What is "within range" for Echoing Channel?


Rules Discussion

Dark Archive

The feat in question

The old version of the feat was much clearer, imo.
Linkified

The wording on the new version, to me, doesn't necessarily read as updated wording to an existing feat. To me, the changed words almost certainly imply a change in functionality.

So, is "in range" supposed to mean "in range of the original, 2-action Heal"? In which case, neat buff.

Or is "in range" supposed to mean "in range of the 1-action Heal we're now going to choose a target for"? In which case, sad nerf.

Given the general paradigm of Remaster stuff, I'm inclined to believe the former is intended, but is that what the words themselves say? I'm too tired atm to make an assessment ^_^;;


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Yes this in range is based in 2-action heal.

It's not hard to understand just break the lines and the things becomes clear:

Quote:

When you pull forth vitality or void energy, you also create a smaller pocket of that energy.

If the next action you use is to cast a 2-action harm or heal to heal or damage a single creature, choose one additional creature in range.

Target that creature with a 1-action version of the same spell.

This spell is the same rank as the 2-action harm or heal you cast and doesn’t cost another spell slot.

So "choose one additional creature in range" is in the same sentence of "If the next action you use is to cast a 2-action harm or heal" and it's referring to it.

And yes the remaster buffs it. The legacy version was a bit complicated because requires that te secondary target to be adjacent to you or the target of the spell (whats also limited this feat too much when you do a 2-actions self heal). This new version is more simple because allows to apply the secondary heal in any ally in 30ft range.


Yeah, I read it as in range of the 2-action Heal you're currently casting


I also go with the second target being within the same range as the 2-action Heal of the primary target.

I don't really find it easy to come to that conclusion. But it is the conclusion that I eventually come to.

Paizo Employee Community & Social Media Specialist

1 person marked this as a favorite.

This tripped me up the first few times I read it as well! It's my understanding, as many have said here, that the range is within the same range as the 2-action harm/heal creature. My brain created the new sentence of, "If the next action you use is to cast a 2-action harm or heal to heal or damage a single creature, choose one additional creature within that range," and it made things a little better for me!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I feel it might be simpler if you just remember that it's a spellshape, and so the range it's referring to is that of the spell it's altering

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / What is "within range" for Echoing Channel? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.