GM Core and Player Core 1 and 2 are in conflict - Splash Trait


Rules Discussion

Liberty's Edge

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

GM Core: " If an attack with a splash weapon fails, succeeds, or critically succeeds,
all creatures within 5 feet of the target (including the target) take the listed splash damage. On a critical failure, the bomb misses entirely, dealing no damage."

Player Core 1 and 2: " A splash weapon or effect deals any listed splash damage to the target on a failure, success, or critical success and to all other creatures
within 5 feet of the target on a success or critical success. On a critical failure, the weapon or effect misses entirely, dealing no damage."

GM Core says those within 5' take damage from a *failure*; PC1 and 2 say only on a *success* or *critical success*.

Which is it?


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

If the player core 2 matches the player core 1 language, I am guessing we’ll get errata on this pretty quickly, but right now, no one knows. Technically, PC2 isn’t released yet, so there won’t be any official comment on that case until after release date.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

This again?

Good.

Keep repeating it until they fix it.


Evin1947 wrote:
Failure, Success, or Critical Success: All creatures within 5 feet of the target (including the target) take the listed splash damage.

That is what GM Core says.

PC1 says that only the target takes the splash damage on a failure. The creatures within 5 feet of the target only take the listed splash damage on a success or critical success.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Eoran wrote:
Evin1947 wrote:
Failure, Success, or Critical Success: All creatures within 5 feet of the target (including the target) take the listed splash damage.

That is what GM Core says.

PC1 says that only the target takes the splash damage on a failure. The creatures within 5 feet of the target only take the listed splash damage on a success or critical success.

PC2 agrees with PC1:

Player Core 2 p. 283 wrote:
A splash weapon or effect deals any listed splash damage to the target on a failure, success, or critical success and to all other creatures within 5 feet of the target on a success or critical success.

Based on that, I feel like the more likely assumption is that GM Core is wrong. Lots of stuff for the next round of errata to sort out.

Sovereign Court

2 people marked this as a favorite.

The new Alchemist's Goggles also lean in to the new wording:

PC2 p. 310 wrote:

If your Strike with an alchemical bomb fails (but doesn’t

critically fail), you gain a +1 item bonus to the splash damage
the target of the Strike takes.

No mention of anyone else taking damage. Could be a coincidence, but I don't think so. GMC has old wording which could be a leftover; PC1 and PC2 have new wording which someone would have to put in there intentionally.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Tridus wrote:

PC2 agrees with PC1:

Player Core 2 p. 283 wrote:
A splash weapon or effect deals any listed splash damage to the target on a failure, success, or critical success and to all other creatures within 5 feet of the target on a success or critical success.
Based on that, I feel like the more likely assumption is that GM Core is wrong. Lots of stuff for the next round of errata to sort out.

I am unwilling to assign correctness or incorrectness of any of the general rules based solely on quantity of repetition. The sample size is simply too small.

Similarly I am unwilling to assign correctness or incorrectness of the general rule based on whether the rulebook is intended primarily for GMs or players.

If it was one item that had a different rule for its splash mechanics, then it would be an override of the general rules and the item's rule would take priority, but only when resolving the actions involving that item. The general rules themselves have no such heuristic for prioritization.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Tridus wrote:
Eoran wrote:
Evin1947 wrote:
Failure, Success, or Critical Success: All creatures within 5 feet of the target (including the target) take the listed splash damage.

That is what GM Core says.

PC1 says that only the target takes the splash damage on a failure. The creatures within 5 feet of the target only take the listed splash damage on a success or critical success.

PC2 agrees with PC1:

Player Core 2 p. 283 wrote:
A splash weapon or effect deals any listed splash damage to the target on a failure, success, or critical success and to all other creatures within 5 feet of the target on a success or critical success.
Based on that, I feel like the more likely assumption is that GM Core is wrong. Lots of stuff for the next round of errata to sort out.

I prefer the original interpretation. Splash damage on a miss makes a lot of sense.

It does need a fix though.


6 people marked this as a favorite.

My blind guess is that the PC2 wording is correct because it's both the newest rules source, is corroborated elsewhere, and is an actual change to the rules.

But I'd rather not guess, it's been nearly ten months since Paizo printed PC1/GMC and gave us two books that tell us to run splash in completely different ways. I feel like we shouldn't have to guess, especially for something this fundamental.

Lantern Lodge

Baarogue wrote:

Well spotted, but if you quote the spam link your post needs to be flagged as spam as well, just for future reference

And for the mod checking those flagged posts, the "Uno Online" link in the quotes is the offending element

You're right, they removed my post as spam, but didn't remove the post I both identified as spam and flagged as spam!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / GM Core and Player Core 1 and 2 are in conflict - Splash Trait All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.