Kineticist Have Burn


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Some Kineticist abilities refer to when the Kineticist has some amount of burn. Specifically, in the Ioun Kineticist.

"Whenever she has at least 3 points of burn, she gains the resonant powers of two ioun stones of her choice in her ioun cloud..."

Does she have 3 or more points of burn in her buffer?
Does that mean I she has taken 3 or more points of burn?
Does the Ioun Kineticist have to accept 3 points of burn (ie non lethal) damage to access the resonant powers of her Ioun stones?

Hoping this has not been asked already.
Thanks for your time.


burn from the buffer should work fine


Usually it'd mean she'd have to have accepted at least 3 points of burn that day. The internal buffer probably wouldn't work. ('Points spent from the internal buffer don’t activate elemental overflow or add to its effects.')


avr wrote:
Usually it'd mean she'd have to have accepted at least 3 points of burn that day. The internal buffer probably wouldn't work. ('Points spent from the internal buffer don’t activate elemental overflow or add to its effects.')

this is not elemental overflow, it should work


personal resonance wrote:
...This replaces the ability score boosts granted by elemental overflow.

No it shouldn't.


avr wrote:
personal resonance wrote:
...This replaces the ability score boosts granted by elemental overflow.
No it shouldn't.

hmm replaces could make it work.


vhok wrote:
avr wrote:
personal resonance wrote:
...This replaces the ability score boosts granted by elemental overflow.
No it shouldn't.
hmm replaces could make it work.

No it only replaces the ability score bonuses. Elemental overflow continues as normal.

Its a downgrade from base kineticist that has the chance to be an upgrade if/when you have a lot of money to spend on ioun stones. fortunately kineticists dont seem to have much in the way of integral magic items.


A kineticist basically has a burn pool, that starts at 0 every day and has a cap of 3+Con. For each point put in that burn pool, the kineticist takes unhealable nonlethal damage equal to their level. If you didn’t take nonlethal damage, then you didn’t put a burn point in that pool.

When an ability talks about how much burn you have, it is talking about how many points you have in this burn pool.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Kineticist Have Burn All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions