Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Vencarlo Orinsini

Tandem Arandell's page

44 posts. Alias of hgsolo.


RSS


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

That's certainly a bummer, but I feel you. If the game isn't doing it for you then it isn't worth continuing. At the very least this game helped tide me over until I got my hands on the latest book. Btw, it arrived in the mail the other day and it is amazing so far!


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Reflex: 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (1) + 6 = 7

Tandem reaches out towards his fleeing horse half-heartedly as he looks at the berserk shadowspawn.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Handle Animal: 1d20 - 1 ⇒ (7) - 1 = 6

"Blasted beast!" Tandem growls as he attempts to calm his own horse. As his eyes fall upon the shadowspawn he simply says "Oh that cannot be good news."


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Hey guys, I don't know what my posting today will be like. I'm heading back to the States and I will be traveling all day. I'll be leaving in about 2 hours, and while I should have wifi at the airport, I can't be sure.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Tandem cleanly jumps back from the eruption and drops his sword. For a moment he is tempted to draw upon the source to quench the flames, but he manages to resist, and instead smothers the flames coating his sword with his cloak. Once that is complete he moves to aid Meridian in rescuing the horses.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Reflex: 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (16) + 6 = 22

RIZZEN:
Are there any buildings near the stables and how big are the flames? Need to determine what Tandem does in response.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Oops. Forgot initiative. 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (5) + 6 = 11


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Tandem lets out a deep grunt of surprise as the barbs dig into his skin, but is otherwise unperturbed by the grotesque creature's attack. He is a bit surprised to see Davor's attack, but once he regains his wits he moves in to flank the shadowspawn and attacks with a two-handed blow from his scimitar.

Scimitar w/Power Attack: 1d20 + 9 ⇒ (14) + 9 = 23
Damage: 1d6 + 10 ⇒ (2) + 10 = 12

Factored in a +2 assuming I get into flank with Davor. Also, just to be clear, is that spoiler for the thing in front of us or the screeches we just heard?


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Is Tandem's skin rippling as well, even though he made the fort save? Also, can Tandem recognize the sounds in the night?

Knowledge Blight: 1d20 + 8 ⇒ (10) + 8 = 18
Or
Knowledge Nature: 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (2) + 6 = 8


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Sorry I haven't been around guys, I'm at the end of the semester and things are getting hectic.

Reflex: 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (2) + 6 = 8

Fortitude: 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (16) + 6 = 22

At least one of us saved...


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

When Tandem spots the beheaded corpse oozing blood over the Aes Sedai's weave he looks horror struck. "Blood and ashes! How did we not see that happen? Davor should not be alone right now, but I don't suppose I can leave until we find what did this." His eyes begin darting around the room as he tries to see everything at once.

Perception: 1d20 + 13 ⇒ (5) + 13 = 18

Sorry I didn't post sooner. I intended to go with Davor, but looks like he'll have to hold his own for a bit.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Perception: 1d20 + 13 ⇒ (2) + 13 = 15

DOH!


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Tandem grabs the nearest cloth available that doesn't belong to him or his allies and wipes his blade. "For what it's worth, I agree with Natalya Sedai; getting a message sent should be a top priority. Though we also have to do something with the darkfriend," he says, with a clear note of contempt creeping into the last two words.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Tandem lashes out at the creature in concert with the two warders with a quick arc of his blade.

AoO: 1d20 + 9 ⇒ (16) + 9 = 25

Damage: 1d6 + 6 ⇒ (2) + 6 = 8

Wow, I keep messing up my counting. I've been forgetting the +2 from my sword on both attack and damage. I think I'm accounting for everything now.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Edit: If Tandem has dropped this shadowspawn he will move to T10 to block the remaining shadowspawn. If Ss1 is still standing after that last crit Tandem will remain in place to hold it off.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Tandem sees an opening and takes a swing at the creature with another powerful blow.

AoO, still power attacking: 1d20 + 5 ⇒ (4) + 5 = 9

Damage: 1d6 + 10 ⇒ (2) + 10 = 12

As another attack goes wide Tandem takes a moment to steady himself and swings again, completely silent this time as he aims his attack.

Scimitar: 1d20 + 7 ⇒ (18) + 7 = 25

Damage: 1d6 + 4 ⇒ (5) + 4 = 9

Crit confirmation: 1d20 + 7 ⇒ (18) + 7 = 25

Crit damage: 1d6 + 4 ⇒ (1) + 4 = 5

Also, I realized my attack modifier should have been +5 with power attack, not +3 as it says in earlier posts. Doesn't change anything from earlier though.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Will Save: 1d20 + 8 ⇒ (11) + 8 = 19

Tandem steps forward with a roar in an attempt to shake off the effects of the shadowspawn's horrible visage. He continues to press his attack, this time striking at the shadowspawn at S8.

Scimitar with Power Attack: 1d20 + 3 ⇒ (17) + 3 = 20

Damage: 1d6 + 10 ⇒ (3) + 10 = 13

Also, I need to know if these are trollocs, because that could affect my damage (changes the threat range). So...

Knowledge (blight): 1d20 + 8 ⇒ (8) + 8 = 16


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Assuming Tandem is aware of the fight in the other room by now. If not, just tell me and I can revise things cause I'll be able to post more frequently now.

Tandem, momentarily stunned by the ease with which Warrick dispatched another channeler, comes to his senses and realizes he is needed elsewhere. He sidesteps next to Davor and draws his scimitar, arcing through the nearest trolloc with a powerful two-handed blow.

Scimitar with Power Attack: 1d20 + 3 ⇒ (3) + 3 = 6

Damage: 1d6 + 11 ⇒ (1) + 11 = 12


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Initiative: 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (13) + 6 = 19


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Tandem merely grunts in response to Maddy's sarcastic remark, but as he turns his eyes to Miere he says "I'm sorry if I've interrupted, but is there any chance I could speak to you in private, My Lady? It is a delicate matter."


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Tandem attempts to appreciate the competition but, despite Davor's impressive performance, is distracted by considering the other gleeman. After the performances he listens to the exchange between Warrick and Miere, and finally to Warrick and Meridian's comments, a contemplative look on his face the whole time. With a slight shake of his head, Tandem says "You lads are more right than you know."

He then turns to Davor and says "Davor, Meridian and Warrick both have sisters to watch over, but you and I ought to take Meridian's advice and watch each other's backs for tonight." Not actually waiting to hear Davor's reaction, Tandem stalks off in the same direction Maddy and Miere headed with a long stride that barely avoids appearing as if he is running after them.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

RIZZEN:
Do I have to roll anything to learn the weave?


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

RIZZEN:
Is Tandem able to recognize any of the weaves and is the gleeman still holding the power?

Weavesight: 1d20 + 8 ⇒ (12) + 8 = 20

Tandem joins in clapping with Davor and says "Why don't you have him join us here Davor, so he can relax after putting on such a fine performance? If that would be alright with our lady host?"


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Despite it's simplicity Tandem is enjoying his meal. Certainly not the best food I've ever had, but I've had worse and it's been a long day. With the appearance of the gleeman though, a wide smile stretches across Tandem's face as he glances over at Davor. "Well we all know how much you enjoy a good entertainer, Dav." Tandem then gives Davor a wink to let him know that he is merely fooling with him.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Tandem sits in silence through most of the exchange, though anyone paying any attention would notice him attempting to see through Miere's armor. After Miere shouts at her troops, Tandem laughs, much louder than he usually would, and says "Maybe I will take you up on that arm wrestling, my lady." With a wide grin he continues, "It's not often you meet a woman in control of a so many military men. Usually it's only there wives who can command them that way."


