Ring of Wizardry on the Magus / Summoner


Rules Discussion


Just wondering what happens if you get a Ring of Wizardry on a Magus or Summoner? Do you get the Bonus Spellslots? And on what level? xD

Liberty's Edge

Why wouldn't you ?


'Cause the Spellslots on both are very limited... Would be really OP if it would still work!


The Raven Black wrote:
Why wouldn't you ?

Because the text says "additional spell slots," which I've seen argued does not apply because you won't have any spell slots for the ring to grant additional spell slots of that level to. I'm not sure where I fall on the argument, but that's one argument I've seen.

Unfortunately rings of wizardry are a lot more value to a magus than a summoner, since you don't have a spellbook to prepare from to add lower level slots to. I guess a summoner could select a spell they could downcast into those slots, but that feels kind of tight with only five spells in the repertoire.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I don't think it would be OP at all, actually. Staves, wands, and scrolls exist to get them lower level spells. I would be rather upset if it didn't work for my magus, mechanically and from a purely lore standpoint!

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Yes and you would get the bonus spell slots that it says (i.e. 1st level for type 1)

The crazy thing is that for a Summoner, it is possible you won't be able to use said slots. Remember, the ring doesn't give you more spells in your repertoire, only slots. So, if your Summoner doesn't know any spells that could be cast at a level 1 slot (for type 1) then they have the slots, but nothing to do with them.


Invictus Fatum wrote:

Yes and you would get the bonus spell slots that it says (i.e. 1st level for type 1)

The crazy thing is that for a Summoner, it is possible you won't be able to use said slots. Remember, the ring doesn't give you more spells in your repertoire, only slots. So, if your Summoner doesn't know any spells that could be cast at a level 1 slot (for type 1) then they have the slots, but nothing to do with them.

Yee. I've been trying to think of spells that would be reasonable to put in the repertoire that you could use at most any level. Perhaps something like Fear, Shockwave, or Shattering Gem.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

Have we established what happens if you have a Ring of Wizardry that grants you spell slots of a level above what you can cast without it?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Ring of Wizardry on the Magus / Summoner All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.