Male Gnome Barbarian (Invulnerable Rager) 1 | HP 16/16 (18) | Rage 4/7 | AC 18 (16) T 13 (11) FF 16 (14) | CMD 14 (16) |Fort +5 (+7), Ref +2, Will +0 (+2) | Init +2 | Perception +5
Mrachni:
It should be a move action to stand, followed by another move action to draw a weapon. Leaving you with no standard action.
You can draw a weapon as part of movement if your base attack bonus is at least +1 but that is only as part of actual movement, not as part of a move equivalent action.
You could take a 5-foot step to be next to Quaylon.
Drawing a weapon, readying a shield and standing up from prone are all move actions. You can only have 2 move actions in a round, which requires you to turn your standard action in to a move. You can only do two of the three things you indicated.
I suggest that in each round you state your actions as such:
Free:
Swift:
Move:
Standard:
That should help keep you within the rules. Example:
Free: Speaking Swift: None Move: Stand Up Standard: Downgraded to Move: Draw Sword (alternatively, ready your shield since you are wearing no armor)
Fox yells, "OOF!"
As he stands he draws his sword (or readies his shield) and says, "Whos there!?"
Male Half-orc Cleric 1 | HP 11/11 | AC 15 Tch 11 FF 14 | Fort +5* Ref +2* Will +8* | CMD 12 | Init +1
Zatqualmie:
Agh, forgot that my BAB isn't 1 yet. And right you are about moving, just re-read the rule. It's so rare that we deal with actually drawing weapons that I'd misremembered.
Male Half-orc Cleric 1 | HP 11/11 | AC 15 Tch 11 FF 14 | Fort +5* Ref +2* Will +8* | CMD 12 | Init +1
Zatqualmie:
Hehe, I'm not a real lawyer, but I am rather big on knowing the rules and doing things by them. The majority of my posts are in the Rules Questions forum, helping correct misunderstandings and such. So no - when I do get something wrong, I definitely would like to be told. :)
Oh, and Fox has +1 hero point for dying in the first encounter with his first character. Just went back through and realized that I didn't tell him yet.
It seems to me that if you can move and draw a weapon (if you have a +1 BaB) as a apart of the movement, that you should be able to draw a weapon as you stand, provided the Base Attack. I certainlly think it is the spirit of the Rules if not the letter.
Male Human Monk 1st | HP 9 | AC: 16 FF:10 Tch:16 | Fort 3 Ref 4 Will 5 | CMD 14 | Init +3, Per +7
I was going off what I found in the SRD online for the total defense as a standard action. Not a big deal either way though, since it would not have saved me.
My advice to you Foxheart is to get close to one of them quickly. They can keep taking these shots until they hit.
It is one of those standard actions that you start during your tune and then end on your following turn because your not doing anything else. Seems to me there is a reason why it is next to the standard full round action.
So I guess you can move while doing it, which is good news, and something I didn't know.
Edit - so me calling a full round action I guess is a tired brain, and a mistake.
Male Human Monk 1st | HP 9 | AC: 16 FF:10 Tch:16 | Fort 3 Ref 4 Will 5 | CMD 14 | Init +3, Per +7
I've played a bit of DnD3.5, and there it is a full round action. I had hoped to get an idea of where they might be by taking a little extra time looking around.
Too funny. Good job you lucky cuss. Sometimes, and a tactician will well know this, the best thing to do is someting that the enemy won't supect, and that they often will not expect something crazy.
Male Gnome Barbarian (Invulnerable Rager) 1 | HP 16/16 (18) | Rage 4/7 | AC 18 (16) T 13 (11) FF 16 (14) | CMD 14 (16) |Fort +5 (+7), Ref +2, Will +0 (+2) | Init +2 | Perception +5
GM:
The issue that came up at our gaming table that required us to look that up was a player who said he could draw a weapon while doing any move equivalent action. Under his logic:
If he draws a weapon, he can draw another weapon as part of his move(defeating one benefit of the TWF feat).
If he stands up, he can draw a weapon as part of his move
If he gets something out of his pack, he can draw a weapon as part of his move
If he takes a 5-Foot step, he can draw a weapon
If he sheaths a weapon, he can draw another weapon
It made another player, who had the quickdraw feat, feel like it was a wasted feat since that guy was saying he could draw a weapon while doing any move equivalent.
With all that said. I don't have any problem with someone running how they want to run.
Makes sense except for it says weapon, draw, and move. It says nothing about shield, item, sheath, or weapons. Still it does go to say as apart of movement, not move equivalent. So after looking it up again let's keep it to actually having to move and just one weapon drawn. I also love the Quick Draw feet.
I never have a problem discussing the rules in the discussion board. So long as when I make a final call everyone is cool about excepting it, even if it hurts their character, makes no sense, or is just backwards. If you bring something up I always take a look at the rule, and if I am wrong I am wrong. Its no big deal I assure you. There is thousands pages of rules over several books after all and it takes a team of lawyers, winks at Zat, to work all that out.
Hey Fox, please follow the posting guidelines for combat. Your close by you don't list your Hit Points. Also I need your alias to read like everyone else. They have there name large color letters, then in smaller gray/black letters they have there sex,race,class, arch type, level, hp, AC, saves, init mod.
Male Human, Monk(Sacred Mountain) | HP 48/48 | AC 19 Tch 12 FF 17 | Fort +5 Ref +7 Will +5 | CMD 15* | Init +5
Ok theoretically it should be good. I based it off Mrachni's since he seems to know whats going on :P. I would also like to point out that my CMD is 15 except for bull rush and sunder in which it is 16 because of my favored class option :P
Yes I do, and feel for ya...na that's a lie. Don't feel bad in a PbP Skull and Shackles my bard is dying from the filth fever from the rats from the first fight. If it wasn't for the NPC healer casting lesser restoration twice daily should would have died.
Male Human Monk 1st | HP 9 | AC: 16 FF:10 Tch:16 | Fort 3 Ref 4 Will 5 | CMD 14 | Init +3, Per +7
I'll do my best to let you retain the honor of most awesome death. I don't believe that I will die in any case. It sounds like I may be left for dead. Perhaps have my corpse looted, which will mean that I may have an ulterior motive in all this as I will want to recover my most valuable item.
Mranchi, if you can crit Ray of Enfeeblement you can crit a web. It may not be Rah, but it works for me. Makvor should well remember this for when he is wild shaped, if he goes that way.
Male Half-orc Cleric 1 | HP 11/11 | AC 15 Tch 11 FF 14 | Fort +5* Ref +2* Will +8* | CMD 12 | Init +1
GM:
Technically you can crit on a Ray of Enfeeblement, but it wouldn't do anything; the ray doesn't do any damage, and crits only affect damage (or drain). If your ruling is that something special happens whenever you crit regardless of drain/damage, I'll go with it, but it seems like it'd be hard to figure out what happens short of just making it up (which is your right, of course, as GM).
Yep you can crit any attack roll. Like wise you can crit fail it too, or for that matter saves. Though saves are a bit different. Crit fail that reflex save and say good by to an item.
Though I thought Ray of Enfeeblement did Damage, but even still its better this way. Makes things get wild. Turns out its a penalty, which is silly.
Weapon focus ignores crit fails. Speaking of which you have to roll to confirm a crit fail too. You do not have to confirm any saving throughs its a crit fail or succeed based on the roll.
Skill checks, well checks for that matter, ignore this stuff completely.
I love the crit hit and fail decks and if we could use them we would be.
I would go over all this stuff before hand but its a lot of stuff to go through, its easier to put it out there as it comes up.