Ghoul

bewareoftom's page

Organized Play Member. 22 posts. 3 reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Could I get more info on vigilante? what does it replace and what's the oni powers like? do you get much from a 1-4 level dip?


was it posted what the polymorph spell was/did?


>If the spell requires a material component that costs more than the value of the divine focus, you must have the material component on hand to cast the spell, as normal.

but what you quoted is for if the spell requires a material component that costs MORE than the holy symbol costs, not if one is required at all.

I don't really see why it wouldn't work, though personally I'd say you'd need one copy of each additional material component to "copy" fullpouch style (and just handwave it that the holy symbol does all the work), but that's just me.


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

well foxes would get the natural armor, so why not ghosts?


Question about the anathema (sorry if it was posted before), but does it keep the original poison's effects as well or is it all replaced by the debuffs?

So lets say I make an anathema from medium spider venom is it the 1d2 str dmg for 4 rounds AND reduce chosen ability by 5 for X rounds, or is it just DC 14 for reduced ability by 5 for X rounds?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
StrayChowChow wrote:

Can anyone give me a rundown of Rot Warden (druid archetype)?

This might be the archetype I've been impatiently waiting for

Not great at summarizing things, and it's probably been posted before but:

Rot Warden:

Invoke Decay: replaces spontaneous casting, gives a list of rot/plague-esque spells (like decompose corpse, explosion of rot, swrm skin, etc)

Nature Bond: if choose a domain choose from this list: Destruction, Erosion, Repose, or Vermin.

Vermin Empathy: as the name suggests, works on swarms at -4 unless you have the same kind of vermin companion or are in that vermin wildshape

Swarmcaller: replaces trackless step & venom immunity, can Summon Swarm 1/day as a standard action, but only cockroach, locust or spiders, increasing to army ant, centipede, and wasp at lvl 9. If you use this ability in a surprise round, in the first round of combat flat footed creatures are shaken

Enduring Druid: replaces resist nature's lure, gets +4 vs vermin/vermin swarm abilities, aswell as things that would age or decay the rot warden or his stuff

Wildshape: gain at lvl 6, at lvl -2, can never be an elemental, gets vermin shape 1 at 8, 2 at 10, and 3 and 12


So, I highly doubt this was intentional, but are most of oozemorph's abilities meant to be Ex?

The problem comes in when you dip 1 level and become an ex-shifter, you lose Fluidic Body (so no alterself, and you no longer count as an ooze but can wear and use equipment normally) but keep Compression, Morphic Weaponry and (if you dip 2 levels) keeps the DR/slashing.

also at lvl 15, it says giant shape instead of giant form


Rysky wrote:
Nothing says they don’t, and since they’re arcane casters, they do.

That's what I assumed, but a lot of the companions have had rules missing/assumed but not work so I thought I'd ask if the author posted here about it (like the phantom blade spiritualist supposed to work with any weapon they are proficient in even ranged weapons, or work with spiritualist spells even though it says "as magus")


I tried searching for it but couldnt find it, for the Hag-Touched Spiritualist, are they meant to suffer arcane spell failure for armor?


sorry if I missed it, but what's the corruption like? and the ex-paladin archetype and if it'd work with antipaladin (with or without minor tweaks)


So for anyone else who has the book now I have a question about the yaddithian's bonus languages, can they really choose ANY language? I mean including secret languages? or was that just a misprint?

Being able to take secret languages would be pretty cool, but everyone I talk to thinks it's a mistake


Awesome thanks Rysky, now I wonder if it works for vestigial arms or if it becomes a familiar for alchemists/investigators.... well time to buy the book!


was there any info posted about the possessed hand feats? and how does it work with something like the alchemist's vestigial arm?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Yeah, I just want to somehow build around throwing the book and Startoss Style, and obviously max ranks in Prof(Barrister).


Well it also specifies later on that it can be enchanted, and then at level 4 you get the ability to temporarily enchant it like a warpriest (also adding bane to the list of abilities to choose from), am I allowed to post the whole ability now that the book is released? I was never 100% sure with the rules behind that

EDIT: Also the Holy Book ability calls out that the inquisitor is proficient with the book, so wouldn't: Weapon Focus (Book) work?


6 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.

So, I'm not sure if it works like the way I read it, but does the Living Grimoire Inquisitor's "Holy Book" ability still have the book count as an improvised weapon?

Holy Book Says: When wielding the holy book as a weapon, it deals damage as a cold iron light mace. You are considered proficient, takes no improvised weapon penalty, and gains +1 on attack rolls with the book.

Now it says, "when wielding it as a weapon" and not as an improvised weapon, but it also brings up not taking the improvised weapon penalty. I can see it going either way saying it counts as a light mace for all purposes or it is an improvised weapon where you ignore the penalties just for it. Any thoughts? I mostly ask for traits like Surprise Weapon, or other things that build off that.


So this is the first actual book I bought (from paizo atleast), how long does it take until the PDF is available for download? or do I still need to wait until the 4th?


David knott 242 wrote:

The PDFs normally go on sale at midnight Pacific time, so if you are live in the eastern United States that would be around 3 a.m.

awesome thanks!

and I guess thats what I get for skimming everything, I thought you guys meant the spell list :P


not exactly a specific question for UI I guess, but what timeframe are pdfs usually up for purchase? just wondering if I should stay awake all night to read through it (dont know what timezone paizo is in, but i'm in est/edt if that helps at all)

also, for the vigilante is it possible to be an avenger and warlock or is the abilities granted by avenger the stuff traded out for warlock?

as for the no invisibility thing, I guess we could just go samsaran and grab it that way


Alright, I just wanted to make sure I was reading everything correctly/not imagining rules

I mean, at the cost of a feat and 2-4 discoveries/feats, I don't think gaining two arms (possibly with natural attacks) is too insane

though, playing a mad scientist who went full Frankenstein on himself would pretty fun lol


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Alright, so this is kind of two questions but here I go anyways.

1:

How does Vestigial Arm/Tentacle work with Monstrous Graft discovery? Can I cut off my tentacle, get a slam attack and now ignore the "does not add any extra attacks" clause? (allowing dagger/dagger/slam?)

2:

Can I take Racial Heritage (Derro) to ignore the wisdom penalty Monstrous Graft gives? I'm fairly certain it works, and I'm fairly certain it doesn't work for the "Method to the Madness" discovery from the same book since I only count as a Derro and not as having "Madness (Ex)".

Vestigial Arm:
Vestigial Arm (Ex)
Benefit: The alchemist gains a new arm (left or right) on his torso. The arm is fully under his control and cannot be concealed except with magic or bulky clothing. The arm does not give the alchemist any extra attacks or actions per round, though the arm can wield a weapon and make attacks as part of the alchemist’s attack routine (using two-weapon fighting). The arm can manipulate or hold items as well as the alchemist’s original arms (for example, allowing the alchemist to use one hand to wield a weapon, another hand to hold a potion, and the third hand to throw a bomb). The arm has its own “hand” and “ring” magic item slots (though the alchemist can still only wear two rings and two hand magic items at a time).

Special: An alchemist may take this discovery up to two times.

Monstrous Graft:
Monstrous Graft (Ex) (Inner Sea Monster Codex pg. 23 (Amazon)): The alchemist can replace up to four of his own amputated limbs with those of a monstrous beast of the same size category. If the grafted limb is an arm, the alchemist gains either a climb speed of 15 feet or a claw or slam natural attack that deals 1d6 points of damage (1d4 for a Small alchemist). If the grafted limb is a leg, the alchemist gains one of the following benefits: a +5 bonus to land speed, a swim speed of 15 feet, or a +5 bonus on Acrobatics checks when jumping. For each limb the alchemist replaces in this manner, he takes a –2 penalty to Wisdom as he loses his sense of self. Derros are immune to this penalty.

Method to the Madness:
Method to the Madness (Ex) (Inner Sea Monster Codex pg. 23 (Amazon)): The alchemist has learned to channel his madness into one of his alchemist class abilities. When the alchemist takes this discovery, he chooses one of either bombs or extracts. If he selects bombs, he uses his Charisma bonus in place of his Intelligence bonus when determining the bonus to damage and the saving throw DCs of his bombs. If the alchemist selects extracts, he uses his Charisma bonus in place of his Intelligence bonus to calculate bonus extracts per day. The alchemist must have the madness extraordinary ability to take this discovery. This discovery can be taken twice, allowing the alchemist to select both bombs and extracts.

Racial Heritage Feat:
Racial Heritage (Human)

The blood of a non-human ancestor flows in your veins.

Prerequisite: Human.

Benefit: Choose another humanoid race. You count as both human and that race for any effects related to race. For example, if you choose dwarf, you are considered both a human and a dwarf for the purpose of taking traits, feats, how spells and magic items affect you, and so on.

Link to d20pfsrd for Derros

Now this was just for a crazy/silly character idea I had, and /r/Pathfinder_RPG wasn't too much help and went off on a few too many tangents. link for the curious


I tried searching but I didn't find it, but how "protective" vs light is chaokinesis? Does it just help vs light sensitivity/blindness? or does it also protect vampires and the like?