Can a Heavy Shield be used 2-handed?


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

As an example, can a fighter who has been disarmed take his heavy shield, grasp it in two hands, and bash with it that way for purposes of 1.5x strength and increase power attack damage? I find nothing specific that prevents it. Thanks in advance!


there is nothing to allow it though. SO basically is a DM call.


Xzaral wrote:
As an example, can a fighter who has been disarmed take his heavy shield, grasp it in two hands, and bash with it that way for purposes of 1.5x strength and increase power attack damage? I find nothing specific that prevents it.

One-Handed: "If a one-handed weapon is wielded with two hands during melee combat, add 1-1/2 times the character's Strength bonus to damage rolls."

If it's a one-handed weapon, you can use two hands for extra damage. (Same thing for Power Attack)

Shield Bash Attacks: "You can bash an opponent with a heavy shield. See “shield, heavy” on Table: Weapons for the damage dealt by a shield bash. Used this way, a heavy shield is a martial bludgeoning weapon. For the purpose of penalties on attack rolls, treat a heavy shield as a one-handed weapon."

While this does imply it's not a one-handed weapon (only treated as such for penalties on attack rolls), it was also written back when shield bashing was assumed to always be done with an off-hand while two-weapon fighting.

They are listed as one-handed weapons in Table: Weapons.

If your GM rules that the heavy shield is still not technically a one-handed weapon, simply affix shield spikes: "These spikes turn a shield into a martial piercing weapon" which, according to Table: Weapons, is one-handed for heavy shields.

Silver Crusade

Actually, I am the GM an used it against the player's. And while no one complained about it, there was a question to it's legality rules-wise. I figured if something did prohibit it, someone would be able to find it.

Also I like to know these things for future reference.

Thanks for the info, by the way!


Not any help with the rules as such but... this is pretty convincing.


VoodooHoodoo wrote:

Not any help with the rules as such but... this is pretty convincing.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/equipment---final/armor/shield-heavy-wooden-or-stee l

"...You strap a shield to your forearm and grip it with your hand. A heavy shield is so heavy that you can't use your shield hand for anything else..."

If you un-strap the shield the it should not give bonus to AC, but is stil a DM call


There is no rule forbidding it, so I'd say yes. Go and fight'em Captain America style!

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

Having wielded a shield, I'd say no -- the technique for a shield bash just doesn't work 2-handed. It's like asking if you can wield a gauntlet 2-handed.

@VoodooHoodoo: And I'd call that using a shield as an improvised weapon. I'd let you get 1.5x ST bonus, but you'd have the -4 penalty to hit. Because he's not using the shield as a shield -- it might as well be a plank.


pH unbalanced wrote:

Having wielded a shield, I'd say no -- the technique for a shield bash just doesn't work 2-handed. It's like asking if you can wield a gauntlet 2-handed.

@VoodooHoodoo: And I'd call that using a shield as an improvised weapon. I'd let you get 1.5x ST bonus, but you'd have the -4 penalty to hit. Because he's not using the shield as a shield -- it might as well be a plank.

To be clear, we are talking about 2 different scenarios:

1.) Making a shield bash attack while the shield is strapped on an arm
2.) Holding the shield in both hands and using it as a weapon, not strapped on

I would agree that in Scenario #1, making a shield bash with both hands is not possible. I assume this is what you mean by "the technique just wouldn't work 2-handed." In fact, I think that the rules are already clear with Scenario #1: the shield is treated as a 1-handed martial bludgeoning weapon. As Grick pointed out, the rules for Shield Bash and the Weapons Table show this to be true.

However, I believe Xzaral is actually asking about Scenario #2. In this case, I think it's clear that the wielder would get the STR x1.5 bonus damage, he loses its shield bonus to AC, and that it would take a move action to unstrap the shield to grip it with both hands as a weapon.

Unstrapping a Shield: "Strapping a shield to your arm to gain its shield bonus to your AC, or unstrapping and dropping a shield so you can use your shield hand for another purpose, requires a move action. If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you can ready or drop a shield as a free action combined with a regular move."

