Upending strike + Greater trip + Upending strike + Greater trip + ...etc


Rules Questions

1 to 50 of 65 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

So take your skirmisher ranger archetype and get him combat reflexes, a good dex score, greater trip, and upending strike.

upending strike wrote:


Upending Strike (Ex): The ranger can use this trick as a free action just before he makes a melee attack. If the attack hits, he may make a free trip combat maneuver against the target.

This ranger ability from the apg allows you to as a free action make a trip attack after a successful attack. So at what step does this idea end?

1. Ranger uses free action for upending strike before an attack.
2. He hits.
3. He makes a trip attempt and succeeds making his target prone.
4. Gets an AoO.
5. Spends free action for upending strike.
6. hits.
7. Trips.
8. etc until misses, out of AoOs, or out of uses of upending strike.

For the record, this is more of a thought exercise. I am certain a DM would rule against this(to avoid this ability being abused).

But... things to consider.

1. There is no hard limit on using free actions.
2. The trip maneuver can still be used against prone targets. Trip can only not be used against targets more than 1 size category larger than you and creatures such as oozes, creatures without legs, and flying creatures—cannot be tripped. A prone medium humanoid still has legs and is still within the size limitation for player races.

So what did I miss?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

You can't trip something that's already prone. You're welcome to try I suppose, but you will always fail (they are already prone).


Ravingdork wrote:
You can't trip something that's already prone. You're welcome to try I suppose, but you will always fail (they are already prone).

I agree, that makes sense. Now join me on this thought experiment and point to where in trip it says you can't trip a prone target?

Look at spells that put a condition on a person. A creature can be subjected to multiple instances of hideous laughter or confusion. You can charm a person twice. There does not need to be text in those cases saying you can't do it again and in those cases there isn't much to gain either normally.

Normally retripping gains you nothing. This is a isolated case. I just felt like pointing it out.


thepuregamer wrote:
So what did I miss?

[Edited - free attack on knocked down foe didn't involve any action on the part of said foe, misread feat]

As for tripping someone while they're prone and not moving, now you're just trolling - I mean, fantasy and all that but my grandfather had a rule "If it falls on the floor, leave it there, it can't fall any further."


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
thepuregamer wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:
You can't trip something that's already prone. You're welcome to try I suppose, but you will always fail (they are already prone).
I agree, that makes sense. Now join me on this thought experiment and point to where in trip it says you can't trip a prone target?

I don't believe it's specifically stated in the books. However, it has been clarified by v3.5 and Pathfinder developers both that you can't.

As I said, you are free to make a trip combat maneuver against a prone target (nothing prevents the action), but it won't do anything.

I suppose the rest is common sense. It's like trying to kill a dead guy. You can't make a dead guy MORE dead. Just doesn't accomplish much of anything. In similar fashion, you can't make a prone person MORE prone. As a status effect, it is either active or not, there aren't degrees of being prone.


thepuregamer wrote:


I agree, that makes sense. Now join me on this thought experiment and point to where in trip it says you can't trip a prone target?

Just because the rules don't preclude something doesn't mean it's possible. For example, nowhere in the rules does it say that a creature has to sleep or rest, just that some classes require rest in order to regain powers. This means that, by the logic you are applying to the tripping rules, a character who had no daily powers would never have to sleep, by Rules As Written (RAW).

So, by RAW, there is no rule saying you cannot trip someone who is prone. However, prone is a binary state; characters are either prone or not, and you cannot make a character more prone than they previously are.

So, one cannot trip someone who is prone.


1. A successful trip gives the opponent the prone condition.
2. You cannot make someone "more prone" by tripping them again.
3. As such further trip attempts automatically fail since the condition is already imposed.
4. Further trip attacks can be attempted but since the creature is prone even on a successful roll the attempt fails as prone creatures cannot be made "more prone".

Also:

When someone gets up from being prone and provokes an AoO you can attempt a trip attack but it doesn't prevent them from standing since the AoO happens before the action that triggers it.

If you want better than that get out your search fu -- JJ has been all over this already.

Also the rules state that some creatures can't be tripped. It gives a small sample list but doesn't say the list is all inclusive or excludes other possibilities, leaving such judgments up to the GM.


ravingdork wrote:


I don't believe it's specifically stated in the books. However, it has been clarified by v3.5 and Pathfinder developers both that you can't.

I do not mind there being something that makes this idea impossible. But if you have a rule or a developer quote about it(I wouldn't mind if there was) then pull it up. I already said that it doesn't make real world sense. I just wanted to see if it was possible RAW.


Here we go:

[url="http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/v5748btpy88yj/faq#v5748eaic9n8a"]

Jason wrote:


No. The attack of opportunity is triggered before the action that triggered it is resolved. In this case, the target is still prone when the attack of opportunity occurs (and you get the normal bonuses when making such an attack). Since the trip combat maneuver does not prevent the target's action, the target then stands up.

Now Here's where your problems start:

You are attacking -- good -- you trip as part of that attack, ok.

Now as part of the AoO you trip again -- problem.

You've already successfully tripped -- which means that if you trip before you trip then you don't get the AoO since the action you are taking is a trip which is what gave you your AoO in the first place.

It causes a preclusion loop. You can't take an action that prevents you from taking the action that allows you to take the action that provides you with the action.


Abraham spalding wrote:


Now Here's where your problems start:

You are attacking -- good -- you trip as part of that attack, ok.

Now as part of the AoO you trip again -- problem.

You've already successfully tripped -- which means that if you trip before you trip then you don't get the AoO since the action you are taking is a trip which is what gave you your AoO in the first place.

It causes a preclusion loop. You can't take an action that prevents you from taking the action that allows you to take the action that provides you with the action.

That is not actually the case.

gtrip wrote:


Whenever you successfully trip an opponent, that opponent provokes attacks of opportunity.

It goes like this.

1. You successfully trip. Trip concluded
2. Now Gtrip is triggered. Setting up an AoO.

Even if the AoO comes before number 2, it doesn't come before number 1(the successful trip) since in order for Gtrip to activate, a successful trip attempt has to resolve.

Anyway, I know you guys like imagery, so just picture that this is like juggling(think super smash melee or some fighter game).


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Abraham spalding wrote:

Here we go:

Fixed link

Jason wrote:


No. The attack of opportunity is triggered before the action that triggered it is resolved. In this case, the target is still prone when the attack of opportunity occurs (and you get the normal bonuses when making such an attack). Since the trip combat maneuver does not prevent the target's action, the target then stands up.

Now Here's where your problems start:

You are attacking -- good -- you trip as part of that attack, ok.

Now as part of the AoO you trip again -- problem.

You've already successfully tripped -- which means that if you trip before you trip then you don't get the AoO since the action you are taking is a trip which is what gave you your AoO in the first place.

It causes a preclusion loop. You can't take an action that prevents you from taking the action that allows you to take the action that provides you with the action.

Thanks for the search fu link.

We've clarified he can't make the target prone twice, but that doesn't necessarily stop him from using Upending Strike against a prone target (though I'm sure any GM in his right mind would rule this out).


I don't really care about the imagery.

If they are tripped future trips have no effect since they are already prone. Which means the future trip attacks fail -- since they fail they don't give you an AoO from greater trip since that requires success.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Abraham spalding wrote:

I don't really care about the imagery.

If they are tripped future trips have no effect since they are already prone. Which means the future trip attacks fail -- since they fail they don't give you an AoO from greater trip since that requires success.

Ah yes. What was I thinking?


Abraham spalding wrote:

I don't really care about the imagery.

So serious...

Quote:


If they are tripped future trips have no effect since they are already prone. Which means the future trip attacks fail -- since they fail they don't give you an AoO from greater trip since that requires success.

This is an incorrect conclusion.

Being made prone is just a consequence of a successful trip. Being prone just means that repeated tripping has little purpose most of the time.


Can you find anything that states you can trip a prone opponent?

You can't trip something that is already on the ground. Like snakes, or oozes, or people that are already prone.


Abraham spalding wrote:

Can you find anything that states you can trip a prone opponent?

You can't trip something that is already on the ground. Like snakes, or oozes, or people that are already prone.

Wrong, being on the ground isn't why you can't trip them. Not having legs was the stated reason you couldn't trip them. Also you are only creating another issue to deal with by making that line of argument. IE now we get a +4 bonus to hit against oozes and snakes automatically.

Trip states what you can't trip. Prone targets aren't listed.