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4
Warrick Gentara wrote:
Oops. I'll have to redo the math to be sure, but I don't think I applied the racial ability boost or the exrra skill points either. I will look it over this weekend and make any needed adjustments

Huh. I don't know if I included that. I'll have to double check as well.

Btw, sorry I haven't posted in a bit guys, things have been a bit hectic in Rome. I'm going to go through and read all the stuff I missed on each of my campaigns, so I'll be posting in a few minutes.

Actually, I found out that my roommate and his friend who is here as well are both huge D&D nerds. They haven't seen Pathfinder yet, but I think I may be able to start up another in person game.

*Edit: Fixed it. +2 went to STR.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

I'm hoping it will be awesome. I got good classes and I've heard great things from friends who were in the same program.

(Btw, sending this one from the airport, still don't know what the internet deal will be in Italy).


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Tandem's no healer or rider, so he's not got much chance of doing either option.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Hey guys. I might be unable to post for a couple of days starting tomorrow afternoon. I'm heading to Rome for a semester abroad and my flight is tomorrow. I'll still be able to post when I'm there, but obviously my posting times will change due to the change in time zone. I should be able to get some internet on my second or third day in.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

"Looks like we'll be traveling all day tomorrow to make up for this." Though I'm glad we've finally slowed down.

Davor, 65F is around 18.3C, 40F is 4.4C. If you need to look it up at some point, you can just type it into google.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

1d20 + 2 ⇒ (5) + 2 = 7

No real surprise there.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Cool.

Just wanted to let you guys know I'm gonna be away most of Thursday and Friday. There's a chance I may be able to post, but it is unlikely. In the even that Tandem needs to roll for anything, feel free to take the reins, Rizzen.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Tandem gets on his mount, and anyone who knows him can see that he is uncomfortable. He is much better about horses than he once was, but he still doesn't like riding them. "Blast it all," he mutters as Warrick takes off at what seems to Tandem to be a break-neck speed.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4
RIZZENMAGNUS wrote:

also, a note i forgot to add...

for a higher level aes sedi, you are allowed to "learn" an extra 6+ wisdom modifier weaves.

and "rare" weaves are considered "common". so if a weave says rare, you can learn it. the only ones off limit are the lost weaves

Are rare weaves open to me as well? Don't know if I even want any of them yet, but I figure I may as well ask.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Tandem takes his ring, with a slight hesitation. "I hope you two are right. I don't think you are, but I certainly hope so."

Tandem salutes the general before leaving to make his preparations.


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

"Understood, General. I can certainly see the benefit of having the aid of the One Power on a mission like this," Tandem replies. Though it does get a bit difficult to breath when there are Aes Sedai around. I don't think they know I can channel, but they know more about these things than I do.

"And I will certainly be glad to have a couple of tried and true warders along."


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Tandem scrutinizes the map for a moment, as if the extremely simple representation will provide him further insights, should he just stare at it long enough. In reality, he is looking past the display, deep in thought: Well, this is why I came back. To prove to myself that I'm not a coward. I can't turn the Guard down at their time of need.

Tandem looks up and says "General, I'll gladly lay my life down for the Guard. Though a thought occurs to me. Is it wise to send the sisters on this mission? Won't you need them at the primary battle?


Also, I was wondering if we can use composite longbows? And are we rolling for HP?


RIZZENMAGNUS wrote:

Tandem, what do you have in mind?

Meridan. Any one can roll only the sedai can qualify for angreal. If you roll high enough I can adjust the chart toallow for a more rare ter'angreal.

And ill allow the upgrade of armor.purchase

I didn't actually have anything in mind, I was more asking so that I could browse and skip anything that was not viable. I think I could make use of either an anchor or the sheath of keen blade.

Also, I was thinking that we got a +1 power-wrought as well for some reason. So, do we automatically get the "starting package" masterwork weapon and armor, as well as starting wealth to purchase items? Just trying to get a handle on what materials we can purchase.


