Elemental Weapon


Kineticist Class


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I think Elemental weapon needs the word Non-consumable because as it is currently worded you could use it to make bombs.

Verdant Wheel

I got all excited thinking about this but, unfortunately, the element dissipates as soon as you throw the weapon so bombs are as dead an option as darts. Nothing really changes if they disallow it, though it may be good to future-proof it against consumable alchemical melee weapons if they ever do that.

Sczarni

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Nitro~Nina wrote:
I got all excited thinking about this but, unfortunately, the element dissipates as soon as you throw the weapon so bombs are as dead an option as darts. Nothing really changes if they disallow it, though it may be good to future-proof it against consumable alchemical melee weapons if they ever do that.

I read it as the element is spent as in you need to gather power again. Not that you can't do it

Verdant Wheel

Verzen wrote:
Nitro~Nina wrote:
I got all excited thinking about this but, unfortunately, the element dissipates as soon as you throw the weapon so bombs are as dead an option as darts. Nothing really changes if they disallow it, though it may be good to future-proof it against consumable alchemical melee weapons if they ever do that.

I read it as the element is spent as in you need to gather power again. Not that you can't do it

Hmm... assuming that your reading is right, which would be cool (and should be clarified), that could be very fun. Not sure that it would be powerful given that it'd essentially be a regular attack with the Overflow trait, but a Level 1 Bomb that scales not with its own item level but with Handwraps would be an interesting option to be able to chuck out.

Assuming that Elemental Weapon scales with Handwraps, of course, which seems like a foregone conclusion.

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Nitro~Nina wrote:
Verzen wrote:
Nitro~Nina wrote:
I got all excited thinking about this but, unfortunately, the element dissipates as soon as you throw the weapon so bombs are as dead an option as darts. Nothing really changes if they disallow it, though it may be good to future-proof it against consumable alchemical melee weapons if they ever do that.

I read it as the element is spent as in you need to gather power again. Not that you can't do it

Hmm... assuming that your reading is right, which would be cool (and should be clarified), that could be very fun. Not sure that it would be powerful given that it'd essentially be a regular attack with the Overflow trait, but a Level 1 Bomb that scales not with its own item level but with Handwraps would be an interesting option to be able to chuck out.

Assuming that Elemental Weapon scales with Handwraps, of course, which seems like a foregone conclusion.

"The weapon is still the gathered element and can be used

for impulses, is expended for overflow impulses, and so on. "

" If the weapon leaves your hand, such as with a
thrown weapon, the element is expended"

It uses the same language.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

If it does work, there are some very weird interactions like persistent bludgeoning damage. Also Elemental Weapon doesn't say a level one weapon, if you can take later and gain a much higher level bomb.


So... how much damage do you do with striking runes and a level 3 bomb?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Dubious Scholar wrote:
So... how much damage do you do with striking runes and a level 3 bomb?

Bombs have an activation that deals usually do damage but do not have weapon damage dice. Striking rune do not interact with Bombs. You would have to take a utility bomb like bottled Lightning or Dread Ampoule.

Verdant Wheel

GrayDeath666 wrote:
Also Elemental Weapon doesn't say a level one weapon, if you can take later and gain a much higher level bomb.

Wh- it doesn't?? *checks wording* You're totally right, though it surely can't be intended.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

This is hilarious and I feel like will be fixed after the playtest by adding something like "non-consumable" or "permanent" to the description of the weapon the feat lets you create


Or just level 1, really. Gets most of the way there. I'm not particularly concerned about that oversight.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

I mean, is it something that needs to be fied? Two actions to throw a bomb doesn't seem that wild.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
GrayDeath666 wrote:
If it does work, there are some very weird interactions like persistent bludgeoning damage. Also Elemental Weapon doesn't say a level one weapon, if you can take later and gain a much higher level bomb.

This would also arguably let you create common magical weapons at any level, not just the level you are at. For instance, a Major Buzzsaw Axe, which is a "one-handed simple or martial weapon" that is "common" despite being level 20.

This should almost certainly be a level 1, one-handed, simple or martial, common, non-consumable, melee weapon.

I'd also like to have the hand wielding it count as a free-hand for impulses because as written a kinetic loses the ability to use a Shield when they make an elemental weapon. It seems to me that the type of kineticist that would go to town with a created weapon would be more likely, not less, to want a shield.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

No I don't think it is overpowered. I do think its broken in the sense that its interaction with Handwraps of Mighty Blows and the item level of the bomb isn't clear. So either they devote text to clearing that up, or close off that option with a word or two.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Squiggit wrote:
I mean, is it something that needs to be fied? Two actions to throw a bomb doesn't seem that wild.

Not if it is level appropriate, but a level 1 character generating level 17 bombs feels off.

Sczarni

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
manbearscientist wrote:
GrayDeath666 wrote:
If it does work, there are some very weird interactions like persistent bludgeoning damage. Also Elemental Weapon doesn't say a level one weapon, if you can take later and gain a much higher level bomb.

This would also arguably let you create common magical weapons at any level, not just the level you are at. For instance, a Major Buzzsaw Axe, which is a "one-handed simple or martial weapon" that is "common" despite being level 20.

This should almost certainly be a level 1, one-handed, simple or martial, common, non-consumable, melee weapon.

I'd also like to have the hand wielding it count as a free-hand for impulses because as written a kinetic loses the ability to use a Shield when they make an elemental weapon. It seems to me that the type of kineticist that would go to town with a created weapon would be more likely, not less, to want a shield.

No on the melee weapon part. I should be able to create a bow or javelin or throwing daggers using this ability.

Sczarni

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Captain Morgan wrote:
Squiggit wrote:
I mean, is it something that needs to be fied? Two actions to throw a bomb doesn't seem that wild.
Not if it is level appropriate, but a level 1 character generating level 17 bombs feels off.

Feels balanced to me.. ;)


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Captain Morgan wrote:
Squiggit wrote:
I mean, is it something that needs to be fied? Two actions to throw a bomb doesn't seem that wild.
Not if it is level appropriate, but a level 1 character generating level 17 bombs feels off.

I think access means your level or lower because item creation rules.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
GrayDeath666 wrote:
Captain Morgan wrote:
Squiggit wrote:
I mean, is it something that needs to be fied? Two actions to throw a bomb doesn't seem that wild.
Not if it is level appropriate, but a level 1 character generating level 17 bombs feels off.

I think access means your level or lower because item creation rules.

Item level only affects crafting [you can't craft items above your level]. It even says you can use items of any level but suggests that access to items of higher level "may have a negative impact on the game".

Item Level
Source Core Rulebook pg. 271


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
graystone wrote:
GrayDeath666 wrote:
Captain Morgan wrote:
Squiggit wrote:
I mean, is it something that needs to be fied? Two actions to throw a bomb doesn't seem that wild.
Not if it is level appropriate, but a level 1 character generating level 17 bombs feels off.

I think access means your level or lower because item creation rules.

Item level only affects crafting [you can't craft items above your level]. It even says you can use items of any level but suggests that access to items of higher level "may have a negative impact on the game".

Item Level
Source Core Rulebook pg. 271

Well that makes a psuedo-alchemist Kineticist absolutely terrifying.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Rage of Elements Playtest / Kineticist Class / Elemental Weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.