| Critical Assessment |
I was thinking of building a kobold cavalier with an unchained rogue dip so I can add dex to the lance's damage, I then realized that the rogues ability in no way works like that however a discovered something odd. If mounted a lance is one handed so...
A. Can I use the effortless lace on it making it able to be finesse? Because it's a one handed piercing weapon while mounted.
B. Could I use my first level ability as U-Rogue to select this specific lance as my Finesse training or is it too specific?
| Wonderstell |
Because it's a one handed piercing weapon while mounted.
It is not. You can wield it in one hand but it's still a two-handed weapon.
You'd need four levels of Weapon Master Fighter to take the Fighter's Finesse advanced weapon training. Or four levels of Swashbuckler with a race that qualifies for the Martial Versatility human feat.
| Critical Assessment |
Critical Assessment wrote:Because it's a one handed piercing weapon while mounted.It is not. You can wield it in one hand but it's still a two-handed weapon.
You'd need four levels of Weapon Master Fighter to take the Fighter's Finesse advanced weapon training. Or four levels of Swashbuckler with a race that qualifies for the Martial Versatility human feat.
Thank you that's what I assumed but it was written so oddly with each ability phrasing mildly different.
| Derklord |
A. Can I use the effortless lace on it making it able to be finesse?
Extrapolating from this FAQ, stuff like attaching Effortless Lace is based on the weapon's "physical properties", which define it as a two-handed weapon.
B. Could I use my first level ability as U-Rogue to select this specific lance as my Finesse training or is it too specific?
No - the Finesse Training says "select any one type of weapon that can be used with Weapon Finesse", and while that specific weapon may be finessable, its type is not.
It is not. You can wield it in one hand but it's still a two-handed weapon.
It should be noted that this is actually the exception, no the norm. Usually, "If you're wielding [a weapon] in one hand (even if it is normally a two-handed weapon), treat it as a one-handed weapon for the purpose of how much Strength to apply, the Power Attack damage bonus, and so on." The FAQ I linked uppost shows the same being true in reverse.
Lances, on the other hand, are still treated as two-handed weapons, even if you use them in one hand because you're mounted, per this FAQ.
| willuwontu |
If you happen to wield an undersized two handed piercing weapon in one hand as a Swashbuckler, does that qualify as a “ a light or one-handed piercing melee weapon” for swashbuckler features? Eg, Swashbuckler Finesse/Panache/Precise Strike.
No, because it's not a light or one-handed weapon despite how much effort it takes your character to wield it.
| Derklord |
If you happen to wield an undersized two handed piercing weapon in one hand as a Swashbuckler, does that qualify as a “ a light or one-handed piercing melee weapon” for swashbuckler features? Eg, Swashbuckler Finesse/Panache/Precise Strike.
There are no definite rules on the topic, so we have to extrapolate from related rules. From the first two above linked FAQ, I think it's clear that the concept is that things that trigger on an attack (or similar, e.g. killing blow), check at the time of triggering, and when you're wielding a weapon in a specific way at that time, it counts as that for the ability. Everything that selects a weapon type, as well as anything that tries to modify a weapon (including weapon enchantments), goes by what the weapon is listed as in the weapon table (for the size it was crafted for).
For example, a spear for a tiny creature could be wielded as a light weapon by a medium character. It would qualify for Weapon Finesse and Swashbuckler abilities, but not Furious Focus (all of which check at time of attack). It can't be selected by Finesse Training or enchanted with Agile, because both see it as a two-handed weapon.
No, because it's not a light or one-handed weapon despite how much effort it takes your character to wield it.
And a bastard sword is a one-handed weapon despite how much effort it takes your character to wield it. And yet, "If you are wielding it with two hands (whether or not you have the Exotic Weapon Proficiency to wield it with one hand), it is treated as a two-handed weapon; Power Attack gets the increased damage bonus, you can use Pushing Assault or Shield of Swings (which require a two-handed weapon), and so on."