Can you Manipulate or Interact wearing Buckler?


Rules Discussion

Verdant Wheel

Community,
As the title. If you are wearing a Buckler, can you use an action with the Manipulate tag with that same hand? What about an Interact action?

(Linking this relevant feat - Nimble Shield Hand - for comparative purposes).

Buckler:

This very small shield is a favorite of duelists and quick, lightly armored warriors. It’s typically made of steel and strapped to your forearm. You can Raise a Shield with your buckler as long as you have that hand free or are holding a light object that’s not a weapon in that hand.

Manipulate:

You must physically manipulate an item or make gestures to use an action with this trait. Creatures without a suitable appendage can’t perform actions with this trait. Manipulate actions often trigger reactions.

Interact:

You use your hand or hands to manipulate an object or the terrain. You can grab an unattended or stored object, open a door, or produce some similar effect. You might have to attempt a skill check to determine if your Interact action was successful.

Nimble Shield Hand:

You are so used to wielding a shield that you can do so even while using the hand that's holding it for other purposes. The hand you use to wield a shield counts as a free hand for the purposes of the Interact action. You can also hold another object in this hand (but you still can't use it to wield a weapon). This benefit doesn't apply to tower shields, which are still too cumbersome.

...

Cheers!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yes.

Though a general rules question.

Verdant Wheel

Blake's Tiger wrote:
Yes.

What is the purpose of Nimble Shield Hand then?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Shields that aren't bucklers.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Bucklers are shields. They give an AC bonus and are on the same table as wooden, steel, and tower shields.

But bucklers are strapped on, where other shields have to be held, thus taking a hand. Nimble Shield Hand allows a person using a shield to use that hand for specific purposes as provided by the feat.

Verdant Wheel

Is there explicit language to back these claims?

Buckler wrote:
"You can Raise a Shield with your buckler as long as you have that hand free or are holding a light object that’s not a weapon in that hand."

This is the closest I can find, but it only seems to support holding an item, not using Manipulate-tagged or Interact actions.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
CRB pg, 277 wrote:
Most shields must be held in one hand, so you can’t hold anything with that hand and Raise a Shield. A buckler, however, doesn’t take up your hand, so you can Raise a Shield with a buckler if the hand is free (or, at the GM’s discretion, if it’s holding a simple, lightweight object that’s not a weapon).

If the hand can be free, it can manipulate/interact. If it cannot manipulate/interact, it cannot be free.

Sczarni

Indeed.

If your reading of the rules requires fluency of binary, you should probably start learning a new language.


01010000 01110010 01101111 01100010 01100001 01100010 01101100 01111001

Liberty's Edge

Blake's Tiger wrote:
01010000 01110010 01101111 01100010 01100001 01100010 01101100 01111001

A whole lot of characters to get an eight letter response!


Hexadecimal is much better. ;)

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

43 6f 6d 6d 65 20 6c 65 20 66 72 61 6e e7 61 69 73 3f

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can you Manipulate or Interact wearing Buckler? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.