But that does not mean it grants extra actions nor does it lessen the action needed to do something.
Retrieving an item would still cost the same action as it would without it. Same with throwing.
But it will help you get around things limited by number of hands like reloading and holding a rod while the other hands are busy say holding a weapon and casting the spell the rod is needed for.
| garvdart |
You can use it for anything you could use a hand. But that does not mean it grants extra actions nor does it lessen the action needed to do something.
Retrieving an item would still cost the same action as it would without it. Same with throwing.
But it will help you get around things limited by number of hands like reloading and holding a rod while the other hands are busy say holding a weapon and casting the spell the rod is needed for.
gotcha...was pondering ways too make my dm cry...lol, so reloading a firearm...viable, but no wand usage...but it could hold a wand and as a readied action drop into my hand...
Raymond Lambert
|
I do not think the designers came up with every thought a player could have.
Just my own two cents.
I would not allow wands as some are attacks, even the saving throw spells are defined as hostile attacks. On the other hand it might be viable to only allow non attack stuff like buff spell. Really a grey area.
I would also say no to the alchemical items like acid or holy water, not a glow stick just held though.
I think reloading a weapon is too similar to useing it, attacking that is. Reloading will sometimes take two hands so bare that in mind also.
I guess activating a meta magic wand would be ok.
| Buri |
I'll echo the "this is the rules forum" statement. All the prehensile hair hex prohibits is wielding a weapon. By and large, wands are not weapons. They can be, but then anything can be a weapon (see improvised weapons) and the hex explicitly states you can in fact carry objects and otherwise use it like a limb with about the same dexterity as a human hand.
So, houserule to your heart's content but those aren't the PFRPG rules.
RAW you can do all those things you stated. Weapons are defined in the equipment section and are listed out. Anything not in there is not a weapon per the description of the hair.
Also, metamagic items are not wands. Those are rods.
Raymond Lambert
|
The prehensile hair says towards the end that it cannot use a weapon. That is why I do not believe it should be able to use a wand that requires an attack roll. It also says it can manipulate ani object like a hand. Loading a crossbow or knocking an arrow requires two. Even if you did wante to allow such, the hair can work as a hand, singular, not two hands, thus, at best I would say it could do those actions with another hand helping.
Cannot recall why I actcidentally called a meta magic rod a wand. I will now though that while activating it's magical properties is one thing, attacking with it was a weapon, as some rods are listed as being a melee weapon, using the hair to do so would still be a no.
| SlimGauge |
All I want to do is cast a hex, cackle and throw an alchemist bomb in the same turn. This would be two actions and a move, so it's going to require something tricky. What's are the trick(s) that would allow this?
As you correctly point out, casting a hex is a standard action as is throwing an alchemist's bomb while cackling is a move action. To do that all in one turn, you're going to need something that breaks the action economy. Prehensile hair isn't it.
Are you using Hero Points ? One use of a hero point can gain you an action.
"Extra Action: You can spend a hero point on your turn to gain an additional standard or move action this turn."
You can get a "temporary" hero point with the spell "Heroic Fortune". It's not on the witch list, but is on the alchemist's list.
So you could on one turn cast Heroic Fortune to gain a hero point, and then on another turn before your Heroic Fortune expires use it to gain the extra action you need to hex, cackle and throw all in the same turn.
LazarX
|
I'll echo the "this is the rules forum" statement. All the prehensile hair hex prohibits is wielding a weapon. By and large, wands are not weapons. They can be, but then anything can be a weapon (see improvised weapons) and the hex explicitly states you can in fact carry objects and otherwise use it like a limb with about the same dexterity as a human hand.
So, houserule to your heart's content but those aren't the PFRPG rules.
RAW you can do all those things you stated. Weapons are defined in the equipment section and are listed out. Anything not in there is not a weapon per the description of the hair.
Also, metamagic items are not wands. Those are rods.
Rules are not about what's prohibited, but what's allowed. Wand use is not called upon as allowed in the prehensile hair ability, so by RAW it's not happening.
| blahpers |
garvdart wrote:Prehensile Hair (Su): ... Her hair can manipulate objects (but not weapons) as dexterously as a human hand.So no reloading weapons, firearms or otherwise.
Sadly for my pistolero, I agree. Loading a firearm with prehensile hair seems to fall under the "manipulating weapons" prohibition.
| graystone |
Majuba wrote:Sadly for my pistolero, I agree. Loading a firearm with prehensile hair seems to fall under the "manipulating weapons" prohibition.garvdart wrote:Prehensile Hair (Su): ... Her hair can manipulate objects (but not weapons) as dexterously as a human hand.So no reloading weapons, firearms or otherwise.
I read that as attack with a weapon. Manipulate isn't a game term but it DOES have a synonym called wield. http://www.thefreedictionary.com/manipulate
This is one of those cases where you have to say 'ask the DM how they read it'.
| SlimGauge |
There's a feat, Accelerated Drinker, that would let you drink the potion as a move action instead of a standard action. There's a Cackling Hag's Blouse that lets you cackle as a swift action twice a day.
So if you start the turn with the potion in your hand, you can
1) Drink your potion as a move action
2) Use a hex as a standard action
3) Cackle to extend the hex as a swift action
Use a five-foot step between any of these other steps.
| Buri |
Rules are not about what's prohibited, but what's allowed. Wand use is not called upon as allowed in the prehensile hair ability, so by RAW it's not happening.
Yes, they are. Wands are not listed under weapons in any book. They have no moving parts. There's nothing to manipulate. They're an object that's held. PH is written to allow that.
| Xaratherus |
LazarX wrote:Rules are not about what's prohibited, but what's allowed. Wand use is not called upon as allowed in the prehensile hair ability, so by RAW it's not happening.Yes, they are. Wands are not listed under weapons in any book. They have no moving parts. There's nothing to manipulate. They're an object that's held. PH is written to allow that.
Agreed.
This very passage debunks the idea that it's listing what is allowed, because it's explicitly listing prohibitions. If it were true that the rules were about what's allowed, then it need not mention the weapon prohibition at all, because we would have to assume that since weapons weren't mentioned, they weren't allowed.
The rules as written are a mixture of allowances and prohibitions. It's true that the philosophy of, "What is not explicitly forbidden is allowed," is false - but the philosophy of, "What is not explicitly allowed is forbidden," is equally false.
Wands aren't considered weapons under any point of RAW in the book. Nor are rods. I see nothing in the Prehensile Hair ability that leads me to believe they would be barred.
| Buri |
Many rods have modes that double as weapons. I'd say they work fine until you activate such a mode. At that point, the hair simply lacks ability to wield it and it drops.
Philosophically, I think the rules have a hard time know exactly what they are. I've seen dev commentary to the effect that we should extrapolate in one area but only stick to explicit listings in another. So, it's hard to tell. If something is clearly written to be open with a broad topic and barely scratches the surface of possibilities, I try to use what's written as markers for my sandbox and I try to stick within that sandbox. Other rules that are more constrained I try to stick with the explicit wording.
| Xaratherus |
Many rods have modes that double as weapons. I'd say they work fine until you activate such a mode. At that point, the hair simply lacks ability to wield it and it drops.
Philosophically, I think the rules have a hard time know exactly what they are. I've seen dev commentary to the effect that we should extrapolate in one area but only stick to explicit listings in another. So, it's hard to tell. If something is clearly written to be open with a broad topic and barely scratches the surface of possibilities, I try to use what's written as markers for my sandbox and I try to stick within that sandbox. Other rules that are more constrained I try to stick with the explicit wording.
Well, I was speaking primarily of metamagic rods. As far as I know the only method of using one of those as a weapon is as an improvised club.
Sorry, I should have clarified. :) I always forget there are magical rods and metamagic rods.
| Buri |
A full caster can quite usually buff themselves to ridiculous levels. Letting them have 10-foot reach is just unnecessary. Some rules are there purely for balance. For example, a summoner's aspect ability lets you spend eidolon evolution points but aspect explicitly stops you from using it to take the ability increase evolution. This is purely to stop summoners from increasing their charisma score.
| LoneKnave |
That's an entirely different thing though. It makes something the summoner generally always wants (charisma) unavailable.
Yeah, a witch can buff herself (I guess? I'm not familiar with the witch spell list) and then attack but why would she do that when she could instead cast a spell, or use some other hex as a standard action? Virtually everything else she could do is more important and is just generally worth more than dealing damage.
At the very worst, it'd open up the path for a combat-witch, which simply can not be better than a straight witch just from how limited the application of damage is compared to full spellcasting.
...
Okay, I'm being dishonest there, actually hexcrafter maguses would be all over the INT as STR limb they'd get from this. But then hexcrafters are already ridiculously good.
| graystone |
If you couldn't pick one up in the first place then how do you expect to keep a grip on it?
Why couldn't he pick up? There is a difference between picking up an item and using it. Grabbing a lock pick is different then manipulating/using one to open a lock. All I see prehensile hair doing is not letting you wield weapons (manipulate).
I'm using the definition "to handle or use with some skill". If you don't that you would be unable to pick up just about ANYTHING with it. What can't be use as an improvised weapon? Or are you saying I can pick up a 10' pole but not a quarterstaff?