Charging a Scrollstaff


Rules Discussion

The Exchange

The scrollstaff is legal for Pathfinder society play with access. How can it be charged by players if players are not able to craft scrolls per society rules?

A scrollstaff serves as a weapon just like an ordinary staff and can be improved via runes like any other staff. In addition, if you are capable of creating magical scrolls, you can inscribe a single scroll onto the staff’s head for the same cost as normal for Crafting the scroll. If necessary, you can embed a required material focus into the staff as part of the same Craft activity. As long as you are holding the staff, you can cast the spell from the staff’s head. Casting the written spell works just like casting from a scroll, but you can perform the necessary material component with the staff, even if you don’t have a free hand. Once you cast the inscribed spell, any material focus remains embedded in the staff until removed as an Interact action.

The staff can hold only a single scroll at a time. If you inscribe a new scroll before casting the previous spell, you replace the existing spell and remove any previous material focus as part of the Craft activity to write the new scroll.


Kaleb the Opportunist wrote:
The scrollstaff is legal for Pathfinder society play with access. How can it be charged by players if players are not able to craft scrolls per society rules?

Maybe this should be asked on the PFS section? I'll flag it to be moved.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Who said that players aren't able to craft scrolls in society? This question doesn't make sense.


Kaleb the Opportunist wrote:

The scrollstaff is legal for Pathfinder society play with access. How can it be charged by players if players are not able to craft scrolls per society rules?

A scrollstaff serves as a weapon just like an ordinary staff and can be improved via runes like any other staff. In addition, if you are capable of creating magical scrolls, you can inscribe a single scroll onto the staff’s head for the same cost as normal for Crafting the scroll. If necessary, you can embed a required material focus into the staff as part of the same Craft activity. As long as you are holding the staff, you can cast the spell from the staff’s head. Casting the written spell works just like casting from a scroll, but you can perform the necessary material component with the staff, even if you don’t have a free hand. Once you cast the inscribed spell, any material focus remains embedded in the staff until removed as an Interact action.

The staff can hold only a single scroll at a time. If you inscribe a new scroll before casting the previous spell, you replace the existing spell and remove any previous material focus as part of the Craft activity to write the new scroll.

You get 8 days of downtime in between scenarios (12 if you're a field agent) which can use to craft. You could use 4 days to craft a scroll onto the staff just as if you were crafting the scroll.

Liberty's Edge

Kaleb the Opportunist wrote:
The staff can hold only a single scroll at a time. If you inscribe a new scroll before casting the previous spell, you replace the existing spell and remove any previous material focus as part of the Craft activity to write the new scroll.

You answered your own question. It takes a Craft activity. In Society play, there may be time to do this during and adventure. Mostly like there is not.

Hammerjack discussed the downtime process for crafting.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Charging a Scrollstaff All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.