There was a whole thread about this where I made your exact case puregamer. It could work by RAW but a designer told me it wasn't intended.

| yeah that thread
|
V


during the last time someone did a variation of this silly trip cheese arguement one of the developers I forget who said you I'n general cannot trip a prone person. I say I'n general because also said they could see a monk with ki throw tossing someone to different squares.

which is admittedly kind of fun kung Fu imagery.

Scarab Sages

I EVOKE RULES!!!!

"Free actions don't take any time at all, though there may be limits to the number of free actions you can perform in a turn."

DM:(after one upending strike) Sorry you don't get anymore free actions from Upending strike....
Player: ....O

Anyway, It's fun to joke around about this stuff but if a player started doing this I'd immediately ask to talk to them... lol guess it's not so funny when you actually try it.


thepuregamer wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:

Can you find anything that states you can trip a prone opponent?

You can't trip something that is already on the ground. Like snakes, or oozes, or people that are already prone.

Wrong, being on the ground isn't why you can't trip them. Not having legs was the stated reason you couldn't trip them. Also you are only creating another issue to deal with by making that line of argument. IE now we get a +4 bonus to hit against oozes and snakes automatically.

Trip states what you can't trip. Prone targets aren't listed.

I didn't state that the snake or ooze were prone -- only that they were on the ground. You can't trip them because they don't go any lower -- just like the prone person.


Mcarvin wrote:

I EVOKE RULES!!!!

"Free actions don't take any time at all, though there may be limits to the number of free actions you can perform in a turn."

DM:(after one upending strike) Sorry you don't get anymore free actions from Upending strike....
Player: ....O

Anyway, It's fun to joke around about this stuff but if a player started doing this I'd immediately ask to talk to them... lol guess it's not so funny when you actually try it.

I totally agree.

I wrote:


For the record, this is more of a thought exercise. I am certain a DM would rule against this(to avoid this ability being abused).

A DM could definitely rule against it(for how many free actions you can take and on whether you can trip a prone target). There is even leeway given in the rules for a DM to rule one way or the other. But there are possibly DMs who would allow it(especially if they want to drop it on the party themselves).

abraham wrote:


You can't trip them because they don't go any lower -- just like the prone person.

That is a good rationalization but the connection you are making does not exist in the rules. I agree that it makes sense I am really not arguing against you on that point.

But being able to trip a prone target isn't the only non-sensical thing in the pathfinder.

Take the closely related point that you cannot retrip a prone target attempting to stand up with your AoO. This is how the rules work because what happens is a prone person next to you attempts to stand up as a move action, provoking an AoO and then your AoO resolves before they actually stand up. But in real life, if you successfully trip someone it is logical that when they try to stand up you hit them or kick them thus preventing them from standing up.

In real life, being hit while trying to stand up would have major impact on your ability to actually get up. In pathfinder, the rules go a different route.

Liberty's Edge

The game designers failed to think of every possible cheesy interpretation of the rules and so didn't explicitly state that you can't trip a prone target. I don't think that's a fault of the product, I think that some people need to be told "you can't trip a prone target, here it is in the rule book" is a fault of those people.


ShadowcatX wrote:
The game designers failed to think of every possible cheesy interpretation of the rules and so didn't explicitly state that you can't trip a prone target. I don't think that's a fault of the product, I think that some people need to be told "you can't trip a prone target, here it is in the rule book" is a fault of those people.

Man you rules board guys are so critical. I am not critical of the game designers because they have not thought of every possible issue with the game system. Pathfinder is a large rule set. Not every aspect can be covered.

I am not even sure why you guys think it is cheesy. Because it could be situationally broken? Well other parts of the game are consistently unbalanced and that seems ok. So perhaps it is because you think it lacks realism. If you want to apply realism to it then perhaps this person is just knocking around a guy on the ground.

Its like I am suddenly a bad person because I want people in the rules forum to cite rules when they are discussing rules.


thepuregamer wrote:

It's like I am suddenly a bad person because I want people in the rules forum to cite rules when they are discussing rules.

There's a simple defense -- the target merely detaches his legs and then reattaches them after the trip attempt. The rules clearly state that a legless creature can't be tripped, and there's nowhere in the rules that forbids detaching one's own legs. Voila!

;-)


well with your example a ranger monk ( do people even make those) could get about 15 attacks on a target if this worked. this would be where it becomes cheesy. generally speaking if your bending rules to the point where they just quite don't break I tend to not view it as seeking to actually understand the rule.


hogarth wrote:
thepuregamer wrote:

It's like I am suddenly a bad person because I want people in the rules forum to cite rules when they are discussing rules.

