Galfrey

maouse33's page

290 posts. Organized Play character for maouse.



1 to 50 of 147 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Dark Archive

So, the quick question is: Does the explosive bomb feature of the bomb from a Gun Chemist cause the 15 foot cone to be a 15 foot cone, or a 15 foot cone with another 5 feet around it with the splash of 10 feet?

The long form explanation:

Explosive Bomb: The alchemist’s bombs now have a splash radius of 10 feet rather than 5 feet.

Exploding Bullet*:gun chemist’s alchemical ordnance splashes adjacent targets as though it were a splash weapon.

Alchemical Ordnance (Su): If the gun chemist uses alchemical ordnance to make a scattering shot with a weapon with the scatter quality, each creature in the area instead takes additional fire damage equal to ... etc...

So you can shoot them with a bullet for a 10' radius splash (25 squares) or scatter shot and do what?> 6 or 7 squares (depending on a corner or side cone)? Or can you pick up the edges with 10 foot of splash and splash out (20 squares)?

The diagrams:
Normal Scatter
xxx
xx
x

Explosive bomb scatter (no target set on fire)
SSSSS
SXXXS
SXXS
SXS
SSS

Vesrus:
Normal splash
SSS
SXS
SSS

Explosive bomb splash (target is on fire if hit directly, no save)
SSSSS
SSSSS
SSXSS
SSSSS
SSSSS

I'm thinking, just as a GM call, I'm going with the Explosive Bomb Scatter. Thoughts?

Dark Archive

Is the negative levels from Enervation "damage" that gets the Orc Bloodline +1 and/ or Blood Havoc +1 per die bonus (with necromancy focus)? (I don't think dragon bloodline would affect it, but maybe there's a necromancy dragon blood?)

I mean, we're rolling dice. Is it "damage"?

So is Enervation 1d4+1 (or +2) and Energy Drain 2d4+2 (or +4)?

I can't seem to get to where they are damage, but it seems like they are a damage type of some sort.

Hmmm... after looking at it more, it seems you "bestow negative levels" as a CONDITION. Not damage. So the answer seems to be no.

Dark Archive

Mythic Legendary Item Undetectable reads: "This grants its bonded user the ability to become utterly undetectable while invisible. While invisible and in physical contact with this item, the bonded creature can’t be detected or scryed by any method."

Lvl 20 Hidden Master reads: "At 20th level, a ninja becomes a true master of her art. She can, as a standard action, cast greater invisibility on herself. While invisible in this way, she cannot be detected by any means, and not even invisibility purge, see invisibility, and true seeing can reveal her. She uses her ninja level as her caster level for this ability. Using this ability consumes 3 ki points from her ki pool. In addition, whenever the ninja deals sneak attack damage, she can sacrifice additional damage dice to apply a penalty to one ability score of the target equal to the number of dice sacrificed for 1 minute. This penalty does not stack with itself and cannot reduce an ability score below 1."

That's a bit of a text difference. Now, the way I've been running Legendary Undetectable is that you can't be detected, or scryed on - "because mythic" - by any means. However, things that cancel INVISIBILITY still make you visible; namely evocation (not scrying or divination) spells that cancel invisibility. They don't detect you, so much as they simply cancel the invisibility. That seemed to make sense until I'm pitting the party against a level 20 ninja who as Hidden Master. Which turns out to be "better than Undetectable".

So the verbiage is "utterly undetectable while invisible" versus "cannot be detected by any means, and not even invisibility purge, etc... can reveal them". Nothing in the first verbiage indicates that they can't be revealed with purges.

So I mean, besides screwing over the players with multiple save or die chances, do you think the reconciliation of these two abilities this way makes sense? Presumably a anti-magic field would nuke both abilities (unless they somehow had tech/natural invisibility).

Dark Archive

FAQ's DR applies to magic attacks that do
weapon type damage (bludgeoning, slashing, piercing)
"as if it were from a physical weapon."

DR = damage ignored from *NORMAL ATTACKS* = nonmagical sources
Normal means "non-magical"
Attacks means "things that do damage"

Negates riders if totally blocks damage

DR Doesn't Apply:
touch attacks
energy damage dealt with an attack
energy drains
poisons (inhaled, ingested, contact)
diseases (inhaled, ingested, contact)
spells, slas, energy attacks
non-magical fire

DR = invulnerability, tough hide, instant healing

JJ - states FAQ'd SR applies environmental damage
So does DR apply to NORMAL environmental damage?

JJ states it's just untyped damage.
Falling damage is UNTYPED.

Nothing in here says DR doesn't apply to untyped damage.

Applies to all damage, regardless of source, except what's after the slash.
Unless the DR entry says it doesn't apply.

Ergo, DR applies to Falling Damage, even IF it is untyped.

Is there an actual statement somewhere where it doesn't apply to environmental damage? Because I'm not finding that anywhere. Only that JJ says it's untyped, and a bunch of mysquotes about it not applying or changing to bludgeoning or some other thing. It doesn't have to change to typed. It applies to anything except whatever is after the slash. That means UNTYPED. It applies to untyped just like it was NOT slashing with DR 5/slashing.

Am I incorrect in my reading of this? Did I simply miss the part of the book where it says DR doesn't apply to environmental damage (it isn't under the DR, nor environmental sections).

Adding in this quote from JJ: "Spells and effects that do untyped damage are pretty rare in Pathfinder, since these spells are quite powerful since their damage can't be stopped by any form of immunity, resistance, or damage reduction." - Note he specifically says DR doesn't apply to the SPELLS that are untyped (neither do immunity or resistances). He specifically stated in another post that environmental damage do cold/heat damage where it seems to apply = countering the idea that untyped (well, badly described, let's be honest) environmental damage overcomes immunity and SR.

A) What is untyped damage. (Got a source for the definition?)
B) is untyped damage from a NORMAL (non-spell/magic source) different than magical untyped damage (seems to be based on the SR FAQ).

Dark Archive

FAQ's DR applies to magic attacks that do
weapon type damage (bludgeoning, slashing, peiercing)
"as if it were from a physical weapon."

DR = damage ignored from *NORMAL ATTACKS* = nonmagical sources
Normal means "non-magical"
Attacks means "things that do damage"

Negates riders if totally blocks damage

DR Doesn't Apply:
touch attacks
energy damage dealt with an attack
energy drains
poisons (inhaled, ingested, contact)
diseases (inhaled, ingested, contact)
spells, slas, energy attacks
non-magical fire

DR = invulnerability, tough hide, instant healing

JJ - states FAQ'd SR applies environmental damage
So does DR apply to NORMAL environmental damage?

