Spell Stunning Barrier: stun negates damage from attack?


Rules Questions


Hello,

the spell Stunning Barrier has this text:

D20PFSRD wrote:
"Any creature that strikes you with a melee attack is stunned for 1 round".

A player insists that this is true:

* he casts Stunning Barrier on himself
* enemy attacks him with melee attack
* enemy hits him with melee attack
* enemy must now make Will save
* if enemy fails, enemy is now stunned
* he does therefore not suffer the damage from the melee attack, since the enemy is now stunned

(Basically: arguing that a 'strike' is a successful hit, but can be interrupted before the damage-dealing takes place.)

Is this correct?

I think that if the enemy attacks and misses the enemy doesn't have to make a save, but if the enemy attacks and hits then the enemy does damage by definition. Of course the enemy must still save and can still be stunned, but the enemy will have done the damage.

(Of course, if the enemy has multiple attacks, you'll have to resolve them one by one and as soon as he's stunned, then additional attacks can't be made anymore.)

Which is correct?


The attack and damage are resolved as normal... considering the attack must land before the spell's effect is triggered.

Things that interupt or negate the incoming attack will state that they interupt or negate the incoming attack.


no - it is
* hero sees target with spell manifestations/effect, may have witnessed spellcasting but likely doesn't have Spellcraft to determine exactly which spell.
* ...
* hero declares target of melee attack, then makes roll to hit with any modifiers. Roll is compared to target's AC to determine if hit.
* if hit, target takes weapon damage plus any modifiers, effects, etc.
* hero must now make Will save as per spell
...

it's more interesting if the wizard has DR such as Stoneskin. Then the damage comes off the stoneskin spell (hopefully none gets through) THEN the attacker rolls a save.


Yeah, the attack has to successfully strike you before the spell gets discharged, so it will cause damage and then they get stunned and they drop their weapon.


Arandor wrote:
A player insists that this is true:

Some players have a tendency for wishful thinking, trying to get favorable but far-fetched rulings, in a quite persistent way. After some bad experiences I'd take it as a warning sign about their general character...


You can compare with sanctuary - will save *before* the attack roll is made. There's very few abilities that can interrupt between "successful attack" and "damage". They're very explicit.

As someone said, it's simple: if they don't do damage, they didn't strike you, and don't get stunned, meaning they *do* damage you, so get stunned... okay maybe that paradox isn't really simple, but should be avoided.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Stunning Barrier: stun negates damage from attack? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions