Questions about the Wizard Spellbook and the number of pages used per spell.


Rules Questions


I'm a little confused as to how pages in spellbooks work in pathfinder- Based on what I read it said "A spell takes up one page of the spellbook per spell level. Even a 0-level spell (cantrip) takes one page" does that mean each spell takes up one page? Or is it saying something like a 2nd level spell takes up 2 pages, a 3rd level spell takes up 3 pages and ect. Does anyone know the correct way that's handled? also furthermore- Am I able to purchase multiple spell books to have more pages? Or can I only use one spell book and I would have to upgrade to a blessed book if I wanted more? And finally, my spells gained from leveling up also count towards pages used right? Or do they not count and it's only for extra spells you try to learn?

Sorry for my cluelessness here, Thanks in advance to anyone who can break this all down for me.

Dark Archive

every spell counts, even those for leveling up

yes, 5th level spells take up 5 pages, 2nd level 2 pages, etc

there is no limit to how many books you can have, most wizards keep a back up book in a safe location in case their primary book gets stolen/lost/destroyed


First sentence says 1 page per spell level. Second one makes an exception for cantrips (which would need no space otherwise).

If you take the CRB literally, a wizard can only use a single spellbook. I don't think an upgrade to a blessed book is possible by RAW, so technically you would have to copy all spells into the new book.

The bonus spells from level up require space in the book, too.

Wizard has several fiddly restrictions (1 hour of preparation, needs component pouch, needs spellbook, probably needs bonded item and whatnot). I guess that's supposed to compensate for the most powerful spell list and the option to learn a (theoretically) unlimited amount of spells. Maybe some wizard players even enjoy these fiddly bits. But unless it's a really gritty campaign, as a GM I wouldn't bother with such details. And it's a bad way to balance the class - better nerf or forbid spells that are problematic.

Liberty's Edge

Quote:
Duplicating an existing spellbook uses the same procedure as replacing it, but the task is much easier. The time requirement and cost per spell are halved.

That quote implies that you can have multiple speelbooks.


There's also nothing stopping your wizard from just stitching together the bindings of a bunch of "spellbooks" together into one really big spellbook. Especially since book binding in this time period was more often than not just slapping a string, cord, or rivet to both ends, which could be undone and more pages added before rebinding.

I have had a (relative to the number of times I've been a player) large number of wizards with extended floating disks carrying around 1000 page, 30lb spellbooks because I'd need to quick study in a single spell from my list and the character couldn't carry 30lb on their own and spent too much money on new spells to afford forgot to buy a bag of holding.

Scarab Sages

Huh I've always thought cantrips were 1/2 a page.


@Senko: The cost for scrolls and inscribing them is halved in comparison to 1st-level spells.

Diego Rossi wrote:
Quote:
Duplicating an existing spellbook uses the same procedure as replacing it, but the task is much easier. The time requirement and cost per spell are halved.
That quote implies that you can have multiple speelbooks.

Yeah, you can have multiple. However, the CRB has a lot of text that implies you can use only one for preparation.

Wizard class description:

Quote:
He must choose and prepare his spells ahead of time by getting 8 hours of sleep and spending 1 hour studying his spellbook.
Quote:
A bonded object can be used once per day to cast any one spell that the wizard has in his spellbook
Quote:
Each day, a wizard can prepare a spell from his specialty school in that slot. This spell must be in the wizard’s spellbook.
Quote:

Spellbooks: A wizard must study his spellbook each day to prepare his spells. He cannot prepare any spell not recorded in his spellbook, except for read magic, which all wizards can prepare from memory.

A wizard begins play with a spellbook containing all 0-level wizard spells (except those from his opposed schools, if any; see Arcane Schools) plus three 1st-level spells of his choice. The wizard also selects a number of additional 1st-level spells equal to his Intelligence modifier to add to the spellbook. At each new wizard level, he gains two new spells of any spell level or levels that he can cast (based on his new wizard level) for his spellbook.

At any time, a wizard can also add spells found in other wizards’ spellbooks to his own (see Chapter 9).

Chapter 9:

Quote:
Spell Selection and Preparation: Until he prepares spells from his spellbook, the only spells a wizard has available to cast are the ones that he already had prepared from the previous day and has not yet used.
Quote:
A wizard can use a borrowed spellbook to prepare a spell he already knows and has recorded in his own spellbook, but preparation success is not assured.
Quote:
Each time a character attains a new wizard level, he gains two spells of his choice to add to his spellbook.
Quote:
A wizard can also add a spell to his book whenever he encounters one on a magic scroll or in another wizard’s spellbook. (...) If the check succeeds, the wizard understands the spell and can copy it into his spellbook (see Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook).
Quote:
Once a wizard understands a new spell, he can record it into his spellbook.

On the other hand, there is this conflicting quote in chapter 9:

Quote:
Wizards also must have access to their spellbooks to study from and sufficient light to read them.