JJ states it's just untyped damage.
Falling damage is UNTYPED.

Nothing in here says DR doesn't apply to untyped damage.

Applies to all damage, regardless of source, except what's after the slash.
Unless the DR entry says it doesn't apply.

Ergo, DR applies to Falling Damage, even IF it is untyped.

Is there an actual statement somewhere where it doesn't apply to environmental damage? Because I'm not finding that anywhere. Only that JJ says it's untyped, and a bunch of mysquotes about it not applying or changing to bludgeoning or some other thing. It doesn't have to change to typed. It applies to anything except whatever is after the slash. That means UNTYPED. It applies to untyped just like it was NOT slashing with DR 5/slashing.

Am I incorrect in my reading of this? Did I simply miss the part of the book where it says DR doesn't apply to environmental damage (it isn't under the DR section).

Dark Archive

I'm just wondering how one would rule the "double the weight" mechanics of large items versus the +2 Str for a size change.

Example: Medium Character with Full Plate 50 pounds. And other gear totaled up to be right at his STR light load. Let's say 18 Str with 50 pounds of additional gear.

Size change to Large, he's now carrying 100 pounds of armor and (presumably) 50 pounds of gear. 150 pounds. Str 20 is just 133 max light load though, so now they're over burdened?

The reason this came up was more because I have a player who's race building with a large starting character who doesn't want to be overburdened every second of every day. They can shape change into small or medium humanoids. So they could put on lighter gear from say a small creature, and then shape change.

The other issue with a starting character is cost as well. Double price for large? I'll take a medium weapon and armor please. And change on up to large after donning it.

The weight may be the same as large, but do I keep the price break? All knowing that when anything is removed it turns back to medium size if bought that way.

And the other thing they have is a large bow (double cost and weight)... which, when fired from a small frame, does large damage as it reverts to regular size. Which is a cool effect.

Thoughts?

Dark Archive

OK. So the "closest we have" to an explanation of how rage powers work is "they don't work from other sources, and the Feat "Extra Rage Power" is another source."

That part is fine. So what happens if, say, we have a Spell Warrior Skald who's doing the following:

3rd level takes Celestial Totem (lesser)
6th level takes Celestial Blood (lesser)
7th level FEAT takes Celestial Blood
9th level takes Celestial Totem
At 12th level, takes Celestial Blood, Greater.

Now, that is a GREATER ability shared with everyone who gets their Weapon Song. But they don't get the Celestial Blood from the FEAT. So no resistance from the 7th level feat, but they DO get the benefits of the GREATER blood?

That is my understanding of it, because the only requirement to BENEFIT from it is it must be active (the people gaining the ability don't have to qualify by having the rage ability themselves).

Concerns? Abuse? Comments?

TLDR: Can a Skald skip to handing out (with spell song) GREATER rage powers if they use feats (other sources) to take the lessers?

Dark Archive

So the Spell Warrior Weapon Song states: "If an affected weapon is not magical, at least a +1 enhancement bonus must be added before any other special abilities can be." Implying/ RAW stating that if it IS magical, it does not require the +1 Enhancement bonus.

So that implies that a magic weapon, like an aimed decanter of endless water, can take on the weapon song bonus of say, Flaming. So you can have Flaming Water (1d6 fire, 1d4 water damage). No attack roll needed. Higher levels you can add two or three elements, or ghost touch, etc...

So is there a better "auto hit" weapon out there that can be weaponized/ boosted by Weapon Song?

Dark Archive

Spellsong:

Spoiler:
You can blend the power of your performance and spellcasting.

Prerequisites: Cha 13, bardic performance class ability, able to cast 1st-level spells.

Benefit: You can combine your bardic performance and your spellcasting in two ways. First, you can conceal the activity of casting a bard spell by masking it in a performance. As a swift action, you may combine your casting time of a spell with a Perform check. Observers must make a Perception or Sense Motive check opposed by your Perform check to realize you are also casting a spell. This uses 1 round of your bardic performance ability, regardless of the spell’s casting time.

Second, as a move action, you can use 1 round of bardic performance to maintain a bard spell with a duration of concentration. You can cast another spell in the same round you are using bardic magic to maintain concentration; if you do this, your concentration on the maintained spell ends when you end the bardic performance the spell is part of.

Question: I know it's been repeatedly debated on how this actually works, but my question is slightly different - if you continually cast new spells which are ALSO concentration spells, can you get, say 20+ concentration spells going with your performance?

It seems like the "concentration" part of the spell is "folded into" the performance, so given enough BP rounds, you could fold in a whole litany of spells with this feat.

(also, it appears like you can then be the "only class" (I say this because a bunch get this ability) that can cast more than one concentration spell at a time)

Reasonable reply: It costs 1 move and 1BP each round to maintain the first concentration spell. It costs 1 standard action to maintain the second concentration spell. So at most, you could have 2 concentration spells going UNLESS you were Hasted, at which point, because you get an extra move action, you could have three going at a cost of 2 move, 2BP, and a Standard to maintain all three. This ("logic") seems to imply that the "folded in" spell still costs a move and a BP each round to maintain, despite the verbiage that it ends when the performance ends implying that it is a one time cost.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The setup is this:
Gloomblade level 9+
Improvised Weapon Master (Sledge) - grants the Gloomblade the ability to summon a shadow sledge.
Shikigami style tree (3 feats).
So the weapon, just as is, is a 6d6 +2 Weapon, with a let's say Frost or Ghost Touch added as the special ability at 9th.

Enter the Gloves of Improvised Might. Just +1 Enhancement. But with the THROWN quality.

The question is: would these abilities stack, like fire arrows +1 and a cold bow +1, or amulet of mighty fists with keen (because you can do slashing with fists, and it only applies to slashing fist attacks) and a elemental fist ability to do fire or something.

It seems to me logical that the abilities would stack (to a +10 total enhancement), but I also realize that this is "cheating" the cost of adding additional magic qualities to a melee weapon. But other than the cheese factor, is this legal? How do things like this stack? Do you treat it like ammo, or like two separate magic weapons - even though it is two magic effects adding to one magic weapon?

I expect this is similar to a magus using a magic weapon as well, but in that instance it specifically states that they can add xyz to it. Was this intended to be done with melee weapons like it is with ranged weapons and their ammos if you can get magical qualities from multiple sources to affect one weapon?

I guess another example would be simple spell effects on weapons that add fire or what not. This is above and beyond the fact that they might be a +5 Holy Avenger... making it a FLAMING +5 Holy Avenger. So I think I have my answer (they stack, even, perhaps, beyond the normal +10 limit). If you use a scabbard of keen edges on that same sword, for instance, it is now a KEEN +10 total weapon, making it a +11 total bonus weapon, and with the heat metal spell it would even do 1d4 (or whatever) fire damage to boot, making it effectively a +12 weapon.

While exploitive, does this sound reasonable then, to expect the Gloves to stack with the Gloomblade's normal weapon enhancements for a improvised weapon? Thoughts? Any RAW on this sort of combination?

Dark Archive

How do multiple familiars' abilities stack? Say I get a tattooed familiar, then a tumor familiar: Does it get the ability to disconnect from the tattoo form as a move (it's own) or does it now take a move action on the part of the alchemist? Does it get fast healing 5 from the Alchemist side while attached? If I have a carnivalist rogue, does it get Sneak Attack if it is my second or third familiar type added?

Because of the nonstandard wording on these familiars: The carnivalist stacks with the sorcerer, which only stacks with wizard and witch, and what stacks with alchemist tumor familiar? I understand that under the familiar section it says "they all stack together, regardless of the wording" but does that mean all their weird abilities stack, and how so? (see above regarding the detachment issue).

"Levels of different classes that are entitled to familiars stack for the purpose of determining any familiar abilities that depend on the master’s level." - this indicates all the abilities do, in fact, stack.

Dark Archive

Since Shatter Defense states:

Any shaken, frightened, or panicked opponent hit by you this round is flat-footed to your attacks until the end of your next turn. This includes any additional attacks you make this round.

And NOTHING in it states ANYTHING about hitting someone at all (just your attacks)...
why do people insist that you have to actually hit someone FIRST for this to work?

It seems like the qualifying condition is that they are shaken, frightened, or panicked. Not hit.

Am I reading this wrong? I don't think I am, but every "interpretation" I've read reads in some nonsense about needing to impart a hit AFTER someone is shaken, frightened, or panicked. Nothing in the ability mentions getting hit.

Examples:

An ally uses Intimidate to scare a foe. They're shaken. Shatter defense gives the benefit versus the shaken foe.

You hit someone with curmodgeon smash, enforcer, or bullying blow and get a free intimidate; your foe is now shaken or worse. Each additional attack is versus a shaken, frightened, or panicked foe, so gets the Shatter Defense benefits.

I don't see how so many people read the "plain English" and added in "but you gotta hit them first" because of the name of the ability, and poor wording?

Am I wrong, RAW? Is there a FAQ stating the wording was meant to include "after you hit them"? Is that just the interpretation of "hit by you" in the Feat (as opposed to "after you hit them" which would be a better wording)?

Which one fixes it:

"Any shaken, frightened, or panicked opponent is flat-footed to your attacks until the end of your next turn, after they are hit by you once this turn. This includes any additional attacks you make this round."

"Any shaken, frightened, or panicked opponent attacked by you this round is flat-footed to your attacks until the end of your next turn. This includes any additional attacks you make this round."

Dark Archive 2/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Do players have access to Uncommon spells of their level from the CRB?

Seems like a pretty simple question that I can't find an answer to after searching for a few flipping hours in the USELESS - NAY MORE THAN USELESS Guide to organized play. (I think I read every html link, but who knows, it's a spider web of horror)

Also: we aren't using fame any more... and Reputation is replaced with ONLINE PP ... but then there are TIERS for boons? Do we get the boons on the TIER chart? Or do we have to buy them with PP?

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

So my question is direct to a specific combination, but probably applies in other situations as well:

Sorcerer, Tattooed Sorcerer Archetype:

Familiar Tattoo (Su)

A tattooed sorcerer gains a familiar as an arcane bond, as a wizard equal to her sorcerer level. Her sorcerer levels stack with any wizard or witch levels she possesses when determining the powers of her familiar—this ability does not allow her to have both a familiar and a bonded item.

Wizard, Exploiter Archetype:

Arcane Reservoir (Su)

At 1st level, the exploiter wizard gains the arcanist’s arcane reservoir class feature. The exploiter wizard uses his wizard level as his arcanist level for determining how many arcane reservoir points he gains at each level.

This ability replaces arcane bond.

So what we have is an "Arcane Bond, that stacks with LEVELS" from the Sorcerer, and no "Arcane Bond" ability on the WIZARD LEVELS. So do they still stack?

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

DC to ID a magic item is 15+Caster Level.

So let's look at a bag of Holding type I: 15+9 = 24.

Versus a Bag of Devouring: 15+17=32. With the stipulation that if the person doesn't exceed the DC by 10, all they get is the original purpose of the item. Meaning you need a 42! to ID a Bag of Devouring.

Seems like there is a "pretty grey line" between 24 and 42. Like, how does that work? I'm considering making it a DC 34 instead (the DC of the original item +10).

What is actually correct? The DC of the cursed item +10 or the original item +10?

Dark Archive

Ok, so the Busker ability at 9th level, Inventive Juggler (Ex):

At 9th level, a busker masters unconventionally dangerous juggling techniques. While maintaining this stunt, the busker can use a thrown weapon (even an improvised one) to threaten spaces as though he were using a reach weapon. At 12th level and every 3 levels thereafter, the busker threatens squares up to 10 feet farther away with thrown weapons.

If I'm reading this correctly, they threaten everything at 10' at 9th level. And threaten everything from 10-20' at 12th. And everything 10=30' at 15th. And finally everything from 10-40' at 18th.

So what happens when you combine this with Lunge, Longarm, and other threat range abilities... most notably "whirlwind attack"?

I am able to make a MELEE attack against everything I THREATEN. How is that done with thrown weapons? I mean, here I am, out at 50' (on offense, 45' defensively). Do I roll MELEE attacks for all my thrown attack weapons?

I know this is obviously broken and poorly written. Is there any help for the eager who see this as the "ultimate combat patrol" ability? Also, must you combine it with quick draw to keep drawing out enough ranged weapons to make this work?

I mean, even as a ranged threating attack, patrolling 45' means a 19x19 square area (361-9=352) of movement that you could strike into. And that's just the combat reflexes where you use your dex to hit 10 people coming at you... what are you still juggling at that point to keep it up? it's a Bardic SU, so it's magical... do the weapons return because you're juggling them off people's faces?

It's poorly written and worded, as to how you combine it with things like whirlwind attack. Only melee weapons have threat ranges typically. This makes thrown weapons have a threat range. Which means when combined with "anything within threat range" you get to use it? So can you attack 352 "adjacent" enemies in a single turn?

And then what happens when the Two Handed Thrower feat gets involved? "If you also have the Quick Draw feat, you can throw two-handed weapons at your full normal rate of attacks." Now you're throwing 350 2H Tetsubos...

And I'm not 100% on the whole "whirlwind attack" with reach weapons and threats with natural attacks... can you combine the two in a single round? Ie. Bite or claw 5' and poke people 10' with a longspear in the same whirlwind attack? You threaten everyone within 10' (5' with natural attacks such as bite and IUC; 10' with spear... and then add in longarm for 15', lunge for 20'... and that's just normal with melee attacks, but pretty clear - it's either 10-20' or it's within 20', but different attack rolls based on weapon used to threaten).

The craziness of 50' threat range with thrown weapons, but doing melee attacks with them is a bit odd.

Dark Archive

I recently made a character for my wife which wasn't intending to be as great a healer as it turned out she would be some day. Has anyone else come across a healer combination that exceeds any Cleric's wildest dreams?

Her healer:
Crossblooded sorcerer: orc/phoenix
Trait: Metamagic Master (Acid Splash)
1st Level Feat: Elemental Spell

Now she can Fire Splash for (1d3+1)/2 damage every round (1-2 points, not super, but decent for a continuous ability).

How did I make this an UBER HEALER? Well, originally she wanted to be a Mesmerist. So now, at 4th level, and every 3 levels after, she adds a Painful Stare 1d6+1.5 (basically) to this.

So at 4th level she'll be healing (1d3+1d6+2)/2. at 5-6th it will be (1d3+1d6+3)/2. And when she caps the "damage" from painful stare at 18th level mesmerist / 19th level, she'll be healing (1d3+6d6+10)/2 every round.

That's 8-24 healing a round. Basically forever. 6 player party with 200+ HP each? Sure, it will take 5-15 minutes, but ALL HEALED. And ready to continue, rather than "out of healing spells."

So how's this compare to other healers? I don't really know. But I liked the combination when I realized the potential. Basically at 4th level she has "fast healing 2-5" out of combat.

I'll add that this also allows a NO SR varying element spell touch attack (short range, granted) at 1d3+6d6+10, forever.

She can do Intense Stare to boost this another 3d6 by 18th level as well. So that's (1d3+9d6+10)/2 (10-34) healing, or the same not halved attack.

Thoughts?

Dark Archive

5 people marked this as a favorite.

Just double checked my 2e character (who's 4th level), and counted its gold (about 300). And went over its Chronicles. Not a lot on it to buy, magic item wise. So I thought, I'll go look at what is available.

Utter trash. Every item. Utter trash.

I mean, in society, he can only buy level 4 / 6 anyway. But omg, why bother with any of it. Utterly disgusting, useless, utter trash.

That is all. Feel free to delete this if you want. Or add to the complaint. Whatever. I don't care. Magic items in 2e are just trash.

In particular: Who was high when they designed the pricing scheme of Bags of Holding? I can spend an extra 150 gp to get double the capacity? Or I could have just spent HALF the gold for the same capacity.

BOH 1 - 1 bulk, 25 bulk capacity. 75 gp
BOH 2 - 1 bulk, 50 bulk capacity. 300 gp

Are you high? Why wouldn't I buy 4 of the type 1, and stuff three of them in the first one?

Dark Archive

Ok. So here's the situation: My Wizard (200 pounds, full gear) wants to jump inside a bag of holding (250+ pound limit, depending on bag type), have his automaton (possibly polymorphed into something with fingers like a monkey) place the bag into his handy haversack. And then Plane Shift with the 5 pound handy haversack.

20 pound side pouches: limit of a type 1 BoH.
80 pound main pouch: limit of 1750 pounds of BoH. (basically).

But what if we further nest BoH up one more step? A Type 4 BoH could hold 25 more type 4s. And that would mean the familiar could take along 37500 pounds, basically a small army (185 200 pound persons).

So what happens to the "cease to function" people in these instances. They are in a plane, inside a plane, that can't be reached until the outer plane is opened is my understanding. It's not that they cease to exist. It isn't even that they stop moving. Is there anything stating what happens to people inside such a thing? I know if something inside pokes a hole in it it wreaks the whole thing and they all spill out.

But meanwhile, the automaton can take a small army across planes for the small small price of 260,000 gp.

Now, let's say that someone wants to start a business of Plane Shifting... It's normally a level 7 spell. And can only take 8 people. So taking 184 people is like casting it 23 times.

Cost of a ticket? For normal plane shifting it would be 7th level spell casting /8. For this, it can be anything less, up to 1/23rd the cost (well, actually even less since it's a familiar doing it for free once a week).

2275 gp / 9 = ~250 gp for the normal scroll. (Spellcaster cost would be 13th level * 7th level * 10 gp * 2 castings = 1820 gp/8 = ~235 gp)

So if you sold "rides" for 25 gp once a week, with an average of 150 transported persons, that would be 3750 gp per week "profit." So paying for the bags would be a breakeven of 69.3 weeks. (Half if you craft them yourselves). So it's feasible you could start a small business doing this. And let's face it, most people can afford 25 gp to go exploring another plane as a "fun adventure." Double the rate for return trips, of course. LOL.

Dark Archive

Does Stadows of Fear apply against the first attack on EACH opponent suffering a fear affect or just the first attack, period? The way it reads implies it's against each opponent who's feared, if you hit multiple feared opponents such as through cleave, AoOs drawn by movement when frightened, etc...

Thoughts?

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

At 5th level, when using a 3rd-level or higher Wizard scroll as a scroll shield, the scrollmaster can choose to reduce its enhancement bonus (to a minimum of a +1 enhancement bonus) to give it any of the following shield properties: ghost touch, light fortification, moderate fortification. Adding any of these properties consumes an amount of bonus equal to the property’s cost. The scrollmaster must know the prerequisite spell or spells to craft the shield property in question (for example, he must know limited wish to be able to give his scroll shield the fortification property).

Ghost Touch armor is a +3 bonus, so 8th level spell scroll.
Light Fortification requires a limited wish - 7th level spell.
Which means you need to be 13th level to use the ability / know the spell.

Or can you KNOW it, but not be able to CAST it?

Likewise, Ghost Touch for armor requires an Etherealness spell... level 9. So you need to be 17th level to use a scroll like that... what, perceptively, allows ANY 5th level character to use anything from the 5th level notes on the ability?

Can't be used until 13th and 17th level is not a LEVEL 5 ability...

Dark Archive

Does adding the Metamagic Aquatic Spell to Invisibility make it work like it does on land (normally, 50% concealment, can't be sensed with vision). Or does it work (normally) like it did under water? Ie. 20% concealment and displaced water body.

Dark Archive

Ok. I've got a whole list of improvised weapons from various places. I've got lots of archetypes that do funky things. I've got the shikigami style tree.

So to clarify something from one of my players:
Master Tinker does not allow you to craft tools as improvised weapons. That was my ruling. And it is actually based on something COMPLETELY different.

Caster Level. An Alchemist has formulae that they make extracts with. Specifically it states that their character level acts as CASTER LEVEL for these extracts. But they don't GET a Caster Level (for craft feats, or whatever).

Likewise, everywhere I am reading improvised weapons ACT AS weapons. Which means they AREN'T. Just like Caster Level isn't Character Level for alchemy.

This seems to logically track with all the wording.

Most debates on here have stated Magic Weapon and such don't work on them, but there's never a great explanation. And that they can't be crafted as weapons, because then they're not improvised, and circular logic ensues. But I think this above logic trail is a better explanation than a circular logic debate.

Thoughts? Does this explain it well enough that you'd agree? Is there actually a FAQ on this?

Dark Archive

Multiclass character: Tattooed Sorcerer + Exploiter Wizard.

The tattooed sorcerer gets a tattoo familiar, and it states the levels stack with wizard levels.

Exploiter wizard gets exploits instead of a bond (familiar or otherwise).

Do levels still stack for the familiar? Technically RAW, nothing says they don't, even though this would be like stacking with any other class without the Bond Item/Familiar in RAI.

Add to that, that the exploiter can take a familiar as a bond (but cannot have both a familiar and bond from two exploits...)... so can an exploiter wizard get a bond item if the Familiar comes from another class?

So I guess two/three questions: Do levels stack even if you lack the class ability due to archetype? Can you get both bonded item and familiar by stacking these two archetypes? And if not, is familiar exploit a way to "regain" the Familiar level stacking if question 1 is a "no, they don't stack without the class feature."?

Dark Archive

Just so I have this clearly in mind and sorted for all available weapon size categories... this is correct?

Massive Weapons:

At 3rd level, a titan mauler becomes skilled in the use of massive weapons looted from her titanic foes.

She can use two-handed weapons meant for creatures one size category larger, but the penalty for doing so is increased by 4. However, the attack roll penalty for using weapons too large for her size is reduced by 1, and this reduction increases by 1 for every three levels beyond 3rd (to a minimum of 0).

This ability replaces trap sense.

In Plain English:
Oversize 2H weapon is -4. This includes BOWS and melee weapons.

Large 1H weapon wielded as a 2H Medium weapon is -1. (-2 size +1 MW bonus = -1 total)

2H Medium weapon is a -2 in one hand (Jutongrip).

Large 1H weapon wielded by Medium Creature in 1H (Jutongrip) is -3. (1 size (-2+1) + -2 (Jutogrip))

A Huge Light weapon wielded as a 2H weapon is a -3 to a medium creature. (-4 for 2 sizes (+)-1/3lvls, including 3rd)

Huge Light weapon wielded as a 2H weapon in 1H is a -5 to a medium creature (Jutongrip).

Huge 1H Weapon wielded as a 2H oversize weapon is a -7 to a medium creature (MW).

Gargantuan light weapons as a oversize (Large) 2H weapon at -9 to medium creature (MW).

Is that pretty much every combo, and are the stacked minuses correct (As far as I could tell this was right)

Dark Archive

Ok, so I've made a tattooed sorcerer. At 7th level his figment familiar can get its second evolution point. This leads to the possibility of it giving one evolution point to the sorcerer.

Not a huge problem. While it's out. But when it changes shape and goes back to tattoo form it loses its SU (manifest dreams). But the evolution given with share evolution lasts until the familiar(Eidolon) is dispelled or sent back to its home plane.

Does the sorcerer keep the evolution until it can touch the familiar? Or does he lose it?

The "shape change" effect of the tattoo familiar would seem it would be just like if you changed it with baleful polymorph or something else that gets rid of SU abilities... So the "gifted evolution" would stay?

Dark Archive

Ok. So I know the spell says "take one type of thing and make something out of it"...

However, both of these feats allow you 1gp and 100gp effectively "free" material components. So what is the limit when using these free material components?

Can I, for instance, use False Focus to create 100gp diamond(s x3?).

Can i, for instance, eschew materials to make a club out of thin air?

Curious, as the feat basically allows any material component to be "free".

Thoughts... Thoughts on how broken this is?

Ps. False Focus directly affects 60 spells level 0-8, so it sort of matters, if daily casings can be used to combine to affect others as well (combine 5 castings worth of diamonds with another one for a limited wish component, etc...)

Dark Archive 2/5

Ok, my normal zapper starts out;
Crossblooded sorcerer orc/Draconic 2 levels.
At 1st level I do spell focus: evocation and spell specialization (burning hands, snowball, shocking grasp - whatever kind of zapper they're gonna be).

Magic knack and precocious spellcaster by 2nd level (I play 1st level with a CL boost trait in place of magic knack, or a +1d4 damage adder to hit 5dx +10 total)

anyway. At 3rd, I'm dipping into wizard (scroll master being my favorite).

They get scribe scroll replaced with spell focus.

Question: if I already have that feat, do I HAVE to take it again as a bonus? Can I train it out? Can I train it out of my first level feat slot from being human? Or am I stuck having 2 spell focus feats because the first level one is a pre req for spell specialization?

Spell focus
Spell specialization
Spell focus (Again)
elemental focus

That's the third level load out. I'd love to have the first spell focus feat slot back. But is that PFS legal under retaining rules?

Dark Archive

Does it affect targets that get splashed on a miss? Does it affect targets that get hit? It says that only the target takes it, but not when it's actually applied... When ruled by those at affected, yes, but not really otherwise.

Or maybe it does... Somewhere...

Dark Archive

Ok. So you annimated your undead. You constructed your golem. Now what?

The various sources state you can command them to do "stuff." What language do you have to use? Can you use sign language? Can you use ancient Osirion even if the guy you just animated was a Tengu who only spoke "bird"?