There's a simple defense -- the target merely detaches his legs and then reattaches them after the trip attempt. The rules clearly state that a legless creature can't be tripped, and there's nowhere in the rules that forbids detaching one's own legs. Voila!

;-)

+1.

Awesome response, equally absurd and also not addressed in the rules :)


Mojorat wrote:
well with your example a ranger monk ( do people even make those) could get about 15 attacks on a target if this worked. this would be where it becomes cheesy. generally speaking if your bending rules to the point where they just quite don't break I tend to not view it as seeking to actually understand the rule.

Just for a fair comparison, in order to get 15 attacks, one would need to have roughly 10 or 11 uses of your ranger's hunter tricks which you can use once per day per 2 ranger lvls plus your wis mod. So a lvl 10 ranger could do this 10 times if he had a 20 wisdom, 30 dex, and the already mentioned feats. He can do this super attack once per day total and the attack spree ends the instant he misses or fails a trip maneuver.

If we took a different character say lvl 1 alchemist, 9 wizard. He could use telekinesis to throw 9 or 10 alchemical weapons in a turn and they would use touch attacks and deal d6+int mod damage with splash damage equal to 1+int mod. This idea is hardly breaking anything.


Torinath wrote:
hogarth wrote:
thepuregamer wrote:

It's like I am suddenly a bad person because I want people in the rules forum to cite rules when they are discussing rules.

There's a simple defense -- the target merely detaches his legs and then reattaches them after the trip attempt. The rules clearly state that a legless creature can't be tripped, and there's nowhere in the rules that forbids detaching one's own legs. Voila!

;-)

+1.

Awesome response, equally absurd and also not addressed in the rules :)

Well, I wouldn't go that far. In fact, I agree with thepuregamer when he says that it's possible (if not plausible) to imagine his interpretation (e.g. "juggling" an enemy in a video game) and it's not even that overpowered (considering that a skirmisher ranger only gets a few tricks per day).

But any argument predicated on "nothing (besides common sense) says that I can't!" is pretty weak and falls squarely into "ask your GM" territory.


Free actions aren't unlimited by the rules.


Torinath wrote:
hogarth wrote:
thepuregamer wrote:

It's like I am suddenly a bad person because I want people in the rules forum to cite rules when they are discussing rules.

There's a simple defense -- the target merely detaches his legs and then reattaches them after the trip attempt. The rules clearly state that a legless creature can't be tripped, and there's nowhere in the rules that forbids detaching one's own legs. Voila!

;-)

+1.

Awesome response, equally absurd and also not addressed in the rules :)

While amusing, I would like to say that, tripping is covered in the rules. They state how tripping works(what actions it takes) and what creatures you cannot trip.

Tripping a prone target is different than a concept that is completely unmentioned in the rules. Namely how you remove your legs. I do not know of any abilities that allow you to remove limbs though(rules might be completely silent on this idea) One could find a way of course. Use an ax and cut them off(perhaps this would count as a coup de grace). But then putting them back on might be difficult. You would need a regenerate spell.

hogarth wrote:


But any argument predicated on "nothing (besides common sense) says that I can't!" is pretty weak and falls squarely into "ask your GM" territory.

but that is not what this is. Relatively specific rules already exist for trip. I would say that this idea is absolutely and flawlessly RAW. I would perhaps label it RAW* or conditionally RAW because there are 2 areas where a DM can and is supposed to step in and make decisions about this. How many free actions you can make. There "may" be a limit on how many free actions you can make in a turn. And in online posts, James Jacobs has said

Quote:


It's a GM call, then. Like so much else in the game.

I prefer to call it as "You can't trip someone who's already on the ground, because he's already there."

The effects of trip are to make someone prone. If they're already prone, why would you even bother? Makes no sense.

With regular tripping there is no benefit and thus he didn't see the point. He did see a value to retripping a prone target with ki throw because there was a benefit. With upending strike, a ranger gets a definite benefit. He might see value in using upending strike in this way like he did with ki throw. I do not know his exact opinions on this.

