Scrolls


Rules Discussion


If I enter a fight with a scroll in one hand, can I during combat cast a three action spell ie. wall Of Stone from it?


3 people marked this as a favorite.

If you can actually cast the spell because you are a caster and have it on your spell list, sure.

If you're using Trick Magic Item then no, since it takes an action to use TMI so you don't have 3 actions left for the spell.


Thanks Blave! Also is the DC of the scroll the same as my normal spell DC?

And what if it's a spell that is on the Occult list (Bard) but not in my spell repertoire? Would it still only take 3 actions to cast or would I not be able to since I would need to trick magic item?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

It uses your normal spell DC. And as long as it's on the Occult list and you are an Occult caster you can cast it. No need to have it in your Repertoire.


This is interesting, so your saying I could take Spell Trickster dedication, toppling tentacles as a Bard even if I don't have it in my repertoire. I could then cast three action spell as long as the scroll is already in hand?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Toppling Tentacles have the prerequisites of "ability to cast black tentacles". So I could see a GM objecting if you don't have it in your Repertoire as you would functionaly be unable to cast it. I'd personally ask that as it makes no sense to have a feat you can't really use by yourself.

Besides that point, yes, you can cast Toppling Tentacles from a Scroll.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Scrolls All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.