Disintegrate & swallowed creatures


3.5/d20/OGL


Just wondering, although this situation has never come up:
Let's say a creature with swallow whole swallows Bob the Fighter. A couple of rounds later, the party wizard disintegrates the creature so that it turns to dust. What happens to Bob?


I'd give Bob a save also. If Bob blows the save "Poof!" Otherwise he would live, (if he could take the 1/2 damage)

Just my 2 cents, but I'm also a mean DM.

The Exchange

The target of a disintigrate spell "any creature struck by the ray". The dude in the stomach cannot be struck by the ray. "Only the first creature or object struck can be affected; that is, the ray affects only one target per casting" is also a quote from the spell description so clearly the answer is no, the dude in the stomach is not affected unless he is dead, then he becomes part of the creature, I would assume (stomach contents!).
Anyway, even the ticks and fleas on a creature would survive a disintigratation of a creature because the target is "one target".

FH


If its a bigger critter, I may make the swallowed guy take falling damage :)

Sczarni

Fake Healer wrote:


Anyway, even the ticks and fleas on a creature would survive a disintigratation of a creature because the target is "one target".

FH

theres a great description right there if the ray misses by one or something. "Your ray goes strait toward the monster, hits it and hits a big spot on its skin. the spot starts to turn to dust, then it moves and chitters at you before turning to dust"

The Exchange

I think zahnb's solution is reasonable. I don't really agree that you have no chance of being disintegrated because you are not being struck because you are being digested instead, it doesn't really feel right. Imagine disintegrating a dragon and all that remain is a small pile of dust and a giant pile of 6ft intestinal parasites - not very Hollywood, is it? I think that you should treat the guy on the inside as having been struck by the ray too. He gets a save, it's not automatic death.

Sovereign Court Contributor

I agree with Aubrey and Zahnb... I think that there should be a chnce the swallowed character is also disintegrated.

I would say that this would only happen if the monster is actually disintigrated by the spell, not if the damage was insufficient to kill it. And then the character would get a save.

I might even give them a bonus on the save, or give them something like a fortitude version of evasion; if they make the save, they take no damage.


ericthecleric wrote:
What happens to Bob?

Nothing. Just because Bob is inside the creature doesn't mean he's part of the creature (yet).


Vegepygmy wrote:
ericthecleric wrote:
What happens to Bob?
Nothing. Just because Bob is inside the creature doesn't mean he's part of the creature (yet).

Not exactly, Veg. Something /would/ happen to Bob. Bob would be freed. :)

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32

Xellan wrote:
Vegepygmy wrote:
ericthecleric wrote:
What happens to Bob?
Nothing. Just because Bob is inside the creature doesn't mean he's part of the creature (yet).
Not exactly, Veg. Something /would/ happen to Bob. Bob would be freed. :)

Agreed. A creature that is swallowed doesn't count as 'part of the creature' as long as it's still alive. If the creature died while within the creature's stomach before being disintegrated I would rule that the dead creature counts as 'food' and is therefore 'part' of the creature's digestive tract at that point.

Paizo Employee Director of Sales

Aubrey the Malformed wrote:
Imagine disintegrating a dragon and all that remain is a small pile of dust and a giant pile of 6ft intestinal parasites - not very Hollywood, is it?

Soooooo using that if this situation ever comes up an a game I'm running...


Cosmo wrote:
Aubrey the Malformed wrote:
Imagine disintegrating a dragon and all that remain is a small pile of dust and a giant pile of 6ft intestinal parasites - not very Hollywood, is it?
Soooooo using that if this situation ever comes up an a game I'm running...

Anybody else not able to see the original post Cosmo is quoting?

Greg

Paizo Employee Director of Sales

Aubrey the Malformed wrote:
I think zahnb's solution is reasonable. I don't really agree that you have no chance of being disintegrated because you are not being struck because you are being digested instead, it doesn't really feel right. Imagine disintegrating a dragon and all that remain is a small pile of dust and a giant pile of 6ft intestinal parasites - not very Hollywood, is it? I think that you should treat the guy on the inside as having been struck by the ray too. He gets a save, it's not automatic death.

My source, for any who cannot see it. :)


Interesting replies so far. Other similar situations:
Bob the Hapless Fighter is swallowed, and a party memmber casts the following: Holy Word (lets say it's a Huge fiend), Maze, or Trap the Soul.
Presumably, if Bob cuts himself out of the creature while it's Mazed, he ends up Mazed as well, for example.


I would probably only put the PC at risk of disintigration (requiring a Fort save) if I didn't like the player. Odds are the spellcaster doesn't like the swallowed player either, thus the choice in spells.

Got room for a new player at the table! :)


I think this is one of those "Magic doesn't work like science" questions. A creature that is alive and is a separate entity isn't part of another creature. They have free will, their own force of personality, what have you. Therefore, if magic affects a single creature, than as long as that creature is alive and a distinct creature from the one being targeted, nothing should happen to them.


Ummm. Right. You guys are mean. (Kidding, but still, a lot of anti-player sentiment it seems. Course this is me coming back from a weekish long hiatus.)

As per the SRD:

A disintegrated creature’s equipment is unaffected.
Only the first creature or object struck can be affected; that is, the ray affects only one target per casting.

So even if you count the swallowed PC as "gear" he STILL doesn't get disintegrated.


Yeah, I agree with you Black Bard in terms of RAW. And your right again....I'm a mean DM!!!! >:)

Sovereign Court Contributor

I always forget that disintegration doesn't affect gear anymore. That does swing my vote over to the swallowed character is unharmed side

Community / Forums / Gamer Life / Gaming / D&D / 3.5/d20/OGL / Disintegrate & swallowed creatures All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in 3.5/d20/OGL