Rules forum poster's need to understand the difference between areas where the rules do not speak and areas where the rules allow for your sense of realism to be bent. This is the latter case.


hogarth wrote:


Well, I wouldn't go that far. In fact, I agree with thepuregamer when he says that it's possible (if not plausible) to imagine his interpretation (e.g. "juggling" an enemy in a video game) and it's not even that overpowered (considering that a skirmisher ranger only gets a few tricks per day).

But any argument predicated on "nothing (besides common sense) says that I can't!" is pretty weak and falls squarely into "ask your GM" territory.

Hey, it made me chuckle after reading the rest of the thread started to make my head hurt.

I appreciated the absurdity of your proposed solution, given the absurdity of the initial argument which basically boils down to... "I want to trip the prone guy!" At which point everyone around the table should look at the player and give him their best incredulous stares.

I don't see any plausibility. Video games are not a good source of plausibility.


I still don't understand how someone who is standing up from prone can be tripped and then has free movement to just keep standing up from prone with the same move action.


Sarrion wrote:
I still don't understand how someone who is standing up from prone can be tripped and then has free movement to just keep standing up from prone with the same move action.

D&D has conditions. Either you have the condition or you don't. There is no in between. When you are attempting to stand up you are trying to get rid of the prone condition. If you are tripped due to an AoO all it does is give you a condition that you already had so it has no affect on you.


Sarrion wrote:
I still don't understand how someone who is standing up from prone can be tripped and then has free movement to just keep standing up from prone with the same move action.

The same way someone who is casting a spell or disarming someone can still cast or disarm after taking their licks, just like the prone guy.

Also, waiting for a prone guy to stand up and knocking him back down would be a readied action.

EDIT: Oh yeah, the actual topic. You can't trip a prone person, for a reason oddly spelled out earlier. Their feet are not on the ground. So what would you be tripping their face, stomach? Wouldn't that be like tripping a snake or an OOZE?

RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32

Tripping an already prone person has already had input from James Jacobs

Can You Trip A Prone Person

James Jacobs wrote:
You can't trip someone who is prone. Just like you can't put a sleeping person to sleep, kill someone who's dead, or so on. This is a case where, I would hope, common sense would remove the need to write things down.

Though later on he agrees you can ki throw a already prone person.

Question wrote:
Would you say you can Ki Throw someone who was already prone then with a successful trip?
James Jacobs Reply wrote:
I would, yes, because the image of someone picking up someone else and throwing them in the context of a kung-fu fight is cool and logical and (in the context of said fantasy kung-fu fight) believable.


Davick wrote:
Sarrion wrote:
I still don't understand how someone who is standing up from prone can be tripped and then has free movement to just keep standing up from prone with the same move action.

Also, waiting for a prone guy to stand up and knocking him back down would be a readied action.

Well it could be a readied action or it could be an AoO since both can happen when someone tries to stand up. If we were going for realism, being hit as you about to stand up would have an impact on your ability to stand up. Apparently realism does not matter in that scenario. Strange how it matters sometimes and not others.


thepuregamer wrote:
Well it could be a readied action or it could be an AoO since both can happen when someone tries to stand up.

It has already been explained that the window to get off the AoO is while the person is still prone; to knock them back down after they stand up, you have to use some other type of action (and they're not at -4 AC for being prone anymore either).

While I agree that you can't successfully make a Trip maneuver on an opponent who is not being supported by legs (whether flying, already prone or legless), I don't think this combo is particularly broken since it relies on a very limited resource, namely daily uses of the ranger's tricks.


@wraithstrike - When standing up from prone do you take a -4 penalty to AC for still having the prone condition?


AvalonXQ wrote:
thepuregamer wrote:
Well it could be a readied action or it could be an AoO since both can happen when someone tries to stand up.

It has already been explained that the window to get off the AoO is while the person is still prone; to knock them back down after they stand up, you have to use some other type of action (and they're not at -4 AC for being prone anymore either).

And I have already explained that if we were discussing issues of realism, being hit(consider this the AoO used as the trip attempt) as you are about to stand up would have a major impact on your ability to stand up.

In pathfinder, realism often takes a secondary role. In pathfinder, an AoO comes before they actually stand up. They are still considered prone. If you trip them with the AoO, there is no effect because it resolves before the move action to stand up.

What I take issue with is that people sometimes want to use realism and sometimes they don't. It can be pretty inconsistent.


Sarrion wrote:
@wraithstrike - When standing up from prone do you take a -4 penalty to AC for still having the prone condition?

Yes, and that penalty also applies to the prone character's CMD so it is a good way to disarm them. Picking a weapon up even if both the character and the weapon are on the ground is still an AoO.


thepuregamer wrote:
AvalonXQ wrote:
thepuregamer wrote:
Well it could be a readied action or it could be an AoO since both can happen when someone tries to stand up.

It has already been explained that the window to get off the AoO is while the person is still prone; to knock them back down after they stand up, you have to use some other type of action (and they're not at -4 AC for being prone anymore either).

And I have already explained that if we were discussing issues of realism, being hit(consider this the AoO used as the trip attempt) as you are about to stand up would have a major impact on your ability to stand up.

In pathfinder, realism often takes a secondary role. In pathfinder, an AoO comes before they actually stand up. They are still considered prone. If you trip them with the AoO, there is no effect because it resolves before the move action to stand up.

What I take issue with is that people sometimes want to use realism and sometimes they don't. It can be pretty inconsistent.

I think balance in some cases is better than realism, but in what cases varies from person to person.

I don't like how people can just fall 1000 ft and then get up and walk away, even though I am glad falling damage has a cap on it.


Here's a bit of a different scenario. Say someone stands up from prone, and they provoke an attack of opportunity. if you bullrush that person do they lose their move action or do they simply move from the spot they are bullrushed to?


Sarrion wrote:
Here's a bit of a different scenario. Say someone stands up from prone, and they provoke an attack of opportunity. if you bullrush that person do they lose their move action or do they simply move from the spot they are bullrushed to?

I always saw a bullrush as something like what happens in football when the defensive lineman drives the offensive lineman back, but the rules only say you get to push them back.

Going strictly by RAW you can bullrush a prone person, however you can't bullrush as part of AoO because it is not rules legal. You could ready a bullrush though.

To answer the question they can still stand up according to the rules since the ready action(bull rush)does not take their action away.


Sarrion wrote:
Here's a bit of a different scenario. Say someone stands up from prone, and they provoke an attack of opportunity. if you bullrush that person do they lose their move action or do they simply move from the spot they are bullrushed to?

You will need to lay out some details first. Normally bull rushing can only be done as part of a charge(instead of a melee attack) or as a standard action.

If you want to explore this scenario, then we should assume this is a melee character who has shield slam which allows you to get a free bull rush attempt when you hit with a shield bash.

Though since all bull rush does is push you and you are pushed before the move action to stand resolves, I suspect that RAW they would still be able to stand up after the bull rush.


Yeah thepuregamer had the scenario right with the shield bash feat. Thanks for the insight guys.

Liberty's Edge

Here's a post from James Jacobs specifically about whether a prone target can be tripped...

Edit: If you disagree with his post, why not flag it for FAQ?


Heymitch wrote:

Here's a post from James Jacobs specifically about whether a prone target can be tripped...

Edit: If you disagree with his post, why not flag it for FAQ?

I don't think they are disagreeing with the actual ruling, just the realism aspect, kind of like how some people don't like paralyzed creatures getting reflex saves.


I don't think it's a faq worthy issue in the end, maybe having an errata on the prone condition which states that they are immune to trip attempts.

Scarab Sages

Or just ignore thepuregamer forevermore!!!

=D seriously dude you're causing strife. Just let it go or bring it to your GM (BTW i'm not responsible for when he beats you for trying this crap).


thepuregamer wrote:
Davick wrote:
Sarrion wrote:
I still don't understand how someone who is standing up from prone can be tripped and then has free movement to just keep standing up from prone with the same move action.

Also, waiting for a prone guy to stand up and knocking him back down would be a readied action.

Well it could be a readied action or it could be an AoO since both can happen when someone tries to stand up. If we were going for realism, being hit as you about to stand up would have an impact on your ability to stand up. Apparently realism does not matter in that scenario. Strange how it matters sometimes and not others.

Man all this bouncing between rules and realism and meshing them is getin' wonky.

To clarify, to wait for someone to stand up and then knock them back down would HAVE TO BE a readied action. The AoO would not knock them back down as they are prone until after the attack at which point they are standing.

I don't even know if there was actual confusion there, or if I'm just confused about the confusion now.

1 to 50 of 65 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Upending strike + Greater trip + Upending strike + Greater trip + ...etc All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.