Spontaneous Ignition on Telekinetic Rend


Psychic Class


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

So if I understand correctly the amp heightened effect happens when I use the amp from the feat meaning that cantrips just gets spell level damage right?


Spell level bonus fire damage, instead of the regular amp bonus dice, and half the regular damage becomes fire.

It doesn’t change your average damage, so it’s pointless unless they have weakness to fire.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I thought the Amp heighten entry applied as any amp is applied right? If it is the average damage should go up by the level of the level of the and effectively use the regular amp be it says

"As amp, but the damage increases by 1d6 bludgeoning and 1d6 slashing."

Meaning it if it does work that way it should just change half the damage to fire and add the level of the spell to damage.


Only one amp applies. Either the base or the feat, not both.


Xenocrat wrote:
Only one amp applies. Either the base or the feat, not both.

You do eventually get the option to use 2 at once with dual amplification.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

At level 20!


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

The "As Amp" text in the is "Amp Heightened (+2)" really what is confusing me here, if it applies to the new amp only then it completely changes how the damage scales, if it always refers to the base amp then you essentially get to freeroll any other amp on it because it would include the dual aoe and increased damage from the amp.

If the "Amp Heightened (+2)" entry only looks at the current amp being used then the spell gets 1d6 base plus 3d6 per 2 levels of the spell by applying any other amp to because the "As Amp" bit of text.

If it doesn't look at the current amp and actually still looks at the baseline amp then you get the dual aoe and the additional fire damage with no additional cost beyond the feat.


If you use any feat amp you do not get any regular amp benefits, heightened or not. It’s just the regular cantrip plus your feat amp.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Dark Archive Playtest / Psychic Class / Spontaneous Ignition on Telekinetic Rend All Messageboards
Recent threads in Psychic Class