Does a Tanuki in Tea Kettle form have to breath?


Rules Discussion


Does a Tanuki need to breath while in tea kettle form. As well is the object considered biological?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm pretty sure it keeps the same stats as the base creature, save where explicitly stated.

So to answer your questions: yes and yes.


Polymorph effects only grant the form, as in appearance and shape, but nothing else unless it's listed. So a Tanuki isn't becoming a tea kettle, only itself in the shape of a tea kettle. If used to make tea, say over a fire, the Tanuki will burn like a Tanuki, not resist it like a kettle. But they also wouldn't become vulnerable to effects that target metal or only objects. In previous RPGs, polymorph effects which made you the actual creature/object/etc. allowed for far too many loopholes and exceptional abilities to handle, so for balance PF2 started from nothing so polymorph would only dole out suitable, listed abilities (as well as excellent disguises).


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Don't the tanuki abilities say that they can be used like the real item though?

That leads me to believe that you could use the tea kettle over a fire just fine, since that is it's intended purpose.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Ravingdork wrote:

Don't the tanuki abilities say that they can be used like the real item though?

That leads me to believe that you could use the tea kettle over a fire just fine, since that is it's intended purpose.

Mechanically, I tend to agree.

It's worth noting that the original myth (or at least the version I heard) had the tanuki-teapot very much unable to withstand fire as a teakettle, halfway-reverting and running off whenever it happened.

In practice, I think it's best to go with whatever is funniest.


QuidEst wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

Don't the tanuki abilities say that they can be used like the real item though?

That leads me to believe that you could use the tea kettle over a fire just fine, since that is it's intended purpose.

Mechanically, I tend to agree.

It's worth noting that the original myth (or at least the version I heard) had the tanuki-teapot very much unable to withstand fire as a teakettle, halfway-reverting and running off whenever it happened.

In practice, I think it's best to go with whatever is funniest.

Apologies, I was defaulting to the general rules and hadn't examined any specific Tanuki ones (which would override of course). Trouble is that Teakettle Form is a can of worms. The many uses of all simple tools and objects would unlock too broad an array of abilities IMO (and at Level 1 at that) if one were to include mechanical benefits like fire resistance. It's so strong that PFS explicitly reiterates one cannot gain mechanical benefits from any of the Tanuki forms.

So yeah, you can warm you tea in it, but anything that would cause hit point damage would still damage the Tanuki. And no, I don't know where that line re: temperature is since while stoves hurt, it'd be silly to think one could die with repeated poking.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Castilliano wrote:
So yeah, you can warm you tea in it, but anything that would cause hit point damage would still damage the Tanuki. And no, I don't know where that line re: temperature is since while stoves hurt, it'd be silly to think one could die with repeated poking.

My thoughts: You are allowed to function as the tool you transform into. That does let you do the work of the tool without taking damage even in adverse conditions. That doesn't give you resistances or immunities to damage or negative conditions from anything else.

So you could be a teakettle set over a fire to heat water. You could be a pincushion and hold a few dozen pins. Being a teakettle doesn't protect you from a Fire Breath spell. Being a pincushion doesn't protect you from damage from a rapier.

QuidEst wrote:

It's worth noting that the original myth (or at least the version I heard) had the tanuki-teapot very much unable to withstand fire as a teakettle, halfway-reverting and running off whenever it happened.

In practice, I think it's best to go with whatever is funniest.

Maybe have it be a Will save. Just because it doesn't do damage doesn't mean that it doesn't hurt.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Finoan wrote:

My thoughts: You are allowed to function as the tool you transform into. That does let you do the work of the tool without taking damage even in adverse conditions. That doesn't give you resistances or immunities to damage or negative conditions from anything else.

So you could be a teakettle set over a fire to heat water. You could be a pincushion and hold a few dozen pins. Being a teakettle doesn't protect you from a Fire Breath spell. Being a pincushion doesn't protect you from damage from a rapier.

More or less how I interpret it as well.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Ravingdork wrote:
Finoan wrote:

My thoughts: You are allowed to function as the tool you transform into. That does let you do the work of the tool without taking damage even in adverse conditions. That doesn't give you resistances or immunities to damage or negative conditions from anything else.

So you could be a teakettle set over a fire to heat water. You could be a pincushion and hold a few dozen pins. Being a teakettle doesn't protect you from a Fire Breath spell. Being a pincushion doesn't protect you from damage from a rapier.

More or less how I interpret it as well.

I think it pretty much has to be this way or some of the later transformations just don't work. For example, in Landscape form you provides delicious food. That just about HAS to violate the normal transformation rules as otherwise people are eating PART of you. Objects taken out of you turn into leaves. Clearly significantly more than the normal transformation rules is going on.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I also recommend leaning on the rule of funny when possible. In the original, the tanuki turned into a teakettle, but sprouted legs and scampered away whenever someone tried to put them over a fire to heat water.

I certainly agree that heating water without damage should be fine, but it shouldn't be comfortable, unless that's funnier. XP


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Obvious solution: ifrit tanuki.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Does a Tanuki in Tea Kettle form have to breath? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.