Tandem Arandell wrote:

Ok. Well let's play Wheel of Angreal! 1d100

Also, there's no problem with my power-wrought armor being a shield if my guy doesn't wear armor right?

So can that be any minor ter'angreal from the book in addition to the ones you listed?


Ok. Well let's play Wheel of Angreal! 1d100 ⇒ 76

Also, there's no problem with my power-wrought armor being a shield if my guy doesn't wear armor right?


Male Borderlander Woodsman 2/Wilder 4

Tandem checking in.


RIZZENMAGNUS wrote:

solo, there are 2 answers to your question

1) Maintaining an established weave that has a duration "concentration" is a free action. You only have to worry about it when you take damage have to make a concentration check.
2) if you take the feat "tie off weave" you can tie off a weave that has the duration of concentration, and it will last as long as the rules allow. I play an initiate in another campaign, and i would make a club and tie it off before going into battle.

Ok, makes sense. In that case I've picked up the tie off weave feat in lieu of extra talent. I figure the good earth singing weaves aren't til higher level so I can pick that up later.

Background:
Traeth was born the second son to a very minor noble family in Aramaelle. His father was a country nobleman, who spent almost as much time doing manual labor as his subjects. As a youth Traeth was sent to the military, and trained as a forward scout. For several years he was considered something of a coward, due to his fear of riding horses. Who ever heard of a Borderlander who was afraid of horses? But eventually he earned the respect of his peers and commanders due to his success as a scout and uncanny ability to find bands of trollocs. When he was about 18, Tandem was out with a group performing a routine patrol some ways out from their outpost. Somehow, they got ambushed by trollocs, and all of his fellow scouts were hacked apart by the monstrosities. But Traeth survived. When he got back to the outpost his commanders asked him what happened. He told them about the ambush and that he wasn't entirely sure how he managed to escape at all, but that was a lie. In a moment of pure unadulterated horror at the sight of his comrades being savaged Traeth suddenly felt a terrifying surge of energy, accompanied by a gut-wrenching sensation, and he knew what he was. The One Power saved Traeth that night, but he knew what the cost would inevitably be.

After his return the other soldiers started talking, some even accusing him of cowardice right to his face. Who could blame them? He wouldn't discuss any details of the ambush, and everyone assumed he had simply fled. Soon enough the rumors caused enough people to question him, that Tandem was discharged and told to go back to his family's manor. Instead, he spent years wandering the wilderness alone, and it was not until recently that he returned to civilization. He re-enlisted into the guard under the name Tandem, his appearance changed enough due to his use of the Power and his time in the wilderness that he could claim to be a distant cousin from Manetheren. Now Tandem continues his work as an exceptional scout, augmenting his abilities with Saidin during only the most desperate of missions, though he avoids utilizing his true Talents at all costs.

Appearance and Personality:
Tandem is not particularly tall, coming in around 5' 7”, though he weighs a solid 17 stone. He has got somewhat long white hair (ever since discovering his Talent), and dark eyes. Tandem looks to be fairly young – mid- to late-twenties at best – though he has got a look in his eyes that suggests hardened experience. He generally doesn't wear armor, save his power-wrought shield, as it hinders his movement too much while trying to track his opponents.

For the most part Tandem has become very serious. More than anything else he wants to prove himself a brave and capable soldier. That said, if he were to get to know someone well enough he would enjoy being able to laugh again, and a part of him wants to recapture some of his lost youth. Of course, it is difficult to become close to someone when you constantly have to worry about madness and death.

I've decided to make Tandem a bit older than I had originally planned, I think it works better with the background I've set up.

Also, should I make a roll for angreal/ter'angreal?

*Edit @ Natalya Sedai

Natalya:
I was thinking it might be interesting at some point if Tandem became Natalya's warder. Though we'd have to see how things pan out in terms of his big secret.


Here is the profile for hgsolo's character. I'll have the backround up later.


©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.