|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
The core game mechanics, in their entirety, are a stinking, disorganized pile of legacy complexity and painful-to-resolve-at-the-game-table confusion. They should be completely re-factored and streamlined from the ground up. Then, all the rich character creation content that we all love could be rebuilt back onto a cleaner and more coherent foundation.
Or we could just keep piling new stuff into the current mess and I'll love it just the same.
I'm looking for some centaurs to drop into a Fangwood Keep centered campaign. I'm hoping to find a tribe detailed in an adventure path or module somewhere that I can modify and drop into this. I know of the Nomen centaurs in Kingmaker, but those aren't fleshed out much. Anybody know of any others I might look at? I don't care what level they are - I'll adjust as required.
So.... if Savith beheaded Ydersius at the lake of fire (B5), why is all this cool stuff still here (for example the epic library not far away at B14)?
Wouldn't the Azlanti have hauled all this stuff away? Or did they decide "ah well, since we gave them such a bad day already, we'll just leave them this awesome sanctum full of priceless knowledge". Did I miss something about the Azlanti withdrawing after Ydersius's defeat?
Seems like this would have been a fine place to loot.
Carbon D. Metric wrote:
Sadly you have to expend rounds on a 1-1 basis for these things, but keep in mind by the time you CAN use it you have it for almost a full minutes worth of time a day already, so it's not so bad.
Thanks for replying to my post.
So you're saying it dissipates when the summoner stops expending his rounds-per-day to maintain it, right?
Daniel Galos wrote:
So I was wondering if there are any rules regarding how a mount must move during combat.
Since you said Cavalier... a couple other notes:
You need to keep your eye on the Cavalier. He gets huge bonuses on charges and so will want to charge all the time. The reason he gets those big bonuses is because it is supposed to be difficult to set up a charge. Make sure you know at least the following:
* Movement During a Charge: You must move at least 10 feet (2 squares) and may move up to double your speed directly toward the designated opponent.
* You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles).
* You must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent. If this space is occupied or otherwise blocked, you can't charge.
* If any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you can't charge.
* If you don't have line of sight to the opponent at the start of your turn, you can't charge that opponent.
* If you are able to take only a standard action on your turn, you can still charge, but you are only allowed to move up to your speed (instead of up to double your speed) and you cannot draw a weapon unless you possess the Quick Draw feat. You can't use this option unless you are restricted to taking only a standard action on your turn.
from Mounted Combat:
* If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack (so your mount can't single or double move, then you full round attack)
Daniel Galos wrote:
My question is whether or not the dinosaur has to take time to turn around once he has ended around. Can he just do an instant 180 turn like a normal character or are there rules that govern movement kind of like when a character.
Facing doesn't matter when you are on the ground. There are no rules governing facing, so whether he could turn around or not is not relevant.
As you noted, facing does matter when you are flying, but only during your move, not before or after.
Cleric Cloud subdomain:
Thundercloud (Su): At 8th level, you can, as a standard action, summon a storm cloud. This power functions as fog cloud except that creatures inside the cloud are deafened and take 2d6 points of electricity damage each round from the flashes of thunder and lightning. Once created, you can concentrate on the cloud to move it up to 30 feet each round. You can use this ability for a number of rounds per day equal to your cleric level. These rounds do not need to be consecutive.
At my table, there are two competing interpretations of this:
1) The storm cloud lasts only as long as you are willing expend your "number of rounds per day equal to your cleric level", and immediately dissipates when you don't wish to expend any more of those rounds. With your remaining rounds, you can summon and move a new cloud just the same.
2) Once you summon a cloud (using one round of your ability), the cloud stays and dissipates according to the fog cloud rules. No further rounds of your ability are expended unless you choose to spend one to move the cloud, as stated in the rules.
It seems to me that both of these interpretations are compatible with the "These rounds do not need to be consecutive" clause. The real question is: what is the duration of the fog cloud?
Thanks for posting your group's experience with this module. It's very helpful to someone preparing to run this unique adventure.
I was wondering if you might also comment on how the defense/supply/discovery camp mechanic has played with your group, and if you would recommend using it as is. The discovery part seems a bit weak to me, and I am not sure how that will fit into my group's style of play.
I can't figure out how the First Mate, in the Game Mastery Guide, p295, gets 4 attacks when wielding 2 short swords.
Melee +1 short sword +15/+10 (1d6+6/17–20) or
I get the 2nd attack on the offhand from Improved two-weapon fighting, but what about the main hand? What am I missing?
Mathwei ap Niall wrote:
So under Beast Rider it says: "The animal chosen as a mount must be large enough to carry the beast rider (medium or large for a small character; large or huge for a medium character)." And, like you said, it says a small cavalier can take a wolf, which is similar to a riding dog.
The beast rider does make a sacrifice, however, in that he is not proficient with heavy armor like the regular cavalier.
They other confusing thing is that they then go to great lengths to limit the medium cavalier's mount, even if it is a normally huge creature, to large size. I think this section all poorly written actually, since they just said huge is ok in the previous paragraph.