And then, of course, can you command them to deliver messages to people, even though they have no language? (The only mindless creature in the first three beastiary books that even has a language entry is a flesh golem, and it states: none)

if you command a creature with no language to use a command word item, can they repeat the command word? Skeletons can get up and walk around without muscle, but not repeat a message? Remember, they don't have a 0 int. They have NO int. Two drastically different things. In fact NO int behaves statistically like an int of 10 (insofar as it gives a +0 bonus, not a -5)

you can command them to enter deadly combat and fight effectively, but they can't repeat a command word? Is that right? Or are they your puppet? And you can make them dance and sing for your amusement?(granted, very poorly)

my only hint is with clockworks that are mindless, but still talk in some modules... But the one I'm recalling (RotRL) was semi- sentient... Anyone know of other examples of clockwork that talk? A solid example of a mindless talker would be what I'm looking for.

I really want more information from Geb!!!

Dark Archive 2/5

Kraken Caller is apparently pfs legal.
My current 122 crit at 2nd level build character (scythe barb alc) was viable and fine. Dealt nice damage and is now 4th. I am going to make him even worse via Kraken Caller 8 levels + Shaping focus, for the druid spells and 6 tentacle attacks + Claw claw bite and unarmed strikes for regular attacks, but the question I asked myself was, can I do better at making a monster?

I have an Aasimar boon. I'm considering using that to take an angel blooded small alc2 barb1 druid8 rogue1 for 3 primary nat attacks, 6 tentacle, +9 bab (so 2 IUS) and, of course, when flanking, 2d6 extra Sneak Attack.

Using my other 12th level character as a reference, I ended up with about 100k gp. So spending wise a +5 amulet of mighty fists is kind of out. A +4 would also be cash taxing. So a +1, with two elemental d6s is probably where its at.

Using the aasimar small, I can take a rogue talent that lets me treat foes as flat footed by sharing their square. Thus ensuring the SA on each strike (most of the time).

And at 13th level add two wing attacks.

So I'm.looking at bab +14 at 20th, with a +2 trait bonus, +1 race bonus (I think), and a bonus from wildblood barbarian archetype. So +18 bab basically. Now, add a +6 Str belt, and rock the rage and mutagens for 36 Str. +13 damage bonus.

So 3 IUS at +18/+13/+8, 3 primary nat at +18, 8 secondary for +13.

Could it be better? Legally? I don't have a payroll boon, and trading one tail for two wing attacks doesn't seem that decent. Most of the damage is coming from # of attacks, after all.

1d3/1d4/1d6 +14 or +7, +2d6 SA, +2d6 elemental times 14. Though I realize at 20th I'll probably be getting the +5 amulet and another 2d6 elemental per whack. As well as 5d6 SA.

Dark Archive 2/5

Just had this question come up regarding the third option:

It has five check boxes and states: "Restorative Wand: you gain a wand of cure light wounds with 5 charges." Value 0gp, use with a healer for no UMD check (paraphrased).

The way it was explained to me by my VL was one check per wand. 25 charges.

Online discussing it in a FB page, they claimed the checks were to keep track of the 5 charges.

I can easily see it either way, given the nature of boon sheets.

So is it a 1PP boon (half a normal wand) or a 1/5 PP boon. 5 total charges.

Any official take on it?

Not game breaking either way, just curious.

Dark Archive 2/5

First question: do chronicle boons bonuses affect your day job? I know this seems silly to ask, but they aren't listed on page 36 under the permanent bonuses that count. I presume they must (otherwise what's the point of chronicle sheet boons).

One shot boon bonuses that specifically say they affect day jobs probably also ignore this lack of listing?

Second(ish) question: if I get a bonus in the Grand Lodge of Absalom, and it happens to affect a skill that I can use for a day job because of a chronicle or vanity, can I ignore the role playing "in Absalom" part, in effect, to get the boon bonus. Or rather, does it matter where I take my day job? Can I take wherever I want (in Absalom where I get my bonus)?

Sorry if this is in the wrong place.

Additional question: do books count as permanent bonuses if used for day jobs? They are circumstance bonuses, but you could always use them...

Dark Archive

Ok, so I've read the threads back and forth regarding spell storing and whether they take a touch attack roll. I'm off the opinion they do. Not only because a "free hit" seems bogus, ignores the crit chance for touch spells, and basically breaks the game, BUT ALSO because "what about SR?"

I mean you still have to penetrate SR. So if you already hit, you roll to hit SR. So NOW it takes another roll?

No, it was always as if the wielder had cast the spell. Their touch attack. Their SR penetration. The items spell. I don't see why that's so hard to grasp.

Thoughts? Anyone have a link to a FAQ on this?

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Just curious what everyone's favorite, actually used, shenanigans have been. We were trying to out shenanigans the rogue/sorcerer/monk build in our last session and my magus/sorcerer hit up on the following (after a 10d6+20 lightning bolt): cast true strike and move to provoke. Take the hit. True strike his spell storing armor's 10d6+20 shocking grasp (acid damage). With the 5% chance of auto confirming the crit (because its +31 vs touch at his level). I really need to get improved critical for shocking grasp, but that's another day. I thought it was a cute way to get two spells off without a quickened rod. What have you done in game?

Ps. Another of my favorite true strike shenanigans is to use it to ignore mirror images. "I close my eyes." Grants them 50% concealment, which true strike ignores, but ignores the mirror images because a visual figment.

Dark Archive 2/5

So I did some number crunching and I'm pretty sure you can get to level 19 with only playing Phantom Phenomena, Silverhex Chronicles (1 hour each, because meh) and either Beyond the Halflight Path or From the Crypt of the Righteous Repose (at level 7.2).

If you play through (or GM) Rise of the Rune Lords, Curse of the Crimson Throne, and King Maker in "campaign mode" sessions (without following any rules from society, actually) you can get a chronicle for each section. All total, the only level it leaves out is level 7 to 8, which, as I eluded to above, is filled in with those three scenarios.

So for 6 hours of PFS time, and taking your time at home, you can obtain a level 19 character and retire...

Are there limits that I am missing when you run all parts of an AP in order with non-PFS rules? And you could do it in PFS as well, of course.

My only question regarding this is if we need a legal table to play through all of it? Or if society rules don't apply, can 2 players play 2 characters each? How much "homebrew" can you do and still obtain the chronicle sheets?

Also, is there anything that gets a character to level 20? In PFS?

