| Finoan |
TL;DR - probably not.
Hopefully it will get an errata pass in Player Core 2. It is a CRB Monk feat.
Until then, I would likely run it as being Forced Movement (with ability to move creature to a hazardous location).
I would not allow it to affect another creature by throwing the target into them. So (in addition to other shenanigans) the ability only does damage to the one thrown creature.
Also, since one creature cannot end its movement for its turn in the space of another creature (with a few exceptions, but Whirling Throw is not one of them), then you can't choose to throw a creature into another creature's space even if it doesn't cause damage to the second creature.
| Trip.H |
I'm going to echo Finoan and go with forced movement. The specific relevant line:
If forced movement would move you into a space you can't occupy—because objects are in the way or because you lack the movement type needed to reach it, for example—you stop moving in the last space you can occupy.
So if you tried to throw someone onto someone else, barring tiny size or other exceptions, the foe would stop in the space before the overlap.
| Errenor |
Also, since one creature cannot end its movement for its turn in the space of another creature (with a few exceptions, but Whirling Throw is not one of them), then you can't choose to throw a creature into another creature's space even if it doesn't cause damage to the second creature.
Well, narratively you could. Why not?
But mechanically, yes, thrown creature only gets effect of the feat and 'target' creature suffers nothing at all. And they turn out still in different squares.| Finoan |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
Finoan wrote:Also, since one creature cannot end its movement for its turn in the space of another creature (with a few exceptions, but Whirling Throw is not one of them), then you can't choose to throw a creature into another creature's space even if it doesn't cause damage to the second creature.Well, narratively you could. Why not?
But mechanically, yes, thrown creature only gets effect of the feat and 'target' creature suffers nothing at all. And they turn out still in different squares.
Yes, narratively that could be described as:
You throw your grabbed opponent into one of their allies. That ally of your enemy staggers slightly, but plants their feet and holds firm. Your thrown enemy slides down their ally and rolls into the space adjacent to them.
Mechanically, the enemy was thrown into the adjacent space closest to their ally. The thrown creature was affected by the ability, but their ally was not affected.