Anyway, at this point, I think the real question has become, is there a good gameplay reason not to advance the riding dog to large at 7th level?
Mathwei ap Niall wrote:
Interesting. I will take a look at UC tonight. If that is the case, maybe it would be more appropriate to advance the Riding Dog at 4th level along the lines of the pony or camel, with no size increase, like:
4th-Level Advancement: Ability Scores Str +2, Con +2.
Thanks for your advice!
Mathwei ap Niall wrote:
Thanks again for replying.
Does it say that specifically somewhere, or are you inferring it from the mounts that are listed?
Mathwei ap Niall wrote:
Actually no, the riding dog companion doesn't advance at 7th level. There is no 7th level advancement listed for dog's under the Druid animal companion so there is no legal 7th level advancement.
There is no "riding dog animal companion" ever mentioned in those rules. Apparently it is worth stating this a third time: Dog is not the same as Riding Dog. The Dog animal companion rules do not apply.
Here is what does apply: The Cavalier class says: "The GM might approve other animals as suitable mounts."
Riding dog seems a pretty suitable mount. So if a GM approves it, he has to come up with advancement rules for it. The Druid animal companion section says: "As you gain levels, your animal companion improves as well, usually at 4th or 7th level"
The medium to large transitions of the other mounts happen at 7th, so it makes sense to level the Riding Dog at 7th level.
Thanks for replying.
The Small cavalier's 4th-level mount is equivalent to the Bestiary riding dog.
Umm, no. Its not. Add the 4th level Dog advancement in the Druid animal companion rules to the starting Dog stats in the same section, and what you get is not equivalent to the Riding Dog. Furthermore, neither the Druid animal companion section, nor the Cavalier base class mention anything about Riding Dog.
Perhaps its worth pointing out again that Dog and Riding Dog are two different creatures.
Now you are just making stuff up. The reason a Cavalier can't choose a Dog (Dog, not Riding Dog) or Boar until 4th level is because they are size small until 4th level.
Anyway, the question is already answered: Use the Universal Monster Rules to advance the Riding Dog to size Large at 7th level.
Thanks again for replying.
Have to be 4th to even take dog. before that its pony or wolf for small cavs.
A Small cavalier can select a pony or wolf, but can also select a boar or a dog if he is at least 4th level
That is true, but this is only because of size. Until 4th level, a dog is small, so a small creature couldn't ride it.
But it doesn't really matter, because dog and riding dog aren't the same. Riding dog isn't covered in the rules.
A medium to large advancement at 7th level, like the wolf, which is exactly the medium to large monster advancement rule, is the way to go.
They use the standard dog rules for having a dog mount.
Thanks for replying, but that doesn't really work. The dog is small, while the riding dog is medium. The advancement rules for small to medium are quite different than medium to large.
Dog 4th-Level Advancement: Size Medium; Attack bite (1d6); Ability Scores Str +4, Dex –2, Con +2.
The riding dog already is that size and has that attack.
After looking a bit more, I think I will just use the wolf companion 7th level advancement as is, as they are straightforward, and these two animals are somewhat alike:
Wolf 7th-Level Advancement: Size Large; AC +2 natural armor; Attack bite (1d8); Ability Scores Str +8, Dex –2, Con +4.
I have a halfling cavalier with a riding dog mount in my campaign. I am wondering, are there some animal companion stats for riding dogs somewhere? Like 4th/7th level advancement bonuses? I can't find them.
It seems odd to me that I can find companion stats for something so unlikely as elasmosaurus, but not so bloody obvious as a riding dog.
Now that I've complained about the image resolution being too high, let me complain about it being too low :)
The maps in the adventure paths are beautiful. I love to extract the images and print them out full size for the table. Theycome out a bit blocky, but generally look good enough, except for the full pagers, which are too low a resolution to enlarge to 1"x1" size without looking pretty shabby. This is a shame because they are such awesome maps, I want to share them with my players.
I wish there were some way you could make higher resolution map images available to subscribers.
Thanks for all the great content.
you make a reflex save."This save DC is Constitution-based." means that the lizards constitution modifier is what determines the dc for the save. (10+1/2 hd +ability modifier) so if someone cast bull strength on a friendly shocker lizard the dc would be 14
Ahh, right. The DC. Thanks!
The shocker lizard's Shock (Su) text says:
"Shocker lizards can deliver an electrical shock to a single opponent within 5 feet. This attack deals 1d8 points of nonlethal electricity damage to living opponents (Reflex DC 12 half). This save DC is Constitution-based."
So is it a Reflex save or a Con save? This looks like an error to me, but maybe someone can point out something I've missed.
Has anyone noticed that the PDFs don't display correctly on iPad? The capital A used in the headings doesn't show and the other letters are mispositioned around its spot. Tried with GoodReader and iBooks. Also tried on MacBook pro and had the same problem. Looks fine on my windows readers.
I am seeing this issue with all of the PDFs I have purchased from Paizo.