| cgrandall2 |
Hybridization Funnel states:
This two-spouted funnel is used to safely mix two alchemical splash weapons into a single flask. Using the vial requires 10 minutes and a DC 25 Craft (alchemy) check; a half-elf has a +5 bonus on this check. Failing the check means both splash weapon are destroyed. Success means the two materials are safely mixed into one vial that is the same volume as a normal splash weapon vial; when thrown as a splash weapon, the mixture has the effects of both component substances and creatures are affected as if hit by both. The mixture becomes inert after 24 hours. Only liquids may be mixed with the funnel. The bearer can use it to mix an alchemical splash weapon with either holy water or unholy water, but the Craft (alchemy) DC increases to 30; half-elves still get the +5 bonus on this check. The funnel does not work on potions, elixirs, extracts, or other materials. Mixing a substance with a similar or identical substance (such as alchemist’s fire with alchemist’s fire) has no effect. A mixture cannot be combined with another mixture.
My question is say I mix an alchemist fire and acid flask three times using the hybridization funnel to create 3 vials. Could I use those concoctions in a focusing flask?
Focusing Flask states:
This round, rainbow-hued glass flask allows up to three alchemical splash weapons of the same type to be poured into it, concentrating them such that they never increase its weight noticeably. If multiple types of alchemical items are poured in, all the contents are ruined. The flask can be thrown as a normal splash weapon, and when it breaks, it releases all of the contained splash weapons in the same space, and the focusing flask is destroyed. If the items held within the flask normally allow a saving throw to reduce or negate the effects, the target of a focusing flask needs to succeed at only a single saving throw, regardless of the number of items held within the focusing flask. The DC of the saving throw increases by 2 if the flask contains two alchemical items, or by 4 if it contains three items.
If I'm reading this correctly. I'm assuming I could place all three vials of fire-acid mixture into the flask for a flask of 3d6 fire and 3d6 acid damage with corresponding splash damage? This mixture even in the flask would only work for 24 hours due to the effects of the hybridization funnel but I'd like to think in the hands of a skilled alchemist this combination, though expensive, would be quite effective.
| Zwordsman |
Off hand because of the wording. "same type" isn't truly defined that I know of. I beieve it does work going off the generic term same type. As there aren't types its the same kind of item. So if they're all valid mixed I'd assume it works. Nothing directly states it does not.
On the flipside hybridaztion funnel doesn't state if its one fluid or if it can exist outside of the container its mixed into.
Further on that flip. Focusing flask mentions multiple typese and hybridzation funnels output is still multiple types of splash weapons in one.
ALl of that disclaimer above stated.
I believe it works fine as the system tends to favor more permissive readings and languages and no established rules prevent this interaction. It would take GM adjudication to insert a restriction.
It is also one I've played with a bit. I dont think its terribly useful however because of how expensive Foccusing Flask is. Its what was it like 750gold? That is an expensive grenade at any level IMO. I suppose you could just pur them on targetes instead of a throwing it though. Expensive bulletes. though potentially nicer for alchemist who get static bonuses
| Chell Raighn |
Trokarr wrote:I imagine this could be used with the concentrated splash feat to increase its damage by 50 percent?Oh wow! That would be neat. While this is clearly not a very economic option (700+ gold per attack) it is very cool that the game offers this kind of option.
To be fair… combat with splash weapons in general is not very economical… and if you move into the realm of alchemical ammunition the costs go even higher… good thing alchemical items are so easy and cheap to craft though…
| Zwordsman |
It is a shame concentrated splash doesn't work with direct pouring (Because there is no splash at that time). Well. There is potential since splash weapons are defined as just splashweapons RAW. The main sticking point is the line about not dealing splash damage-and if the fact you don't deal it with pouring it out, means you can't elect not to or not. Splash weapons and having a splash or not is a bit weird area. There are lot of threads on holy water and it actually due to alchemist interactions.
I think if you end up being able to empty out the flask into a normal flask after the magic works. (Similiarlly to the formula ambelaiac's result) then that investment is a lot better. But its not written in way to allow that purely RAW wise. Though it doesn't deny it.
if you could. This would actually be an amazing combination for an injectin spear.