Also such a restriction could probably be bypassed: You prepare some spells from spellbook A, then you declare spellbook B "your" spellbook and prepare some spells from there.


You acquire 2 spells in your spellbook when you level for any and all levels of spells you can cast right? So, you start w/all the core book cantrips and 3 level 1 spells plus a number of L1 spells equal to your Int bonus, then when you level to L2 you get 2 cantrips, 2 L1 spells right?

At that rate, a standard 100 page spellbook is gonna be out of pages by what, 6th level? Faster if you copy from captured spellbooks, research to create a new spell or pay an NPC to let you copy one of theirs. You GOTTA be able to carry multiple books and study them all.

Liberty's Edge

Mark Hoover 330 wrote:

You acquire 2 spells in your spellbook when you level for any and all levels of spells you can cast right? So, you start w/all the core book cantrips and 3 level 1 spells plus a number of L1 spells equal to your Int bonus, then when you level to L2 you get 2 cantrips, 2 L1 spells right?

At that rate, a standard 100 page spellbook is gonna be out of pages by what, 6th level? Faster if you copy from captured spellbooks, research to create a new spell or pay an NPC to let you copy one of theirs. You GOTTA be able to carry multiple books and study them all.

You get 2 spells, not 2 spells for every level of spells you can cast.

Quote:

At each new wizard level, he gains two new spells of any spell level or levels that he can cast (based on his new wizard level) for his spellbook.[/quote[


I believe someone already calculated how many pages you need for a 20th level wizard. But let me try to math it out here:

All non-rare cantrips
5+initial intelligence 1st level spells
4 2nd level spells (repeat up to 9th level spells)

The number of spells is then 4* sum(2 to 9) +5 +initial int + all non-rare cantrips. Which is a minimum (assuming 0 int and 0 cantrips) of 181 pages. Just under two 100 page spellbooks.


SheepishEidolon wrote:


However, the CRB has a lot of text that implies you can use only one for preparation.

Wizard class description:

Quote:
He must choose and prepare his spells ahead of time by getting 8 hours of sleep and spending 1 hour studying his spellbook.
Quote:
A bonded object can be used once per day to cast any one spell that the wizard has in his spellbook
Quote:
Each day, a wizard can prepare a spell from his specialty school in that slot. This spell must be in the wizard’s spellbook.
Quote:

Spellbooks: A wizard must study his spellbook each day to prepare his spells. He cannot prepare any spell not recorded in his spellbook, except for read magic, which all wizards can prepare from memory.

That's overanalyzing the rules. They could have written "spellbook or spellbooks", but editors trying to conserve space and all that. Or even just "spellbook(s)", but again chose not to.

But for a real world example, if I made the statement, "I need to look up the formula in my math book." Would you assume I only own one math book? Would that even imply I only own one? While "books" is certainly plural, "book" could be singular or plural depending on context. eg, I might own several math books, but only one that lists the quadratic formula (or even multiple that contain the quadratic formula), but for me to state "I need to look up the formula in my math books." sounds a little odd. "Book" in that sentance is easily understood to refer to the specific book (of several) that contains that particular formula OR one of several books that all contain the formula.


"Mark Hoover 330 wrote:
At that rate, a standard 100 page spellbook is gonna be out of pages by what, 6th level? Faster if you copy from captured spellbooks, research to create a new spell or pay an NPC to let you copy one of theirs. You GOTTA be able to carry multiple books and study them all.

Blessed book is in the CRB, with 1,000 pages. That's more than five times the number from Temperans.

Side note: The level 20 wizard from NPC Codex has only one spellbook, but her spells would need more than 100 pages.

Quote:
But for a real world example, if I made the statement, "I need to look up the formula in my math book." Would you assume I only own one math book? Would that even imply I only own one?

Might be the different language, but yes, here in Germany such a sentence can imply that you own exactly one math book.

Personally, I'd usually allow a wizard to use multiple books, even if the rules would clearly forbid it. It's just that IMO the rules aren't clear about it.


Considering the many time looted wizard spellbooks say "this contains all spells of up to X level" and they are usually said to have a library or at the very least a bookcase with research.

Yeah wizards are meant to be able to use multiple books.


I still think you all are missing the benefit of a 300lb, 10,000 page spellbook, especially when the wizard has access to the telekinesis spell for a 12d6 reusable hurling object.[/s]

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
AwesomenessDog wrote:
I still think you all are missing the benefit of a 300lb, 10,000 page spellbook, especially when the wizard has access to the telekinesis spell for a 12d6 reusable hurling object.[/s]

"I will throw the Book at him." :-)

Actually, I did that while playing MERPS. The enemy guy was screaming "Don't touch my book." again and again, so my reply was: "You want it? Take!"
I don't know what table the GM used, but the 30" tall book did break his ankle.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Questions about the Wizard Spellbook and the number of pages used per spell. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions