Can you give a flank while nauseated?


Rules Questions


Consider the following positioning
FEN

F is the party fighter, N is another party member who is Nauseated, and E is the enemy.

Does the fighter get a flanking bonus to attack? It is important to note (as I understand it), a Nauseated creature cannot attack (and thus cannot take an AoO)...


its notable here that the ability to make an AOO has nothing to do with giving you a flanking bonus. for example if you use your AOO for the round you don't just stop flanking thats not how it works.

you flank if you threaten. you threaten any square you can make a melee attack into. if you can't attack you don't threaten.

another thing to note about all this is that being grappled stop you from taking AOO but you can still attack the squares around you (assuming your using an appropriate weapon) therefore you still give flanking when grappled.

Shadow Lodge

Okay, these appear to be the relevant rules:

Flanking wrote:

Source PRPG Core Rulebook pg. 197

When making a melee attack, you get a +2 flanking bonus if your opponent is threatened by another enemy character or creature on its opposite border or opposite corner.
...
Attacks of Opportunity / Threatened Squares wrote:

Source PRPG Core Rulebook pg. 180

You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your turn. Generally, that means everything in all squares adjacent to your space (including diagonally). An enemy that takes certain actions while in a threatened square provokes an attack of opportunity from you. If you’re unarmed, you don’t normally threaten any squares and thus can’t make attacks of opportunity.
Conditions / Nauseated wrote:

Source PRPG Core Rulebook pg. 565

Creatures with the nauseated condition experience stomach distress. Nauseated creatures are unable to attack, cast spells, concentrate on spells, or do anything else requiring attention. The only action such a character can take is a single move actions per turn.
Combining these rules, I'm seeing that:
  • You need to threaten you opponent's square to provide a flanking bonus.
  • You only threaten squares you can attack, so you do not threaten if you can't attack.
  • Nauseated creatures can not attack, therefore they can not threaten, so they can not provide a flanking bonus.
You can argue that anyone without an attack of opportunity remaining can't provide a flanking bonus either...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you give a flank while nauseated? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions