Argus Wall

GrayDeath666's page

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber. 19 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
swoosh wrote:
I confess, sometimes when I read a RD post where he describes how classes perform in 20+ round combats that take place in thousand foot long hallways I am left wondering how contrived these scenarios might be.

Don't know about 1000ft hallways but I have a fight coming up on 15 rounds this weekend and it looks like it might the next 3~5 rounds easily enough.

Side note: I would have dropped this fight were it not for FoundryVTT.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Errenor wrote:


Thank you for the post.
DM_aka_Dudemeister wrote:
North Gozren used Elemental Weapon to create an air flail to upgrade his damage dice from d4s to d10s (I ruled that handwrap runes applied to weapons).
But how? All d10 weapons I see are 2-handed (and strictly 1-handed allowed, even 1+ won't be included by most).

Bastard sword is a 1 handed weapon that you can spend an interact action to grip it with 2 hands to change the damage die 1d12. I don't see any fails like that though I suppose a katana could work if they have access to it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Castilliano wrote:
Squiggit wrote:
I mean, context seems relevant there, Castilliano.

Illuminate me.

It's an example of "Class DC" being used where it's obvious the term has to refer one's main class's DC (presumably it's one's best). There's no language to indicate this is abnormal. Is there an example of the opposite, where the term cannot be referring to that? Or where the opposite is proclaimed the norm? General usage seems rather open-ended to me.

Or look at the Ranger version of the Powerful Snares feat. Both versions use the exact same language. Shouldn't the terms mean the same thing in each? I'd hope we'd all agree on that.
Or are we to think that if you take the feat via Snarecrafter then "Class DC" has a different meaning than if you take the feat via Ranger MCD? With one Archetype you get your main class's DC, yet with the other Archetype you're stuck with your Ranger Trained Class DC (with no way of improving that proficiency and as a 16th level feat at that). Seems too odd to me.

And as we're talking about Kineticist's here, it seems pretty necessary for their MCD to remain viable that either the PC uses their original class's Class DC or that the MCD have a way to improve Kineticist Class proficiency.

The various class tags would matter here because Class DC (page 29) says you use it for abilities granted by your class. Class tags tell you what class you got it from, and this why Additional Feats granted by Archetypes lose their class tag.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I prefer a multi charge system with some of the low level feats being "do a thing" gain a charge. Then have Impulse feats be a place to dump charges for an effect. It would give a balance between single target stuff, utility, and AoE things. Would also feel like you are opening your gatte wider and wider until you simply let it flow into your opponent to (hopefully) devastating effect.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I kind of like the idea floated around here of gathering multiple charges but I would add to it and make the scaling of overflow abilities depend on how many charges you spent. I would also make overflow basically just say can spend charges instead of just losing all of them. Finally I would set a limit to the charges that uses level.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Shinigami02 wrote:
Nothing To See Here wrote:
Proliferate also has the problem that is doesn't seem to do anything for air and it only works for fire if the ground is flammable.

Proliferate is great for making instant air pockets in water-filled dungeons. Take an empty vial with you, uncork it, Proliferate the resulting bubble for a 5-foot air pocket. Given a full minute you've got a 15-foot-by-15-foot air pocket. Then just dump out the water that's now in your vial, re-cork it, and be ready for the next pause.

Heck, since Proliferate can probably screw with conservation of matter, if you can adequately block the entrance you could probably totally drain a room by just Proliferating that vial-worth of air long enough.

Or turn the room into a pressure bomb.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

How is no one talking about how for 2 action you can turn a handful of water into 5 cubic feet of water. Earth Kineticist makes fortresses in an hour or 2. Water can take a day to make an ice walled water reservoir and threaten to flood anywhere.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Ravingdork wrote:

It does seem odd that fire can burn down cities, but water can't reliably flood small fields.

Hopefully we're just not seeing all the powers and there are other high level goodies behind the veil that make the elements more balanced towards one another.

Adapt Terrain absolutely can flood a field especially if make a reservoir out of ice first.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
PossibleCabbage wrote:
I miss the geokineticist being able to make permanent alterations to the landscape by moving earth around. You never had fine control of it, but you could absolutely do things like "dig trenches" and "create rough walls" which makes you feel like a rockstar if the party is like "defending a city from a siege".

Adapt Terrain will let you build a crude fortress with a single pebble and an hour or two.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
graystone wrote:
GrayDeath666 wrote:
Captain Morgan wrote:
Squiggit wrote:
I mean, is it something that needs to be fied? Two actions to throw a bomb doesn't seem that wild.
Not if it is level appropriate, but a level 1 character generating level 17 bombs feels off.

I think access means your level or lower because item creation rules.

Item level only affects crafting [you can't craft items above your level]. It even says you can use items of any level but suggests that access to items of higher level "may have a negative impact on the game".

Item Level
Source Core Rulebook pg. 271

Well that makes a psuedo-alchemist Kineticist absolutely terrifying.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Captain Morgan wrote:
Squiggit wrote:
I mean, is it something that needs to be fied? Two actions to throw a bomb doesn't seem that wild.
Not if it is level appropriate, but a level 1 character generating level 17 bombs feels off.

I think access means your level or lower because item creation rules.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Dubious Scholar wrote:
So... how much damage do you do with striking runes and a level 3 bomb?

Bombs have an activation that deals usually do damage but do not have weapon damage dice. Striking rune do not interact with Bombs. You would have to take a utility bomb like bottled Lightning or Dread Ampoule.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

If it does work, there are some very weird interactions like persistent bludgeoning damage. Also Elemental Weapon doesn't say a level one weapon, if you can take later and gain a much higher level bomb.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I think Elemental weapon needs the word Non-consumable because as it is currently worded you could use it to make bombs.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I burn with delight at my copy


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

The "As Amp" text in the is "Amp Heightened (+2)" really what is confusing me here, if it applies to the new amp only then it completely changes how the damage scales, if it always refers to the base amp then you essentially get to freeroll any other amp on it because it would include the dual aoe and increased damage from the amp.

If the "Amp Heightened (+2)" entry only looks at the current amp being used then the spell gets 1d6 base plus 3d6 per 2 levels of the spell by applying any other amp to because the "As Amp" bit of text.

If it doesn't look at the current amp and actually still looks at the baseline amp then you get the dual aoe and the additional fire damage with no additional cost beyond the feat.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I thought the Amp heighten entry applied as any amp is applied right? If it is the average damage should go up by the level of the level of the and effectively use the regular amp be it says

"As amp, but the damage increases by 1d6 bludgeoning and 1d6 slashing."

Meaning it if it does work that way it should just change half the damage to fire and add the level of the spell to damage.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

So if I understand correctly the amp heightened effect happens when I use the amp from the feat meaning that cantrips just gets spell level damage right?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Flurry of Blast would let you get a full amount of attacks but it does reduce the damage to a 1st level blast. Useful if you want to just apply lot of Substance infusion attacks or if you can get a high number of attacks.