Math:
level 1: silverhex, phantom --> 1.2
CotCT 1.2-->2.2
KM 2.2-->3.2
RotR 3.2--/-->5.2
KM 5.2-->6.2
CotCT 6.2-->7.2
1/2LP or ftToRR 7.2-->8
RotR 8-->9
CotCT 9-->10
KM 10--/-->12
CotCT 12-->13
RotRL 13-->14
CotCT 14-->15
KM 15-->16
RotRL 16-->18
CotCT 18-->19

Dark Archive

I know this was "decided" on 2011, but was there any good reason for Accelerated Drinker to not work on extracts already held in the hand of an alchemist.

The text reads "An extract is “cast” by drinking it, as if imbibing a potion—the effects of an extract exactly duplicate the spell upon which its formula is based, save that the spell always affects only the drinking alchemist."

I mean, ok, it takes a standard action to "activate" it? I guess? But a potion of the exact same spell only takes a move action to "activate"? I just makes little to absolutely no sense given the text.

Thoughts (ps. This isn't a "I want it to work that way" thread, it is a "it literally says its activated just like a potion so why did they decide 8 years ago it isn't the same????" Thread)

Dark Archive

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Ok so there is a rogue talent ability that lets you make bombs.
And there is a 4th level alchemist ability that lets you strap bombs on a piece of ammunition.

The bombs made by the rogue are equal to his sneak attack.
The bombs made by the bomb class feature are alchemist level.

So if they can make a 7d6 sneak attack bomb and throw it, but instead use the discovery that lets them strap it to ammo, and are firing from hiding (invisible or whatever) can they sneak attack/bomb for 14d6 total?

Now 9d6 (dip in snakebite striker brawler for 16th level 9th SA d6) and 4 levels alchemist is about as good as this would get, so 18d6 total to one crossbow bolt (with snippet goggles, from 1200 feet).

If it would work. I'm not sure you have to get rid of those bombs when you pick up alchemist, but I am sure you need to keep the bomb class feature to pick up that discovery.

Thoughts?

Dark Archive

Ok. I understand that it is a class that can work well. What I am looking at is the elemental overflow numbers.

Burn: take character level x2 temporary HP (thp) per turn you have burn. Ok. Doesn't seem that bad. Most kineticist players will max con, and put favored class HP here.

But it does mean you'd never want to multiclass. Like, ever.

On to level 3, where things start to really go down hill. You need 1 burn, at level 3 (6 thp per turn). You get a +1 to hit and 2 damage, you have 36 HP. Meaning you can keep this "bonus" up for 6 turns. Fair enough.

At level 6, this all starts to break down. If you have 3 points of burn, you are taking 36 thp per turn. You only have 69+6(from the bonus this gives), or just over two turns worth before you start killing yourself with burn.

But at level 11, if you have 5 burn, that's 110 thp a turn. You have 124 from leveling and 22 more from this ability. So you knock yourself out in the second round (220 thp, meaning no and doing yourself 220-146=74 HP).

The level 16 is right out, delivering 32x7 or 224 thp to a character who only has 179 +48(from the ability). Leaving yourself 3 thp. Of course you probably took burn getting to 7 total? A second turn will probably completely kill you (if you take away the 48 HP boost and then apply the remaining thp to HP conversion (217 real HP).

Does anyone else find this completely broken? Or is it just me? Am I missing something? Burn does 2 tHP per character level per burn per round, right? Because PFS uses average HP progression this makes every high level high burn kineticist a useless suicide king our queen.

Dark Archive

So my holy Vindicator level 4 is considering picking up better armor. Going from +1 to 3+stanching. This would prevent 3 bleed damage. Stigmata would cause 2 at 4th level, and make you immune to any other. Now stigmata says it can't be healed/stopped by healing magic. But stanching doesn't heal or stop it, just prevents it. So would the HV be able to now run around with this bonus all the time? RAW, Rai , or just your opinion. An playing in a pfs game, so don't want to be illegal. But pfs is raw heavy, so if it doesn't say heal or stop....

Dark Archive

Ok, so sometime or another I worked on my alchemist and he took the following:

Accelerated Drinker Feat: "You may drink a potion as a move action instead of a standard action as long as you start your turn with the potion in your hand."

Explosive Missile Discovery: As a standard action, the alchemist can infuse a single arrow, crossbow bolt, or one-handed firearm bullet with the power of his bomb, load the ammunition, and shoot the ranged weapon. He must be proficient with the weapon in order to accomplish this. When the infused ammunition hits its target, it deals damage normally and detonates as if the alchemist had thrown the bomb at the target. If the explosive missile misses, it does not detonate.

Now, obviously, we're at 20+ int (24 with mindchemist). We also apply a Targeted Bomb Admixture to each bomb we make (duration 4+ rounds, since we have to have a 4th to do the explosive missile).

Adventurer's Sash, spring loaded sheath or whatever you can do to get the next potion in you hand as a free action in the same round... can you...

So the hypothetical question is: Drink the potion (elixir) of True Strike as a move action, then make the bomb, strap it on a bolt, load and fire the Heavy Crossbow (at a +20 now)... and repeat this each round for which you have a True Strike elixir prepped?

Compared to reloading a heavy crossbow? What, once a round, as a full round action?

So that would be a +20 to hit, 2d6+10-14 damage, on top of the bolt damage. And more on crits? Not bad for a 4th level murder hobo, eh?

Dark Archive

OK. So I am looking into an Underground Chemist Sniper Rogue... because, hey, after looking into it: Why not?!

By 4th Level they get 2d6 Sneak attack, which they can add to splash weapons (yeh, UC grants this) and take 1/2 range penalties (Sniper). And you get +10 feet of Sneak Attack range, so you can throw 4 range increments with a -3 penalty, against touch AC for the 1d6 (usually) damage + 2d6 Sneak Attack damage. Plus your Int Bonus (if you have one).

All said, it looks like a pretty neat combination, and in this case I am combining it with a Ninja with Vanishing Trick and Blossoming Light Cleric - all eventually.

So what we're looking at at 10th level is a 5d6 SA rogue with Sap Adept, Sap Master who uses Vanishing Trick to go invisible and heal for up to 4 rounds and then come out swinging with SA, either lethal (5d6) or not (10d6+10). Or throw a splash weapon with SA for +5d6 SA on it.

The beautiful thing this does is allow a HOLY WATER to be thrown and do 2d4 + 5d6 versus undead and evil outsiders. Pitch that vial right down their throats, as it were, and watch their heads explode!

What I am wondering about is what kind of damage Splash Weapons which don't do damage do do. There are 20ish splash weapons:

Spoiler:
Alch Fire, Oil, Pox Burster, Stink Oil, Sting Grenade, Acid flask, Marker Dye (bag), Alkali Flask, Brewed Reek, Defoliant (vs plants), Elemental Flux, Impact Foam, Liquid Ice, Plague Powder (evil), Insomnia Powder, Itching Powder, Sneezing Powder, Powder Ball, Shadowcloy, holy water

Some do acid, cold, fire, random energy type, and holy damage. My question is: do the ones that force a save do the save + SA damage with this class? Or how exactly does this work. And if they do the save, and it isn't lethal (like sneezing) does the SA damage count as nonlethal? And if it does, does that allow Sap Adept and Sap Master to apply? The whole thing SEEMS SILLY, but it is PFS legal, as far as I can tell, which just adds to the humorousness of it all.

So please, if you can point out any FAQ for damage type from "non-damaging attacks" that would be great. Alternately, would you, as a GM consider a water balloon to be a nonlethal alternate to a normal splash weapon (improvised weapon, splash, nonlethal?). Is that reasonable? Because RAW improvised weapons can be "made" in game. I probably should check to see what KINDS can be made, but am posting this hear for the damage type question regarding non-damaging splash attacks more than for the nonlethal BOOM BAGS.

Thanks for your time and opinions/answers!

Dark Archive

I know this isn't the "best" fighter ever, but dang, it comes in at the top of the heap I think.

Picture this: a Level 20 Mutated Defender who took TENTACLE every time. So that is a FULL +20 BAB with 10 Tentacle attacks as secondary attacks (which all become primary if it is their only attack, so FULL StrB and BAB to all of them). (Or 9 and raise it up to d6).

Add in a Amulet of Mighty Fists +1 with Ice, Fire, Acid and Electric and you have a 45d6+9x1 1/2 StrB(+1), +20 to hit monster zapping out squiggly death!

Alternately you could go full 50d6 + 10d4 + 15x StrB ... whichever works best. (if there is a 5th d6 damage type that can added to the Mighty Fists Amulet, sonic?)

I realize this archetype will NEVER be PFS legal now that I have suggested this build, but oh was it fun coming up with it.

I know there's a bunch of stuff you could do to add to the mess which is a Vigilante taking 10 1 point evolutions from the eidelon tree. What do you think would add to this.

Remember, the character would still get 10-11 Feats... so maybe throw in some cleaving or lunging or what not to get a nice range?

Attacking with melee weapons and these would result in a +20/+15x11/+10/+5 attack situation. I don't know if you would care to waste the strength and attack bonus on four melee attacks (when you get it on 10 instead). +6 StrB, for instance would be 60 damage instead of 90, so right there you dropped 30 damage. Unless you can make up for that in the 4 attacks it wouldn't be worth it. You also lost 5 from all the attacks, so unless you are "sure" to hit the AC it might not be "cost effective". 430 damage cap is pretty nice for a single round of combat. Great Sword you are doing 2d6 more x8 (if all hit) 16d6 more +4x9 = 36, 132 more, so 562 damage cap (with a chance to lose some versus AC).

Dark Archive

Beast Shape spell states you get xyz if the ANIMAL has xyz. What if the creature has xyz+10? Like a Fly of 40 instead of 30? What if its fly speed is a different maneuverability than average?

Is this one of those "this or less" situations? Or is it one of those "up to this" situation? If they have Fly 40(good) does that give you Fly 30 (average) when transformed? If they have Climb 20, do you still get Climb 30? Or do you get no climb at all?

Looking for a FAQ or solid answer, as there are no ANIMALS in the original Beastiary with FLY 30 (Average - which I understand is not listed, so just Fly 30). They have Climb 30, and Fly 40, and Swim 30, etc... but no Fly 30 ANIMALS.

What other source might I look to to get a RAW correct ANIMAL for FLY 30? - and do I need to, or just tell the GM to stop being anal retentive about RAW? But it is "society play" so AR GMs are bound to pop up every once in a while at tables and I've rather not spend one minute having a semantic/RAI argument with a person if I can just point to exact verbiage that matches instead.

A FAQ would be nice as well. I know I can get the "anything less is included in" FAQ, but that doesn't mention this type of spell and may result in still having disagreements at a table. And the question remains about the "less than" side of it. If I transform into a snake, can I NOT climb 30, even if a regular snake can climb 20? So I get nothing from it?

Thanks!

(ps. list so far to cover is: Ape, Gorilla Scent, LLV and Climb 30, Elasmosaurus for Scent, LLV and Swim 30. But no animal in the Bestiary has Fly 30 (40, 50, 20, yes, no 30). (not concerned with Darkvision atm)

Dimorphodon Pterosaur in Bestiary 4 came up when I did a google search. So I guess there is one there.

Dark Archive

So here's the ability in question:

Spoiler:
Magic Warrior’s Aspect (Su)

At 3rd level, a magic warrior can gain an aspect of an animal’s might. The animal must suit the magic warrior’s mask (and the animal changes if the magic warrior must create or obtain a new mask). As a standard action, the magic warrior gains one ability possessed by that animal from the list of abilities given in beast shape I (this ability does not allow her to change her size). The ability lasts for 1 minute per magus level.

This ability replaces the magus arcana gained at 3rd level.

Nowhere does it say "once per day" or anything like that. So is it just a SU unlimited use ability? The OTHER copy of the archetype also lacks any limit wording. Help? Any FAQs out there for this?

Dark Archive

The reason I ask what Spell Descriptors are is because they don't seem to be materially important to the damage type of a spell.

For instance, a Elemental Spell enhanced Metamagic spell going from Cold to Acid does not change it's Spell Descriptor. But it does Acid damage instead of Cold. So Cold immunity wouldn't matter because the damage is Acid.

Additionally, is there anything that changes the Spell Descriptors like Elemental Magic changes the damage type? This would be for Draconic bloodline or Rime Spell use, I'd imagine.

From what I can see so far, Draconic bloodline arcana would still apply to the dragon type, regardless of damage type because the descriptor doesn't change (with elemental metamagic).

Thoughts? It is kind of a weird thing that is just like "hinted at being in the background of every spell" but not really well explained. IMLHO, of course.

ps. Yes, I have read the "Descriptors" section of the magic section. It just doesn't really seem like the do "a lot" other than just generally define a spell.

1 to 50 of 147 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>