If "your cards" in OP means the same thing as standard play (deck/buried/displayed/etc.), then Redemption in OP is slow and painful and I'll probably avoid playing a character from HV in the future.
Keep in mind that Hell's Vengeance 2 does not feature a way to redeem boons... not that it matters, since the characters are designed to ignore Corrupted penalties (for the most part) anyway.
In Hell's Vengeance 1, there's a character that easily ignores corrupted penalties, and a second that works BETTER with corrupted cards, and so redemption is partially a downside. Asmodean Disciplines can be auto-added from Tier 4 onwards, but I hardly think Redemption would ever be mandatory in these sets, particularly because they also have a handful of cards that let you ignore the corrupted trait on the fly.
Also, if playing Season of the Righteous, you can get Redemptions out of, for example, specific location effects. But I remember Redemption being really slow in actual Wrath of the Righteous, particularly with the requirement that you have to hold onto the card to redeem it later, so having an Item 2 that I can keep adding seems many times more generous than non-OP play.
Also, in all seriousness, there's not that many corrupted cards, and not all of them are that good. There's heaps you can get away without redeeming; some of which are pretty bad with or without redemption and can be skipped, some which don't work with your strategy or character powers, and some which are powerful enough even when corrupted. Remember that the payoff is that they're usually stronger than a normal boon after being redeemed, so it makes sense to require some effort to set them up (even if you can just replay a scenario a few times to redeem all of the corrupted boons you want). But I digress.
Yewstance wrote:I disagree. The rule i cited was not implemented when many of those cards you are referencing were released. the rule did not exist in RotR, SnS, and in WOTR it was even clarified that the action price must be paid Immediately. That text has now been updated to the rules i quoted above. Prior cards haven't been updated based on the new rules. I'd argue that no where in the MM rule does it say you don't set it aside to "limbo zone" if there isn't a check required. It simply says set it aside and resolve the actions first. There are threads in the rules forum that discuss this. One example, Lini doesn't bury allies at the farmhouse.
One more point on what I was saying about "Setting aside" cards, also note that the fact that cards immediately go to a zone unless there's a check to change that is also supported in the wording of the Cure spell and similar, which has never changed.
Shoot, really!? I had no idea that rule was changed in Mummy's Mask, since I've just used the MM rulebook for all of the physical (and nonphysical) games I've ever played, except for sections on Redemption and Ships. That prior cards still have outdated wording - whilst I knew could happen (Sphere of Fire in Ultimate Magic) - is extremely confusing.
Damnit, among other things this means I've been mis-playing Damiel in Mummy's Mask with Potions of Healing. In fact, this means I'm pretty sure I've seen at least four or five misplays by myself or other players in my PbP tables. Damnit all.
Well that at least explains the Asmodean Disciples, but now I need to re-assess some other cards.