
![]() |

Not something that's likely to ever come up but just something I've been thinking about and can't reach a decision on. If someone had 1 level of an arcane class (wizard say) and 1 level of a divine class (cleric say) and took the light cantrip as memorized for each class would they be able to cast two light spells or still only one? I mean its the same person casting a light cantrip but one is an arcane version from their power while the others a divine version granted from their god/dess and its not like there's only one light cantrip that moves around depending on who casts the spell most recently. So what do people think? If you have two classes especially ones using different spell sources could you cast two light cantrips?

Azothath |
no
The spell description contains language which impacts the spell effects from the separate spell casting events. "you" means the caster.

zza ni |

not raw, but i would allow it, i always seen that as a way to prevent infinite light bulbs running around with one cantrip. but i'll allow one per cantrip. hack if a wizard or cleric prepare two or more light spells in a day i'd allow him to have as many active even if it's the same class which cast the spell.
i'm figuring one spell slot\ ability (in case of rogue magic sla etc) can power just one light spell at a time but each can do it's own. this is why when you make one permanent (so now the permanency spell keep it up) you can cast it again without making the permanent one go poof.
- " If you make this spell permanent (through permanency or a similar effect), it does not count against this limit."

Ryze Kuja |

I'm gonna go with no as well. It has a specific rule in the spell that says "you can only have one light spell active at any given time", so it would need to have a specific rule in the spell that says something akin to "if you have multiple Light cantrips from multiple classes, you may have more than 1 Light spell active".

![]() |

so...
If a Cleric/Wizard/Medium were to have Light as each of her three classes...
it sounds like posters are saying that if she has cast the Divine version of the spell (as a Cleric), and has it active, she can't cast the Arcane or Psychic versions
...
You know what? I think I would allow it.- but that is just IMHO
to this leads to the question...
If she were to cast the spell from a Spell Completion item (a scroll) would she be able to cast it again, from another scroll? How about one Arcane and once from a Divine scroll?
How about from a Spell Trigger item (a wand)? does she count as the caster (and thus limited to just one active at a time) or does the wand (which supplies the CL and the Save DC)?

Ryze Kuja |

Tbh, having multiple Light spells from a single person is not game breaking, but just know that it's not kosher per RAW. I honestly cannot think of a single way one person having multiple light spells is broken though, because all your party has to do is have each person UMD with wands over and over vs. a DC 20 and now you have multiple Light spells. It's almost no different than having multiple torches, but with better utility, because an arrow can have Light cast upon it and fired 500-600ish feet, so /shrug.

Azothath |
commentary on Light:
when Zero level spells became "cast at will" some natural limitations had to be imposed. Those got added into the spell description.
In example, lets say a PC casts light on a arrow and shoots it 120ft North, repeat for 1/6 cardinal directions in a clockwise manner. Cast again (7th casting). PC has now illuminated a wide area with a single zero level spell. Or every 40ft in a dark dungeon... the path is now well lit. A single first level mage moving and casting could illuminate a path 3000 ft long. Do I need to go on?
Sure an SLA, SU, and a spell would be separate.
I can see allowing a consumable scroll:light 0@1 to have a set duration of 10 minutes (it's bought and paid for).
Personally I'd allow two if the Light cantrip was taken in two slots.

Ryze Kuja |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

commentary on Light:
when Zero level spells became "cast at will" some natural limitations had to be imposed. Those got added into the spell description.
In example, lets say a PC casts light on a arrow and shoots it 120ft North, repeat for 1/6 cardinal directions in a clockwise manner. Cast again (7th casting). PC has now illuminated a wide area with a single zero level spell. Or every 40ft in a dark dungeon... the path is now well lit. A single first level mage moving and casting could illuminate a path 3000 ft long. Do I need to go on?Sure an SLA, SU, and a spell would be separate.
I can see allowing a consumable scroll:light 0@1 to have a set duration of 10 minutes (it's bought and paid for).
Personally I'd allow two if the Light cantrip was taken in two slots.
I agree, infinite Light spells = overpowered. But we're talking about allowing a caster to use multiple Light from two or even three different casting classes, and while this isn't RAW, it isn't that overpowered. I think if you're taking 2 dips in order to cast Light x3, then you're nerfing your spell progression to have "better torches".