Question on pricing on Darts


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

If I wanted to buy magic darts do I pay for each magic dart or do I get a quantity since they are destroyed when used?

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Why would it be destroyed?
If you don't want to individually enchant throwing items you can use a Thrower's Bandolier


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

The dart hits a shield sticks in the shield and bends down to impede the use of the shield. Thanks for the idea of the throwers bandolier I'll use it.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

That's not how Pathfinder darts work; they are not "ammunition", which is single use, but thrown weapons (think knives) which can be gathered up and reused.

As an aside, I THINK that you're taking your idea of the darts from the Roman pilum, they're actually plumbata.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Darrell Impey UK wrote:
That's not how Pathfinder darts work; they are not "ammunition", which is single use, but thrown weapons

Unless you are using an Atlatl. At which point it becomes a lot less clear on that.


Finoan wrote:
Darrell Impey UK wrote:
That's not how Pathfinder darts work; they are not "ammunition", which is single use, but thrown weapons
Unless you are using an Atlatl. At which point it becomes a lot less clear on that.

Or a Thunder Sling.

Grand Archive

Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Elric200 wrote:
The dart hits a shield sticks in the shield and bends down to impede the use of the shield. Thanks for the idea of the throwers bandolier I'll use it.

Note that nothing in the PF2 rules let you "impede" shields usage with darts. If there is in your game, that's homebrew, and thus will need GM adjucation to decide if the subject of your question should be homebrewed too. But yeah, that do change the implications behind your question.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

I was speaking IRL how the Plumbata worked not in Pathfinder rules.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Elric200 wrote:
I was speaking IRL how the Plumbata worked not in Pathfinder rules.

Ok. I was confused, because you posted in the Pathfinder2 rules forum, not the roman history section.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Question on pricing on Darts All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.