Summoned demons and protection from evil


Rules Questions


When a demon summons another demon of the same species, does protection from evil ward against this new summoned demon? I would just like some clarification on this matter because it was an issue in our last session. Thanks!

Dark Archive

Cesare wrote:
When a demon summons another demon of the same species, does protection from evil ward against this new summoned demon? I would just like some clarification on this matter because it was an issue in our last session. Thanks!

Per the spell

Quote:
Third, the spell prevents bodily contact by evil summoned creatures. This causes the natural weapon attacks of such creatures to fail and the creatures to recoil if such attacks require touching the warded creature. Summoned creatures that are not evil are immune to this effect. The protection against contact by summoned creatures ends if the warded creature makes an attack against or tries to force the barrier against the blocked creature. Spell resistance can allow a creature to overcome this protection and touch the warded creature.

Pretty easy to answer.

1) is the new demon evil?
2) was it summoned?

If the answer to both of these is yes, then it does ward against the new summoned evil demon.

There is nothing really different about a demon that was summoned by a wizard/cleric/sorcerer/oracle/demon etc... Summoned = Summoned. :P

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Cesare wrote:
When a demon summons another demon of the same species, does protection from evil ward against this new summoned demon? I would just like some clarification on this matter because it was an issue in our last session. Thanks!

What exactly was the problem? seems very straight forward to me. Protection form evil does certain things against summoned Evil creatures, the Demon is summoning an evil creature....I am not seeing the problem..


Yeah, that's what I thought.

My players were fighting a bunch of vrocks who summoned other vrocks. They all had protection from evil on, so the summoned vrocks were relegated to shrieking and then using telekinesis. It was pretty easy to decide which vrock to attack because of this fact.

Also, when the summoning demon dies, does the summoned demon go poof as well?

Grand Lodge

Also note that creatures brought forth by a summoning spell lose access to any summon abilities they have.

Dark Archive

Cesare wrote:

Yeah, that's what I thought.

My players were fighting a bunch of vrocks who summoned other vrocks. They all had protection from evil on, so the summoned vrocks were relegated to shrieking and then using telekinesis. It was pretty easy to decide which vrock to attack because of this fact.

Also, when the summoning demon dies, does the summoned demon go poof as well?

Nope. That's like saying when I die, a house I built disappears. Once something is casted, it stays for its duration.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summoned demons and protection from evil All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.