Hit the Dirt and Slingers Reflexes


Rules Discussion


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So if you use hit the dirt and leap to end up prone and the you get a new reaction from slingers reflexes with the next creatures turn can you then hit the dirt again? Hit the dirt has no requirement that you not be prone. A prone character leaping feels a little weird, almost like it shouldn’t work but I can’t find anything in the rules to prevent it.

I guess my question boils down to “can a prone character leap?”


Prone characters can't leap. Leaping is a move action and prone characters can't take any move action except to crawl or stand up.

Edit: Prone
Leap
Hit the Dirt!

And yes, because it includes leaping, Hit the Dirt! counts as a move action thanks to subordinate action rules.

Slinger's Reflexes is broken and not in the buzzword way. Because you can't reload between turns, the only Gunslinger reaction you can use more than once with Slinger's Reflexes is Instant Return.


Sagiam wrote:

Prone characters can't leap. Leaping is a move action and prone characters can't take any move action except to crawl or stand up.

Edit: Prone
Leap
Hit the Dirt!

And yes, because it includes leaping, Hit the Dirt! counts as a move action thanks to subordinate action rules.

Slinger's Reflexes is broken and not in the buzzword way. Because you can't reload between turns, the only Gunslinger reaction you can use more than once with Slinger's Reflexes is Instant Return.

It actually works with Fake Out too. The feat requires having a loaded weapon but it doesn't say you fire it. It's right there in the name even - you're miming shooting at them to divert attention.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Sagiam wrote:

Prone characters can't leap. Leaping is a move action and prone characters can't take any move action except to crawl or stand up.

Edit: Prone
Leap
Hit the Dirt!

And yes, because it includes leaping, Hit the Dirt! counts as a move action thanks to subordinate action rules.

Agreed.

Sagiam wrote:
Slinger's Reflexes is broken and not in the buzzword way. Because you can't reload between turns, the only Gunslinger reaction you can use more than once with Slinger's Reflexes is Instant Return.

Huh?

Where is the rule that says you can't reload when not your turn? I'm not aware of that one.

And while it may be the case that you can't use the same reaction multiple times (like Grit and Tenacity that has a frequency limit of once per hour no matter how many reactions you have), that doesn't mean that you can't use different ones with your extra reactions.


Dubious Scholar wrote:
Sagiam wrote:

Prone characters can't leap. Leaping is a move action and prone characters can't take any move action except to crawl or stand up.

Edit: Prone
Leap
Hit the Dirt!

And yes, because it includes leaping, Hit the Dirt! counts as a move action thanks to subordinate action rules.

Slinger's Reflexes is broken and not in the buzzword way. Because you can't reload between turns, the only Gunslinger reaction you can use more than once with Slinger's Reflexes is Instant Return.

It actually works with Fake Out too. The feat requires having a loaded weapon but it doesn't say you fire it. It's right there in the name even - you're miming shooting at them to divert attention.

Slinger's Reflexes only gives you an extra reaction on your enemies' turns, not your ally's.

Slinger's Reflexes


breithauptclan wrote:


Sagiam wrote:
Slinger's Reflexes is broken and not in the buzzword way. Because you can't reload between turns, the only Gunslinger reaction you can use more than once with Slinger's Reflexes is Instant Return.

Huh?

Where is the rule that says you can't reload when not your turn? I'm not aware of that one.

And while it may be the case that you can't use the same reaction multiple times (like Grit and Tenacity that has a frequency limit of once per hour no matter how many reactions you have), that doesn't mean that you can't use different ones with your extra reactions.

Well... you can't reload outside your turn for the same reason you can't cast a one-action spell outside your turn. It's not your turn. And unless I missed something really important, there aren't any reactions or free actions that let you reload outside your turn, Instant Return aside. (Edit: Please tell me if I missed something, I'd love to be wrong about this.)

The problem isn't with Slinger's Reflexes really. The problem is that most of the gunslingers reactions require a loaded firearm.

You are correct, you could use Fake out, Hit the Dirt!, Grit and Tenacity, one reaction requiring a loaded firearm, and Instant Return, all once... but that is really, really situational and kind of lame for a 20th level feat.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

That'd be kind of cool, if Reflexes let you free action reload in response to something that would trigger one of your gunslinger reactions.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Honestly, just being able to use Fake Out repeatedly in one round is probably powerful enough in at least some party compositions to be worth a level 20 feat.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Fake Out is definitely a nice reaction, but again reflexes requires it to be your enemy's turn.

So in order to get additional Fake Outs you need your allies to be readying attacks or enemies provoking AoOs, preferrably multiple times a round.

That feels kind of unreliable.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

That's accurate. I misremenbered the feat, and didn't have the "that you can only use on that turn" part in mind.


Fighters that pick the feat to that one is usually building with either shields or with an reaction outside of the class as AoO is not reliable enough to trigger on every enemy turn.

Gunslinger will probably be the same, they will either use repeating weapons or go for reactions outside of the class.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Can't use reactions from outside the class with it. Yikes, that really is bad unless you've got repeating weapons.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Hit the Dirt and Slingers Reflexes All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion