Extra Wild Talent - Expanded Defense


Rules Questions


The Extra Wild Talent feat says you can take any infusion or non-infusion wild talent, just not a blast or defense wild talent.

Does this mean you can not take the "Expanded Defense" Utility Wild Talent? Or was the thought that you can't just go taking any blast/defense wild talent to prevent people from taking off-element talents (since normal blasts and defense talents don't list a prerequisite)?

I ask because Hero Lab seems to think we can't take Expanded Defense with our feat. :/


Looking at it, I think that's the case, yeah. Little confusing, but Expanded Defense should be valid. Hero Lab just didn't get that corner case.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

So you can't take a defense talent, but you think taking a utility talent that the only benefit is you take a defense talent is ok?

Whether or not Herolab is right, you absolutely will see table variance on this subject until there is an FAQ saying you can or can not take Expanded Defense.


If you're able to take a utility talent then if you qualify for it you can take the utility talent "Expanded Defense"

Designer

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

You can take the utility talent expanded defense. You just can't take a defense straight-out.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Mark Seifter wrote:
You can take the utility talent expanded defense. You just can't take a defense straight-out.

Nice to get a confirmation!

Silver Crusade

I have a feeling the purpose of saying that you can't take a defense wild talent is so that you can't just go through and take all the defenses and be near untouchable. This way you still have to have the basic prerequisites for getting another defense wild talent (aka, have a second element chosen). Otherwise you can bet I would have Aether and Earth (and maybe water depending on build) defense talents almost right away no matter what element I started with.


Seems this was my fault, it didn't register in my mind that it was a level 12 requirement instead of level 8 to use the feat to get the defense. That -2 is very very annoying. :/


At what lvl could you get the expended defense I took it for earth at lvl 8 is this wrong?


If you take Expanded Defense as your 8th level utility talent, that's fine (being a universal talent you don't have to pay the element tax, even though you're going to be using it for a talent from your secondary element).
If you take it via the Extra Wild Talent feat, you can't take it until 12th.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Extra Wild Talent - Expanded Defense All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions