Summon Swarm and spell range


Rules Questions


Is the swarm summoned by the summon swarm spell required to stay within the range of the spell? If I am level 4, the range would be 35 feet. Can the swarm only move 35 feet away from me or can it chase creatures where ever it wants until I stop concentrating?
If it has to remain within the range, does this mean it will stop when it reaches that range or could it end my spell prematurely by chasing a living creature outside of the range?
-dm


To my knowledge, the range on all summoning spells is simply the range of the initial appearance of what you summon. So you can place your newly summoned swarm into any square within 35' of you.

Once the summoned creature arrives, swarm or otherwise, it is free to move about the world however it wants. Your spellcasting ends when the swarm (etc.) arrives, so the range restriction ends with it.


From the description of the Conjuration school:

"The creature or object must appear within the spell's range, but it does not have to remain within the range."


hogarth wrote:

From the description of the Conjuration school:

"The creature or object must appear within the spell's range, but it does not have to remain within the range."

Man, It helps if I pay closer attention when I read things. :)

Thanks for both of your responses.

-dm

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summon Swarm and spell range All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions