Can a creature with reach and a grab attack grapple someone and be unhittable?


Rules Questions


A bit of a newer GM here, but when reading over the stat block for a creature (Corpse Orgy), it has a reach of 10ft, but it also has the "plus grab" feature on its slams.
Would the creature be able to grapple them and keep them at 10ft? Would it auto pull them within 5ft?
If it does keep them at 10ft, would the player even be able to attack it if they didn't have reach?


Page 200 of the CRB:
If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails).


Thank you so much. I was checking the grab rules for monsters mainly. I must have missed that part when I skimmed that section.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Everything you ever need to know about the grappling rules can be found in the Succubus in a Grapple thread. Very informative. I highly recommend you read through it to thoroughly understand the grappling rules.


It's assumed a creature grappled with Telekinesis is not moved adjacent to you, though.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a creature with reach and a grab attack grapple someone and be unhittable? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.