Dropping an Item: "Dropping an item in your space or into an adjacent square is a free action."

This suggests that unstrapping a shield, but not dropping it, is still a move-equivalent action. What's UNCLEAR, however, is whether or not the shield is still considered to be a martial weapon in Scenario #2, or would it be considered an improvised weapon? I think this is the biggest question, because you aren't wielding the shield in the same way as in Scenario #1. I think the shield's base damage would remain the same, but I would personally lean toward ruling Scenario #2 as using the shield as an improvised weapon... though it certainly is a gray area.


Quote:
Actually, I am the GM an used it against the player's.

Or at least tried to use, if we hadn't cut poor Sir Eldon down where he stood before he could get the bash off ;)

As noted, I think it is perfectly fine and sensical to be able to put a second hand behind that shield bash if you have the hand to spare.

Liberty's Edge

Got a related question can I use a shield made for a creature (Larger/Smaller) then myself?

Grand Lodge

A player can absolutely wield a heavy shield with two hands.

A shield is a weapon, and functions as one.

You do not need to "unstrap" it.
If it helps, imagine the PC is using a second hand to help grip the shield.

This works with the Klar too.


I believe it shows up in late medieval/early renaissance fighting manuals. The shield remains strapped to the arm. It's pretty much what the guy in that vid did to knock his opponent down. Grab the top and pivot it around the strapped arm to smack someone with the point. Since it appears in fighting manuals it's something that fighters were trained to do and practiced so it shouldn't be an improvised weapon.

It's historical even if it's not RAW.


Sure, but then it's an improvised weapon. Like if Jack clunked the giant in the noggin with its own pewter dinner plate.

Grand Lodge

It is RAW doable. It is not an improvised weapon.


Atarlost wrote:

I believe it shows up in late medieval/early renaissance fighting manuals. The shield remains strapped to the arm. It's pretty much what the guy in that vid did to knock his opponent down. Grab the top and pivot it around the strapped arm to smack someone with the point. Since it appears in fighting manuals it's something that fighters were trained to do and practiced so it shouldn't be an improvised weapon.

It's historical even if it's not RAW.

That is a most interesting information, i would like to se those manual or a least can you provide a link to a photo or something?

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32

I don't see any reason why you couldn't use it two-handed, but I'd treat it as you'd treat any other two-handed weapon: both hands are considered "in use" until the character's next turn. So any attacks of opportunity would need to be resolved using the shield bash, two-handed, etc.

Grand Lodge

As far as the rules are concerned, you can two hand it just like a longsword.

All the same rules and effects.


Mordo the Spaz - Forum Troll wrote:
Sure, but then it's an improvised weapon. Like if Jack clunked the giant in the noggin with its own pewter dinner plate.

It's not an improvised weapon. It's something people proficient in shields were trained to do. Just because it isn't the "normal" use of the weapon shouldn't mean it's improvisation.

PF, with its Gygaxian legacy that predates the modern accessibility of traditional European martial arts doesn't represent this well, but these things were part of traditional fighting styles.

Grand Lodge

Okay, I want to know where the shield hate comes from.

With things like the Barbazu Beard and Battle Ladder, why is the shield the "silly" weapon.

Fighting with shield only, or with two shields, always the hate.

Why?


I would definitely rule this as possible. A Heavy Shield is considered a one handed martial weapon. Any one-handed martial weapon can be used two handed. In my mind, the fact that it is also a shield doesn't enter into it.

By the way, Hero Lab totally allows this. If you are proficient with martial weapons, you can shield bash without penalty, even if you aren't proficient with shields (in that case, you just can't get the AC bonus).


You can also think of it as using the off-hand to build momentum, not necessarily wielding the shield with it. Or maybe you grab the other guy with your off-hand to pull on him and increase impact that way.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a Heavy Shield be used 2-handed? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions