So I haven't played a character for a while, was Lantern Lodge which became Qadira and now apparently is The Exchange? So not overly thrilled with this on her and a Dark Archive player has a boon that lets me switch to DA for 1 Prestige per Character Level. My question is if I do this do I lose all my Lantern Lodge and Qadira Prestige granted boons (ones I spent Prestige on), or just any Exchange Prestige granted awards?
I'm very confused reading the trait above, see description:
Though dhampirs often relate poorly to humanoids, some share an affinity with baser creatures. These dhampirs gain the ability to communicate with bats, rats, and wolves as if under the effects of a speak with animals spell (caster level equal to 1/2 the dhampir's Hit Dice). In addition, they gain a +2 racial bonus on Diplomacy checks when dealing with these animals. Whenever these dhampirs initiate an exchange, animals begin with a starting attitude of indifferent. This is a supernatural ability. This racial trait replaces manipulative.
So here is where my confusion comes in, Diplomacy then says this:
You cannot use Diplomacy against a creature that does not understand you or has an Intelligence of 3 or less.
Then when I look at Wolves, Rats and Bats their Int is all 2.
So my question is...what the heck? Why do they get a Diplomacy bonus against something they can't use Diplomacy against? Should the word Diplomacy be replaced with Wild Empathy? Should the trait give them Wild Empathy against those animals? Should Diplomacy work in this instance even though the animals Int is 2?
Has there been any thought at Paizo on revisiting prior season Scenarios and giving them a new coat of paint? I know my local group enjoys a challenge and a lot of them tend to dread (maybe too strong a word, let's say not look forward to as much) early Season Scenarios due to their overall easiness (encounter wise). I bring this up because my local game store is going to be running "Echoes of the Everwar" and I glanced over the reviews (star wise, then a bit more in-depth) and the impression I get is the last one is especially anti-climactic (not sure on the rest). I even read a post/comment by the creator and he said that he designed it for 4 people (obviously, Season what 1?) as well as 15-point buy system, and as we all know games can get up to 7 people and we use a 20-point buy.
Along those lines I periodically find really weird stuff in the Scenarios that kinda gimp the NPC's, feats that make no sense, feats that plain don't even do anything for said NPC. I think reviewing and fixing that stuff could go a long way to making things a little more challenging for the PC's. Thoughts?
So I know there was a semi-ruling earlier where you needed to be the respective race to purchase items from it as well as pick spells, traits, feats, archetypes, etc. Then I stumbled on an updated ruling that says this. Essentially reversing the earlier ruling to make things make more sense and to address any weird questions or discrepancies. So do Half-Elves and Half-Orcs get some love now? lol
Death-Stealing Gaze - Can be used 1/day per growth point (min 1/day).
So do Nabasu get one use Death-Stealing Gaze even if they have no growth points? I imagine yes otherwise it'd be impossible to get growth points.
Deeper Darkness: At will - They can't see in supernatural darkness, so if they did this in dim or no light then they would be effectively blind?
Enervation - If you use this on somebody and they get 7 negative levels (from multiple uses, which stack) and then get hit with Death-Stealing Gaze and fail (assume they were level 8 initially), do they become a Ghoul?
Can I buy like 6 extra Character Folio's and lend them to PC's to use as a re-roll if they don't have one of their own? I was thinking of doing this as the GM, but I guess it could also apply to someone I'm playing with. What can I say, I'm a nice GM. lol I would of course encourage the PC's to buy one themselves since I wouldn't always be around to help them out. :P
I know that when you GM you can't do a Day Job but was wondering if this could be reconsidered. I know a lot of people who have chars that can really use Day Job checks and therefore are resistant to GMing due to the lack of a check. Given that you get the gold, boon(s), etc it doesn't seem unreasonable to also get a Day Job check. It would also go a long way to getting more people to GM. Just a thought!
I read on a post by Paizo that you can't combine Crossblooded and Wildblooded. The reasoning was because one (C)hanges Bloodline Arcana and the other (R)eplaces it. Normally I'd agree that that is enough to prevent them from working, but in this case it doesn't make sense since the so-called "Change" is simply that the Sorcerer uses BOTH Bloodline Arcana's. So you're not really "changing" the Bloodline Arcana, you're just doubling down. Thoughts?
Title says it all, trying to find a definitive ruling on when they should be going. Personally I'd think it's their own initiative roll modified by their initiative score, but since this is for PFS (looked on the PFS board, no answer) I need the actual ruling and not "Well it depends on the GM". I find it hard to believe that there isn't a ruling for this already given how important a question it is.
I seem to be getting conflicting information regarding how one needs to provide any Additional Resource information that their character uses. On one hand I hear it's the actual physical book(s) and a print out from the pdf or pdf itself, and on the other hand I see this in the FAQ:
What do I need to bring to a game to use non-core material?
I highlighted the parts that I thought were pertinent. Thoughts, am I just reading it wrong? I swear I read a couple of posts on here where the powers-that-be indicated photocopies of physical pages was sufficient. Just looking for a definitive ruling one way or the other.
Not sure where to put this exactly, but I created a Google Spreadsheet PFS Scenario Tracker for my local PFS group to help keep track of who has played what in order to know what games to run and thought other people might be interested in it. It also has added functionality to create spinoff gaming groups (see template sheet) by using the data entered on the main sheet. It's kind of a work in-progress so if anyone has any issues, questions or suggestions just let me know. Also please please read the Instructions if you're going to use it! :P
LLV confuses me, the PRD says this for Low Light Vision (LLV), then it says this. The first link also says "Characters with low-light vision can see outdoors on a moonlit night as well as they can during the day.", then the other link says "Areas of dim light include outside at night with a moon in the sky, bright starlight, and the area between 20 and 40 feet from a torch."
So from that I think it means that dim-light is effectively normal light for LLV characters, so they would not suffer the 20% miss chance due to concealment (while in dim light). Thoughts anyone?
I've heard a few times that Animal Companions (regardless of intelligence) can't wield weapons in PFS, and looking at the FAQ I believe it's due to this sentence "Animal companions of any type may not use manufactured weapons." So my questions is if my AC is smart enough (i.e. above the default Intelligence) would it be able to learn IUS and from there something like Feral Combat Training? It's most definitely not a manufactured weapon.
Can Improved Familiars like Lyrakien Azata wear equipment and wield wands/weapons? I read the FAQ but it says at the top "It is intended that animal companions or familiars can not activate magic items" then below it says "The brownie, faerie dragon, imp, lyrakien azata, mephit, quasit, sprite familiars, granted by the Improved Familiar feat, use the Biped (hands) section of the chart. The carbuncle and voidworm protean, familiars granted by the Improved Familiar feat, uses the Serpentine section of the chart. If you do not own a copy of the Animal Archive, your animal companion may only use barding and neck-slot items."
I own the Animal Archive and was interested in getting the Lyrakien Azata familiar, so could I put a helm on her and give her a wand? If so the Improved Familiar feat is worth it, if not then not so much.
I'm trying to figure out what determines an aura, say for the purpose of the Litany of Righteousness spell. It says this: If the target is evil, it takes double damage from attacks made by creatures with a good aura (from a class feature or as a creature with the good subtype).
The Detect Evil Spell says that an Aligned Creature level 5-10 has a Faint Aura, while an Aligned Outsider of 1 or lower has a Faint Aura. Then looking at Aasimar it says they have the Outsider Type and Native subtype. Does that mean a Good Aasimar character has a Faint Aura and a Good PC level 5-10 does also?
If you have GM Scenarios for a character that you have yet to play, when you finally start playing the character can you pick feats/traits/etc that were not available when you did your first DM scenario for them? Specifically I'm inquiring about Magical Knack, but it could I guess apply to anything new book wise.
Key Blend Spell Description:
So normally you need to find cover or concealment to attempt to hide, can't just be standing in the middle of a normally lit room and be like "Hah you can't see me!". Yet with this spell you kinda camouflage into the area. Does this mean you can hide at anytime, even while being observed? To me that's what not needing cover or concealment means, otherwise the spell wouldn't do anything. Thoughts?
I've read enough posts to know that Half-Elves can't buy/learn other racial spells, specifically in this case Elven. My question is if someone else (an Elf obviously) has the spell on a scroll and gives it to me can I then cast it? If so would it just work or would I need to emulate a race using UMD?
Paladin Bond (Mount):
Now a heavy horse is MUCH better than the lame horse in the Animal Companion list. On one hand the FAQ says you can only select a mount from those listed on page 63, then it says unless another source grants access to additional creature sources. Is the actual description of the Paladin mount above an additional source?
I am trying to understand if Sidestep\Whispers will stack with Canny Defense, and if Whispers is affected by Armor Max Dex like Sidestep. See below for info on all 3, I bolded what I thought to be the pertinent parts.
I think Yes to Whispers losing AC due to Armor Max Dex, see the last sentence of it.
As for Canny Defense stacking, I would say yes. It's Int added to AC not Dex, therefore I think it should work. I believe the reason they had it add to Dex AC was because they wanted it to be affected by Armor Max Dex, otherwise they would of just made it Dodge AC instead.
FAQ entry for Sidestep Secrets:
I saw this in the FAQ:
Sorcerer: Does a sorcerer with the sage bloodline (page 72) use her Int or Cha to determine uses per day of arcane bolt?
—Sean K Reynolds, 07/14/11
Does this mean that Eldritch Heritage is intended to work with Wildblooded then? I'm not aware of any other ability that allows Non-Sorcerers access to a bloodline power. I know people get nitpicky about Archetype but I always viewed Wildblooded as just a mutated Bloodline, therefore qualifying for Eldritch Heritage.
So Improved Familiar says "You may choose a familiar with an alignment up to one step away on each alignment axis (lawful through chaotic, good through evil)."
Then there are a bunch of familiars where in their description it says "blah blah only Lawful Neutral Characters", or some such nonsense. Does that trump the one step away thing, or does the one step away thing trump it? I looked through the forums but never found any sort of definitive answer. Assuming that the specific alignment does trump the actual Feat, it appears that LG characters get the shaft since anything they can get seems to....kinda suck. :-/
Ok so based upon the following information I think multiple sources of Animal Companions works as follows, please feel free to chime in with your thoughts.
Character: Level 4 Sorcerer, Level 5 Paladin